We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$16 for 2 ice creams”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #76 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“$16 for 2 ice creams”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The best part of the hotel staff is its bellmen!! They were the best I have ever experienced. Find Sean. He is from Seattle and can tell you in perfect English what you want to know. The front desk was decent in its approach, but not so much as to be noteworthy. Not so the dining room staff. We had one server who was curt and would never come back to our table, yet she doted on those nearby who were obviously not American. Perhaps the result of the European policy of no/little tipping. After a second trial of the restaurant with similar results, we decided to eat our meals elsewhere. The hotel restaurant charges exorbitantly for its mediocre service and average food, e.g. $16 for two small bowls of ice cream. Eat elsewhere and enjoy much better food and service for a lot less.

Room was nice, clean and quiet. Everything worked, except the bathroom door where the inside handle was broken and once closed you were trapped inside. We totally hated the shower where all the water splashed onto the floor and any clothes you had nearby. They need some shelves and hooks for your stuff!

While the location in Barri Gotic is great, I would look elsewhere on a return visit. We paid ~$1100 for 4 days.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the cathedral can be noisy. We found ours on the back side to be perfect. We loved th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcl1497911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colon and for taking the time to share your opinion and impressions with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

From all of us here at Hotel Colón, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Barcelona. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants. We have taken note of your comments and we´ve passed it along to the department in charge so they can take proper action.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    736
    164
    58
    30
See reviews for
436
829
151
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Only plus was location. Front desk seemed very put out when we asked for a quiet room off the plaza (a suggestion we read on Tripadvisor) Room was "long in the tooth." The carpet had years of embedded dirt around the edges. Peeling paint in bathroom. Poor shower design. Couldn't shower without getting the floor wet. My husband slipped on the wet bath mat and wrenched his back. A window in the bathroom was connected to the bathroom in the room next door so when the neighbors turned on their bathroom light it lit up our room. Scary when this happened after we had gone to sleep the first night. After that we kept the bathroom door closed. Beeping phone battery. This was not the fault of the maid service, they were great with what they had to work with. This was the fault of the hotel not refurbishing their rooms. I looked at the other reviews and decided we must have been given the worst room in the hotel. We paid $297 a night for this! If we would have eaten their buffet breakfast, it would have been another $70 a day for the two of us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear client,

First of all, thank you for having chosen the Hotel Colon for your recent stay in Barcelona.

We are sorry to learn that your stay with us did not satisfy all of your expectations. We will investigate the reason for these shortcomings to avoid similar complaints in the future. As to the equipment of our rooms, we have taken note of your suggestions and passed them along to our maintenance department.

Again, we deeply regret not having met all your expectations this time but hope you will afford us a second chance to make amends.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We just arrived home and are planning a return trip to Barcelona. The Hotel Colon could not have been more perfect! Knowledgeable and friendly staff, beautiful rooms, great location! Should be a 5 star hotel! Thank you for a wonderful experience! The Weinbergers

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Colon. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed your stay in Barcelona. We´d like to thank you for choosing us for your trip in the city.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such a detailed comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, so we can arrange one beautiful room for you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our second stay at this fabulous hotel, very comfortable and centrally located hotel in the Barri Gotic. Our experience was as good if not better than two years ago. Our room had a grand view of the cathedral, was quite large with ample closet space, and a spacious, well appointed bathroom. As always, the staff was extremely helpful, courteous and accommodating. It was a very relaxing experience, and enhanced our continued exploration of the beautiful Barcelona. We plan on returning to Barcelona and look forward to more memorable stays at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colon. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Barcelona. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel. From all of us here at Hotel Colon, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Barcelona. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

If you find yourself planning your next trip to Barcelona, please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We look forward to accommodating you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Staying three nights in this centrally located hotel in the Barri Gotic section of Barcelona Balcony room overlooking the Cathedral. Central to all facilities and very comfortable. Rooms are quite large and well appointed. All staff very helpful.

Room Tip: A balcony room has a great view of the activities and the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsibley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,

We´d love to have you back and stay with us in your next trip to Barcelona! We also appreciate your comments about the quality, service, staff and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!
When you find yourself planning your next escapade to our beautiful city, give us a call to arrange any especial request.

Looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in a family room sleeping 4. Plenty of space and room very clean with plenty of towels and bathroom soaps etc . Kettle and hot drinking equipment would have been nice. When windows open it was noisy at night but given its central location we could not really complain. Staff on reception very helpful and attentive. Maid service just as you want it - never saw her but everything sorted whilst we were out . Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay at Hotel Colón during your recent visit to Barcelona. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time with us.
Next time you plan to visit our city, please let us know in advance and we´ll be happy to arrange any especial request you might have.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Colon in May. The hotel is ideally located in the historic Barri Gòtic section of Barcelona, directly across from the Barcelona Cathedral (Catedral de la Santa Cruz y Santa Eulalia) making it a perfect central location from which to tour the city.

The room was large and exceptionally well appointed, having two small balconies with a view of the cathedral. The bed was somewhat more firm than I prefer, but was comfortable enough.

The location on Avenida de La Catedral, near Plaça Nova , is within easy walking distance of Plaça de Catalunya (at the top of La Rambla), the Picasso Museum, the Jaume I metro stop, and numerous restaurants.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and a good value (though “churros y chocolate” became a staple during our visit to Spain). Because we did not eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, I cannot comment on the quality, though the menu was somewhat pricey.

The staff was friendly and accommodating and the housekeeping immaculate. Though you can find less expensive hotels in Barcelona, the price is commensurate with the location and quality of the accommodations.

I definitely recommend Hotel Colon for your visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TDM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest:
We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Colón we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Trip Advisor with such kind and detailed comment. We are sure those insiders´ tips will be of great help to fellow travelers!
Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.
We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 512 in Barcelona
1,327 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#46 of 512 in Barcelona
1,974 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#67 of 512 in Barcelona
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#47 of 512 in Barcelona
1,816 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#35 of 512 in Barcelona
2,071 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 512 in Barcelona
4,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing