We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cathedral”

Catedral de Barcelona
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.33*
and up
Art Bike Tour in Barcelona
Ranked #25 of 704 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful gothic cathedral with stained glass windows dating back 500 years.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I visited this cathedral this afternoon early and it has been great.
I think it is a cathedral with a unique beauty, I was impressed by the height of the ceiling.
It was really high, from outside I did not feel it was that high.
Absolutely the whole cathedral is full of small altars dedicated to various saints, and many local people and even tourists light candles to their favorite saint . It was very emotional to see it live.
What I liked most was the cloister where there is a small pond with geese or swans , now I'm not sure, but they were white and very beautiful, and people trying to touch them. beautiful.
A lovely place, really lovely.
There is a small shop where you can buy prints of saints and souvenirs at a good price, so I made a small purchase.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank voyagerbcn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,812
    2,370
    508
    56
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Don't miss visiting the cathedral when you are in central Barcelona”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The main cathedral of Barcelona lies at the centre of the old city. You can visit the cathedral in the morning for a free (if crowded) visit or pay 6 euros for a “tourist” visit in the afternoon..
This was our second visit to the cathedral and we were delighted to find that this time the cloisters were open. These are very impressive and surprisingly contain fountains, and a pool with a resident flock of geese in the central gardens.
The main interior of the cathedral has numerous points of interest including many highly-decorated side chapels, choir stalls from the 14th century, a crypt and a chapter house. Look for the decorated wooden coffins high up on the wall to the right of the main altar. These contain the remains of the founders of the original cathedral dating from the 11th century.
Don’t miss this impressive building when in central Barcelona. If you are there in December, there is also a good Christmas Market in the square at the front of the main entrance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having been inside St Peter's in the Vatican City, St Pauls in London, Notre Dame in Paris, Sacre Coeur in Paris, La Sagrada Familia, The 15C Cathedral in Seville (which is the 3rd largest in the world), this Cathedral is merely average. Our main purpose was to go up to the roof (by paying for the lift) to see the views of the city, but due to the rain, this was closed to the public. We did go to the cloister to see the geese, etc. By going in the morning, entry was free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlanetOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great big church from outside”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Looks gothic. I didn't go inside as at this time, I had enough of looking inside churches. I was waiting for my husband who went inside the chuch and sitting on the bench outside, to watch the performers and the people around, when a lady got her handbag stolen. So watch out in this area for thieves.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank May B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be ready to have your mind blown ”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We did not put a visit to the cathedral on our itinerary, but we happened to walk past it on our first night in the city and decided to go and have look. You don't need to be catholic to appreciate how beautiful and impressive this cathedral is. The art work and the details in the architecture are truly magnificent. It takes a while to take everything in, so take your time and enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Yael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catedral de Barcelona also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Catedral de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing