We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 nights of hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Malda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Malda
Ranked #620 of 759 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“6 nights of hell”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I'm currently sat in Hostal Malda wondering why they have any positive reviews. This "hostal" can only be described as an utter dive. After finally climbing 4 flights of unsafe stairway we arrived and were greeted by a very unpleasant man who you couldn't quite work out whether he was speaking spanish/catalan or a language he made up. After a mixture of hand gestures, nods and confusion we finally recieved the key (allowing the man to return to his seat to watch tv loudly throughout the night). However it then took another 10 mins to get in to the room as only brute force and shoving of the key would actuallly open the door. Upon entering the room the light didn't work and there was an overpowering smell of mould. I decided to go to the balcony for some fresh air however you start to question your safety when you look down and can see the street through gaps between the concrete flooring of the balcony. The nights sleep could not have been worse, the tranquil quite street described on the website could not have been further from the truth. Dustcarts, bars and the general hussle and bussle continued way into the early hours of the morning. I suppose it didn't help that the window couldn't be closed properly. This has continued every night, aswell as the occasional grunt from the owner as you leave and return to the hostal. I feel sorry for anyone that doesn't read the reviews of this place before they come like we did!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    19
    10
    33
See reviews for
10
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed in the hostal Malda with my friend and we got robbed out. Our room was locked during the day and when we came back in the night we realized someone was in our room. Next morning money and camera which we left in the hostal during the day were away. Someone with the key must have entered our room and took the stuff. No big help from the staff, we called the police.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

After many hotels, hostels, hostals, this was definitely the worst experience my husband and I have ever had. I know this was recommended by Rick Steves, but trust me he must have been completely out of it or jet-lagged to recommend this really pathetic place. Also, please believe me when I say these are not exaggerations and I'll try to be as objective with my review as possible. Also, I've read other reviews and agree 100% with the other negative reviews.

Here are the pros and cons:
PROS:
1) Great location. It a few minutes walk to las Ramblas and the metro station.
2) Very cheap.
3) Sink in room was convenient to have.

CONS:
1) Hostal is very hard to find. I'd suggest asking directions for the movie theatre since it's right across from that.
2) At that time, there was construction going on and the stairwell was always dusty.
2) Booked and paid a small deposit online. Owner did not deduct the deposit from the total cost and it seemed like she did not have much electronic records to check up on this. Even though I had an email confirming my deposit, I didn't want the hassle of having to struggle communicating with her.
3) Owners -- Aurora and husband were not the most accommodating staff. Difficult to converse with in English. Aurora's husband was not particularly friendly or welcoming -- we literally did not receive any warmth or even a smile from him the entire stay.
4) "Lobby" smells like cigarette smoke covered up with air freshener all day. Also, the "lobby" is more like their living room and dining room. You will feel like you're interrupting dinner or a tv show every time you walk in or out of the hostal since you have to pass through the "lobby" where the couple primarily spend their time in.
5) Room
-Had a room by the courtyard/open space for laundry so lacked privacy.
-Always loud since the owners were watching TV late into the night (midnight typically).
-Very thin walls so could also hear the person next door snoring and people walking in the hallway.
-Sometimes we had people smoke out in the courtyard which of course the smoke would get into our room.
-No AC and struggled with keeping windows open (due to smoke, privacy)
-Bed not the most comfortable.
-Rooms smelled musty.
6) Bathroom (two bathrooms)
-Ran out of toilet paper twice and had to find owners to replace it.
-Curtains very dingy
-In the mornings, it got VERY wet due to all the showers but not frequently cleaned.
-Not very good plumbing
-As a private person, I felt very uncomfortable using the bathrooms (thin walls, had a small window to the hallway).

In a few short words, you can not expect much from this place other than the basic of all basics. If you're able to sleep through practically anything, you might survive this place but if you want a good night's rest for your stay in Barcelona, do not stay here. It definitely soured my entire stay in Barcelona and completely regret giving them 3 nights worth of money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mnmpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Nothing will ever prepare you for Hostal Malda. OK, I get what you are thinking (i.e. You get what you pay for), but we were, naturally, allured by the low prices. However when all you are wanting is a place to sleep - you feel that, somehow, you simply cannot get it so wrong - because what is the worst that can happen?

Well. Where do we begin?

ARRIVAL: The hostel is very difficult to find. They seem to work on an assumption that other surrounding businesses have all the free time in the world to direct lost travellers to the entrance for the hostel. In fact, you have to be quite cunning to actually get in, given that an arrow outside the property directs you away from the hostel itself (I know... bizarre). The hostel is on the very top floor of the building and is a four flight walk up with no elevator. In order to access the staircase, you have to somehow get into a locked cinema. On ringing a concealed buzzer - the door will be opened.... eventually. You then have to work out where the staircase is and where you are heading. Once you arrive at a wooden door at the top floor, someone will eventually get to you and let you in. There is no reception. We were greeted by a obnoxious man who refused to speak to friend (female) who can speak Spanish, in favour of speaking to me (male) who has little grasp of the language. This was all conducted in the dark lobby where there are no lights and where the staff member demanded money from us in the small lobby.

ROOM: We were escorted to our room where the "Twin Room and Fan" we had booked was actually a room with a double bed with no fan. I think it is safe to say that whatever you have written on your booking is a mere indication of what to expect, but no guarantee. They work on the basis of "near enough?" Given the lack of the fan (which was actually specified as included on my booking) and that this was the peak of summer, the room proved to be an absolute living hell - as the courtyard offers no respite or light breeze to alleviate the conditions. You will be broiled alive. On asking (nicely) for both a twin room and / or a fan (which we had actually booked) - we received a firm "no."

BATHROOMS: Yes we decided to opt for hostel-like accommodation, but without the dorms. Therefore we thought that shared bathroom was a good cost-saving plan on our part and we were familiar with big hostelesque shower blocks / shared bathrooms. It usually isn't that bad. However at Hostel Malda, prepare to go back in time. Showering was a complex operation in a filthy prison-like conditions. Prepare to wait for any type of toilet / bathroom activity which you may need to conduct. In fact, plan in advance. Get your diary out. You may prefer to wear shoes - as after a morning of daily ablutions - you are never sure what you are standing on, in the mud-like floor condition.

CLEANLINESS: I'll leave this up to your imagination.

SERVICE: Rude staff who see you as an obstacle to TV watching. Very intimidating dark lobby to conduct payment transaction. Wouldn't recommend the place to nervous travellers!

LOCATION: This was the only redeeming feature of the hostel, should you have been able to find it. It is within the Gothic Quarter and mere moments off the Ramblas. However - so are about another 1000 decent hotels.

Recommended?

Ha! As if! Unless you live in a world where you desire misery and suffering, rude staff, being broiled alive and lewd amateur art of topless women adorning your filthy walls. That being said, at least our absolute hell will give us joy each passing year, as we regale the world with the absolute hole we stayed at in beautiful Barca.

:)

Room Tip: Turn around at Reception and run as fast you possibly can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked this place for the 4 nights we were going to be in Barcelona and we ended up leaving after the 1st day. The taxi drivers as stated below don't drop you off near the actual place and we wandered around with our packs for 25 minutes and asked at least 4 different people before we were finally directed to the right place. The mall this hostel is in is under construction so there are workers and construction all over the 1st floor making it tricky to get around. And then the hostel is 4 flights up the stairs. When we arrived the lady said our room would be ready in a hour which we thought was great because we had just come off a night train and were needing showers. Well we gave her an 1.25 and when we got back she assured us our room was almost ready...1.5hrs. later it was and finally we got to our room. The lobby we waited in smelled funny and our room was worse, the beds were terrible, hard and looked gross, the sink hadn't been cleaned and there were questionable stains on the towels. After we tried to shower we decided to go looking for another place and only stay 1 night as they didn't accept credit cards and it was cash only. I was very disappointed as the website is misleading and this place is disgusting. And the husband/owner doesn't talk at all, just stares with a disgruntled look on his face and the kitchen is off-limits. So we paid for our first night and were up and at our new place the next morning which was much better, the Hostel Rembrandt.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cthomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We, too, booked the Malda because it was recommended by Rick Steves. The taxi couldn't bring us to the door, so we struggled carrying our luggage a couple of blocks to find the street and the place. But that was just the beginning.

The hostel on the third or forth floor of the building and there is no lift so our luggage — we were packed for a month of travel and several different situations, cold-hot, formal-informal — all had to be carried up three long flights of steep, winding and somewhat treacherous stairs (after a hard day's travel).

Although we had booked well in advance, the people had no idea we were coming and didn't have a room for us. Aurora, an very nice, older Spanish woman and apparently the owner, manager and chief cook and bottle washer, had us sit in a lobby that smelled like smoke and other stuff I'd rather not think about for half an hour while she made up a space in what amounted to a spare room with a couple of beds.

Well, "beds" is an exaggeration. They were platforms with slats alternating with blank spaces and a two-inch thick, worn out foam mattress. Sleeping on them was almost impossible, because no matter where where you put your hip, shoulder, butt or knees, they were either on a hard piece of wood or falling through an 8" wide crack. There were hardly any lights in the room, and no place to put our stuff — also no sense in unpacking and getting set up since Aurora had told us she would move us to a better room the following night.

While we were waiting for Aurora to provide us with the first room, we asked one Ricardo, possibly Aurora's husband, to show us where the Hostel was located on our map of Barcelona. Perhaps because he was illiterate and ashamed to admit it, or possibly because he was drunk and didn't care, he marked the wrong spot on the map, placing a dot about 15 blocks from the hotel. We then went out site-seeing and had dinner.

Because of Ricardo's bad his mark, it took us an extra 1.5 hours (after an exhausting day of travel) of wandering around on winding, narrow streets at night in a crowded city with a reputation for street crime. It's a wonder we weren't robbed. When we finally found the hostel, the key for the main door didn't work. Eventually Ricardo, who was watching the TV in the lobby, came and opened the door for us.

After a lousy and painful night's sleep we got up to a cold shower. Actually, my wife had no shower at first because the water didn't flow in the first bathroom she tried. I tried filling up my water bottle for the day's outing at the tap, but the water tasted so bad we couldn't drink it and had to buy bottled water for the rest of our stay in Barcelona.

We went touring that day, and to Aurora's credit, she did have a much better room with real beds ready for us when we returned. (However, someone had moved all of our partially unpacked personal belongings into the new room, and I didn't particularly appreciate people going through it, though it they probably did it as a favor.)

So we decided to say for a couple more nights since the other hotels we'd been checking out
in the neighborhood were booked up. The better room was marginal, but acceptable at the price, though we have stayed in much better lodgings for roughly the same fare, including one Rick Steves recommended in Madrid that we stayed in about ten days after the Hostel Malda experience. Bottom line? The first night at the Malda was the worst, or one of the worst night either of us ever spent in a hotel.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

If you're travelling cheap, this is a good option for Barcelona. Good location and low prices. Shared bathrooms so if you're not comfortable with that, this isn't for you. An odd, funky place. Delfi on staff speaks good English; others speak zero English. Don't expect any tourist-type advice or assistance. Excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuaneKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
el Jardi
el Jardi
#209 of 521 in Barcelona
713 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#368 of 521 in Barcelona
205 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#110 of 521 in Barcelona
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#480 of 521 in Barcelona
282 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#263 of 521 in Barcelona
507 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#140 of 521 in Barcelona
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Malda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Malda

Property: Hostal Malda
Address: Placa del Pi 5, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #620 of 759 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hostal Malda Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing