We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch traveller: home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostal Boutique Khronos
Ranked #11 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My experience:
I stayed at Hostal Khronos for 8 nights this August, as a single traveller on holiday to explore all Barcelona has to offer (amongst a big festival that week). At arrival I was welcomed by Ingrid. Very open, friendly and helpful. That attitude proved to be the standard for all of the staff! Room was (and was kept) very clean, modern styling, my taste. Private balcony, good bathroom, airco, flatscreen tv, free wifi, vault and a comfortable bed. A little bit of noise from traffic but hey… that’s a small price to pay for staying city centre. I didn’t reserve breakfast but the mornings I wanted it that was never an issue. I can honestly say the quality – price ratio is one I have not experienced yet in Europe. 24hrs room service is brilliant (prices are very low also). The terrace is very nice!

Remarkable:
Unfortunately I broke my arm three days prior to my check-out. Therefore I was somewhat in need of assistance, since I travelled alone. Ingrid, her parents, her husband and co-worker made sure those days were as comfortable for me as they could be. A little bit of home away from home and I’m very thankful for the TLC they gave me. Service you can’t ‘buy’….. 

What I liked:
The very personal service and attention (!), the old style building (beautifull staircase and small elevator) mixed with a modern interior. The location: just around the corner of 2/3-Paseig de Gracia, 10 min walk to Catalunya. Enjoy it. I did!

Possible impovements:
Only thing I can think of is more a tip: a contract with a rental bike company that can deliver and pick up bikes at the Hostal?

Location and activities:
Location –for me- perfect. In the heart of all: Sagrada at the end of the street, Gaudi buildings also. Beach is quite a walk but by taxi €8,-. Doable! Universitat: very close.

Hostal Khronos (Ingrid and the boys): see you next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank joost v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Boutique Khronos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for a week in July 2014. We truly enjoyed our stay here. The room was great, spacious and had everything we need. Everyday we came back to the hotel we were greeted warmly and the staff were always ready to have a nice chat with you. They know the city well, and can give you tips of where to go, and what to do.

The patio was great, and was perfect to meet travellers from other places too.

All in all, we had a great experience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 for 3 nights. The location is fantastic, everything in the city center is walking distance. as is the beach. We had a triple room and it had huge ceilings, it was light, airy and very spacious. Powerful shower in the bathroom. The hostel itself is quiet and it has a lovely terrace area to sit out and eat breakfast or have an evening drink.
The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming and made our stay very memorable. I'd definitely book here again.

Room Tip: The triple room is very spacious. One double bed and one 3/4 bed.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank travel_bug145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Bit of a small room, but for our four day stay it was fine. Breakfast is good value for 5 euro a person. Staff was very friendly, bought us some tickets to main attractions in advance to avoid queuing. Location was a bit hard to find at first, but just two blocks from passeig de gracia and the main shopping streets.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here March 2013 (it won't let me enter date). It is a lovely area and about 20mins walk to the centre. The rooms were quaint and stylish and our little balcony was very cute. The staff are friendly and I would recommend staying here again. Could do with a bar, though they may have gotten one since we stayed. Love Barcelona and love this hostal.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights last weekend, although we never stayed in the property for very long we loved our room and especially the balcony. The hostel also boasts a cracking communial outdoor sitting area which is decorated and furnished as stylishly as the rooms. The owners were very helpful with all of our queries and let us store our luggage with them while we enjoyed the sights before returning home.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a corner balcony with views down 2 avenues.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank forestgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Shimon S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,975 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#60 of 513 in Barcelona
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#78 of 513 in Barcelona
1,838 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
372 reviews
Eixample
Vasanta Hotel Boutique
Vasanta Hotel Boutique
#6 of 308 in Barcelona
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Boutique Khronos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Boutique Khronos

Address: Calle Mallorca 285. Principal 2da, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £70 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Boutique Khronos 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khronos Boutique Hostel, a new concept in hotel in Barcelona, economic, charming and located in a neoclassical building in the center of Eixample.Newly opened, a few meters from the elegant Paseo de Gracia, in the heart of Barcelona. From this location you can enjoy walking from the main landmarks of the city, like La Sagrada Familia, Casa Batlló, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostal Boutique Khronos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Boutique Khronos Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Boutique Khronos Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing