We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #79 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in a family room sleeping 4. Plenty of space and room very clean with plenty of towels and bathroom soaps etc . Kettle and hot drinking equipment would have been nice. When windows open it was noisy at night but given its central location we could not really complain. Staff on reception very helpful and attentive. Maid service just as you want it - never saw her but everything sorted whilst we were out . Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay at Hotel Colón during your recent visit to Barcelona. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time with us.
Next time you plan to visit our city, please let us know in advance and we´ll be happy to arrange any especial request you might have.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    705
    162
    55
    29
See reviews for
415
782
145
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Colon in May. The hotel is ideally located in the historic Barri Gòtic section of Barcelona, directly across from the Barcelona Cathedral (Catedral de la Santa Cruz y Santa Eulalia) making it a perfect central location from which to tour the city.

The room was large and exceptionally well appointed, having two small balconies with a view of the cathedral. The bed was somewhat more firm than I prefer, but was comfortable enough.

The location on Avenida de La Catedral, near Plaça Nova , is within easy walking distance of Plaça de Catalunya (at the top of La Rambla), the Picasso Museum, the Jaume I metro stop, and numerous restaurants.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and a good value (though “churros y chocolate” became a staple during our visit to Spain). Because we did not eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, I cannot comment on the quality, though the menu was somewhat pricey.

The staff was friendly and accommodating and the housekeeping immaculate. Though you can find less expensive hotels in Barcelona, the price is commensurate with the location and quality of the accommodations.

I definitely recommend Hotel Colon for your visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TDM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest:
We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Colón we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Trip Advisor with such kind and detailed comment. We are sure those insiders´ tips will be of great help to fellow travelers!
Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.
We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great location, just across the square from a cathedral, and the service was wonderful. It's also near one of the many hop-on hop-off stops. Some of the negatives were the current construction on the roof, making 6th floor rooms noisy in the morning, and that there is not handicap/stroller entry. But we asked to move rooms and were kindly accommodated. Also, they will print your attraction tickets out at reception which is extremely helpful because buying tickets online will save you from waiting in lines.
Otherwise, the rooms are spacious and clean. If you are lucky enough to have a balcony with a cathedral view it is beautiful. Wifi is spotty like every other hotel, but the air conditioning works great.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. At Hotel Colón, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Barcelona, but as you so kindly remark in your review, there´s always room for improvement.
We have taken note of the recommendations and comments you mentioned above, and passed them along to department in charge so they can take proper action in the matter.
We would love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Barcelona. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance, so we can arrange and honor any special request.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
228 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We made a one night reservation at Regencia Colon Hotel - the sister hotel to this one - about a year ago before boarding a cruise ship for a Mediterranean cruise. Upon arrival the desk clerk told us we were being upgraded to the Colon across the street. Normally this would have "bugged me", but I had read on line that sometimes this happens and the Colon is the better of the two hotels...so I was fine with it! :) We were very surprised to find they booked us in a room with a full terrace...very nice! The other side of the floor had rooms overlooking the Cathedral but only with Juliet balconies, so all in all the terrace was a better amenity! This hotel is well situated in the Gothic Area. We walked to Las Ramblas and went to the Food Market for breakfast and picked up wine at the grocery store (Carrefour). The taxi from the airport was around 32 Euros. We took a taxi to and from Sagrada Familia and it was 10 and 7 Euros respectively because of traffic. The port is close by but we made the mistake of having the front desk call a taxi as we needed a minivan since there were 4 of us, plus luggage. Apparently we were charged from wherever the taxi began the travel to pick us up...and it was 32 Euros, when it should have been around 10, as it wasn't any further than our drive to Sagrada Familia....live and learn! If we find ourselves back in Barcelona in the future I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again...highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBRECED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hotel Colón and for your kind feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and facilities.
For any leisure traveler interested in a long or a just-passing-by visit to Barcelona, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: we are located in the downtown area, only minutes away from shops, restaurants and many other hotspots.
If you find yourself planning your next stop-over in Barcelona, please don't hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you back as a guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent three nights at the Colon Hotel after a cruise. Walking in the lobby you had the impression of an old movie set. Very beautiful chandelier and sparking marble floors.

Eva, was very friendly at check in, We were traveling with another couple and arrived too early to check in. They let us store our luggage in a secure area. We walked across the plaza to view the Cathedral. The Colon is located in the Gothic quarter. After spending time in the Cathedral we found our rooms ready.
We had lunch at the hotel and liked the atmosphere. Food was good, my only suggestion was that the sandwiches could have been on the wonderful bread that they served the next morning at breakfast.

The room had a very large bathroom which was immaculate..they had wonderful bathrobes if you wanted to use them. I would definetly go for a room with a view. The French balcony is very nice.

We enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi and Conchita at the front desk gave us the adaptor that we could use. She was very helpful as well as Gregory. We liked the large room to the right of reception for e-mailing. It is also available if you want to relax and play a card game.

Carlos, was a life saver. My leg pain was keeping me from seeing some of the sites and he arranged a wheelchair for me. That was very kind of him.

Leticia, explained the room situation and was very informative. She also gave us some good choices for dining.

Breakfast was included and you had numerous choices from eggs, cereal, cold cuts and cheese, excellent fresh baked bread, dried and fresh fruit. Lovely room on the lower level of the hotel. Freshly squeezed orange juice and expresso coffee.

My only suggestion would be to place another mattress over current mattress.....they were a little hard.

They have wonderful access to the hop on off lines both the red and blue line within a block of the hotel.

Be sure and try the bike tours where you ride in what resembles a rickshaw with a very informative driver. You are taken places that larger buses can't go. Well worth the money. Leticia suggested them. They are directly across the plaza from the hotel.

Really was a great place to stay and the people were all very friendly. Looking forward to visiting them when they have their spa finished on the roof.

Room Tip: Be sure and get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshalnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for making our hotel your choice of hotel during your stay in Barcelona, and for taking the time to share your opinion and impressions with fellow travelers.
We are always welcoming of positive feedback, just like yours, as they help us know we are on the right track to fulfilling our goal: to deliver the best possible service to our guests, so that they can live and unforgettable experience while with us.
We would love to have you stay with us next time you are in town, so don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here for 3 night a couple of years ago, the hotel is in a perfect location to walk around Barcelona their is many restaurants and coffee shops just a few steps away and the hop on hop off tour bus has a stop right outside the hotel which is very handy for sight seeing... the beach is about 10-15 minuets walk too.... my room was on the small side but I just booked the cheapest room.... My only complaint with this place would be that when I was checking out I accidentally left my expensive headphones at reception when I got back to my girlfriends place in Germany I called them up and asked if they had them and they did... they told me they could send them too me but I would need to fend them money before they did... Now I know it was my fault that I left them, but for me considering I was a costumer that just paid them like 400 euro it would have been nice for them to say don't worry sir, we will cover the 7 odd euro it will cost to send them too you.... to me that is good business.... most top hotels I have stayed at would do things like that to make their costumers happy..... It is the little things that make a good business a great business...... Know what I mean?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cell101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest:

We´d like to thank you for staying at Hotel Colón. Although we are happy to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, we are sorry to hear that we haven´t met your expectations.
We´d like you to know that we will be taking care of some of the points you highlighted in your comment and that we would to have the opportunity to show you the improvements next time you are in town.
Please don´t hesitate to contact us in advance for you next trip so we can arrange any special request.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
3,605 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 521 in Barcelona
1,960 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#46 of 521 in Barcelona
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 521 in Barcelona
4,302 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 521 in Barcelona
1,258 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing