We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ELLA Hostel Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place beautiful city”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the studio for 3 and were amazed at how big it was, 2 lovely bathrooms, a great balcony and beautiful bedroom. They were late letting us in but left us a bottle of cava to make up for it which as a great gesture. Staff were friendly and helpful and it was brilliantly situated near 2 metro stations to get around the city abd was walkable from the ramblas and beach. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chlobear84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    73
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
104
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Violeta should not be classed as a hostel as its facilities are more like a luxury hotel right in the heart of Barcelona (but not the overly busy center)! The staff are very friendly and accommodating, to our request we was moved to a room with a balcony on the second day as soon as one was available! The hostel is very clean and cosy, sharing bathrooms is far from a problem as there is 4+ shower/toilet rooms. There is fridge space and some cooking facilities. Tea and coffee is available 247 and even croissants in the morning! I could not fault the hostel it was a 5* experience for us.
On our last night the staff even provided a bottle of wine and breakfast for us as they knew we was leaving early hours!!
Would recommend Violeta to anybody traveling to Barcelona!!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inez b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The staff is good, the location is ok, room are clean, toilets and showers too. But my stay there was one of THE WORST I have ever encountered (only an Indian-driven hotel in deep Malaysia could compare with it).
I don't know what a level of sadism drived someone to design rooms with NO ACCES OF FRESH AIR AT ALL. Imagine a building that has half of the rooms with rooms having windows facing inwards on the stairs inside the house. The staircase has no windows that could be opened. Imagine no ventilation (at least at my floor) at all. Add mid-august +33 outside (and no aircon of course). And than try to sleep there.
Even in Japanese hostel with 16 men in one room it was easier to breathe and to sleep.

You can see from the reviews on the internet that all who stayed in the room like mine was very much dissatisfied. It seems that the rooms that has fresh air supply are ok but when the hostel is fully booked it doesn't help at all.

Also wi-fi is constantly down. Once the staff said that it is due to the fact that the whole Barcelona has bad internet connection. I'm pretty shure that it is a [--] because if you insist for the router reboot works for an hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

By far the best hostel I have ever stayed at in Europe. Not sure what differentiates it from being categorised as a "hotel" however it is everything you want and more. Daniela was amazing with her advice and assistance. Our room was very spacious. All amenities were new. There was even a mini kitchenette in the common area for tea, coffee, muffins etc. The street has many outlet shops (Mango etc) and the hostel is a 6-7 min walk to Catalunya. I cannot recommend Violeta highly enough. I know I will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroBug87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The term 'hostel' in the name gives perhaps the wrong idea. This is no backpacker location, but a set of rooms in an older style apartment building. The location is just one block from Plaza Catalunya and perhaps 10 minutes walk from Las Ramblas. The entry is very informal in that its just like all the other anonymous doorways to aprtments on this street. But ring the bell for Violeta, go up one floor (there is a small elevator), and you arrive in a very trendy looking reception area with some common seating and a nice little terrace. But best of all, the staff are incredibly helpful in offering all sorts of advice.
My single room looked out on quite a large central courtyard and was very quiet. The bed was good, and the bathroom with a great rainshower was totally functional. My only minor complaint was with an aircon system that was very weak and seemed not to want to respond to temperature settings.
There are plenty of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuijk, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed at Violeta with my teen daughter for 3 nights, and we have enjoyed ourselves enormously. It is easy to find, wonderfully decorated and in a super spot very close to the old city, the shopping avenue's and public transport. But the true gems are the owners who never ever cease to try and make your stay a great one.
At first I was a bit apprehensive about sharing a bathroom, but as it turned out, "sharing" only meant that there were 3 different bathrooms (toilet/shower - toilet - bassin/shower) which could be used by 3 or 4 rooms. Bathrooms were very modern and clean albeit small. No trouble at all in sharing here.
We had a room at the front of the building, which meant that street noise was clearly audible, but I suppose that is what you can expect in the middle of a busy city.
I will be coming back to Barcelona as soon as work permits and will be staying at Violeta again. The personal attention and care is wonderful. Thank you for making my stay so lovely!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

If you would like a holliday in a good hotel in Barcelona you should try Violeta because the rooms are new and very clean and tehy give you breakfest (not payed).There isn't a restaurant in the hotel but there are a lot in that zone.
The personal is verry good and speak English.
You should realy try it. We loved it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cristinanevelits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#102 of 723 in Barcelona
115 reviews
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#19 of 723 in Barcelona
361 reviews
Eixample
Fabrizzio's Petit
Fabrizzio's Petit
#45 of 723 in Barcelona
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Rodamon Barcelona Hostel
Rodamon Barcelona Hostel
#74 of 723 in Barcelona
282 reviews
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#2 of 723 in Barcelona
308 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Fontanella
Hostal Fontanella
#67 of 723 in Barcelona
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ELLA Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ELLA Hostel Barcelona

Property: ELLA Hostel Barcelona
Address: Girona 39, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Violeta Hostel)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ELLA Hostel Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ELLA Hostel Barcelona is a cozy little hostel strategically placed in the city centre of Barcelona what means most of the main attractions of the city are reachable in few minutes walking. The hostel is characterized by the attentive and friendly service from all staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ELLA Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Violeta Hotel Barcelona
ELLA Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing