We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Barcelona”
Review of Hotel Bagues

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bagues
Ranked #21 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in Barcelona”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We looked at several hotels for our 20th anniverary break in Barcelona without kids. Chose Hotel Bagues for its location and style as well as price - good value. It was stylish and luxurios without being over the top. We splashed out booked a Jewel Suite which came, as advertised, with an enclosed balcony with Jacuzzi, sun bed and table and chairs. Decor was great although the room was smaller than expected but perfectly useable (could do with storage space for empty bags) with plenty of clothes spaces, internet connection and TV/Ipod connection (speaker on the balcony would be nice for jacuzzi music). Sliding glass doors to bathroom were very well designed with frosted panel for toilet privacy.

The hotel was small and friendly. It felt much more homely than larger ones. Just what we wanted. Restuarant food was excellent for dinner and breakfast. Staff were very approachable and helpful in organising restaurant bookings and airport taxi. Room service was generally prompt and housekeeping helpful when asked. Room was not always 'turned down' in the evenings but as we took time adjusting to the late Barcelona evening meals we were not always out of the room at the right time to do this. It didn't spoil our stay at all.

Location on Las Ramblas was perfect. 5 mins stroll to Opera House, Barri Gotica and Place Catalunya. 10 -15 mins to Cathedral and water side. Good AC and window/door seals meant any street noise was not a problem (had a side street view).

A spa facility would be good (especially as most accomodation is rooms and not suites) but having the jacuzzi and booking the spa potions pack meant we didn't miss it. Our first time to Barcelona was excellent

Room Tip: Choose a side street room if street noise is a worry. Also if in a 6th floor balcony room you may ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    186
    45
    15
    11
See reviews for
99
542
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shaftesbury
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stay one night in this lovely hotel and it'll definitely be worth a return trip. Rooms were spacious and well appointed and the most incrediable attention to detail, with touches of Rene Macinosh and art deco designs. Bathrooms were beautiful and the view over la Ramblas was exceptional, however even better was the sound proofing that could block it out if needed. Hotel staff were incredibly helpful with everything from showing us the best place to eat late at night (just off la Ramblas is the bar Lobo) to giving us the opportunity to leave our luggage there securely after check out rather than drag it around town for the day. All in all the perfect end to any vacation, thank you very much and hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Helpful hint: book via the Derbyhotels website itself for the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgem82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all i would like to thank you very much for your review about our hotel.

I want to talk about the soundproof system which is the best we could get and i am happy you realized how we care about that.

I also want to mention the strong staff we have working with us, they make the difference between a good hotel and one of the best hotels in Barcelona.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to arrange whatever you may need.

Warmest regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My hobby is travelling yet this is my first ever review! I just had to share the wonderful surprise we encountered when my husband and I stayed at the Hotel Bagues. I wanted to stay near or on the Ramblas, because even though it is not what it was in terms of style, the Ramblas still is in the center of Barcelona. So my location choice took out the Mandarin, Hotel Arts out of the running. Just leaving the 1898 ..Without being negative on any of these aforementioned hotels, I must say that Hotel Bagues is truly a gem! Having just being opened and with only 30+ rooms, everything is spotless, fully functional, and the staff could not be more willing to assist in any matter! Not surprising once I met the hotel's very much in attendance young manager. The hotel mgt definitely believes in the old saying, "God is in the details"! The latter went from the very stylish decor to the rose in the bathroom to great sound proofing! Also don't hesitate to eat at the hotel's restaurant! We did, given the great choice of restaurants in Barcelona, yet when exhausted one evening decided to stay in and found the food absolutely delicious! Having eaten at Per Se and The Fat Duck, we found the tuna tartare with wasabi ice cream to be among the best tasting dish ever! All in all...do stay at this precious place before it gets too full or the wear and tear start showing!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1954WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your good review.

I remember you and it was very nice and interesting to share a conversation with you.

As i told you contact me directly to book or arrange whatever you may need in this great city.

Hope to see you again.

Warmest regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heers
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

A bottle of Cava in ice on your arrival in the room, every day your room is made up twice. In the evening they make up your bed (again), you find a chocolat goodie and the weatherforcast on your bed, a little carpett next to the bed and your slippers ... Breakfast is very OK but with lots of possibilities in the neigbourhood to expensive so everbody went outside for breakfast. We took it ondce to try it out. If they make it cheaper, it will be better! (+/- 23 Euro/person) Swimming pool is cooldownpool. You can't swim in it but it's nice to relax and cool downn on the terrace roof. great view and very nice design! Superbe! Barcelona is VERY NICE (Palau Guel is a must and is nearby the hotel, opened in 2011 after several years of renovation!!)! If anybody says otherwise, he should be send to Siberia!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EclipsHeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read you found what you were expecting and also you realized we take care a lot about every single detail.

Talking about the breakfast you can choose between a selection of fruits, cereals, nice pastries and more thinks like iberic ham, salmon, spanish omelet and so on.
Also we have got a cooker who is making the hot dishes at the moment something really special and difficult to get in lots of places.

By the way thank you very much for your good feedback and hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is a very good little hotel. Single room was compact, but very well designed with plenty of wardrobe space, very comfortable bed and beautififul bathroom with rainshower. Staff very friendly and serviceminded. The hotel opened 9 months ago and prices are still good. This hotel is real competition for the Hotel 1898, just up the road and beats it hands down in most aspects in my opinion. The only reason for me to stay at the 1898 from now on would be the much larger roof terrasse. Bagues is a narrow building and the terrasse is very small and the pool only just big enough to dip. All in all a great experience!

Room Tip: inside rooms very quite if you want to avoid the noise from Ramblas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninanorton100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

What a fanastic, well appointed hotel in a great location. The rooms are fantastic, no noise from the busy La Rambla below, the staff were fantastic and attentive. This hotel is great value for money. The restaurant on the ground floor serves beautiful food, although pricy well worth it. The rood top pool and bar is a real oasis.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about our hotel Bagués.

We are very happy to read that you had the quality and the service your were expecting. We have been improving the hotel taking good notes of our guests comments and taking care of every single detail.

After 9 months developing the hotel Bagués we are very proud to say that we have got a strong and professional team which will make your stay as if you were at home.

Talking about the restaurant we have made something really special and we would like to invite every single guest to taste the fresh daily food brought streight from the Boqueria Market, one of the most famous food markets in Spain.

Please contact me directly in case you want to come back to Barcelona and i will arrange whatever you may need.

Warmest regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Was lucky to have booked this hotel direct on line and enjoyed my stay enormously , it's central but has double glazing to deal with La rambla , it's so good am booking back in for the rest of my time in Barcelona , the other hotels are just not to this standard ! The staff are so helpful and cleanliness food is all top quality , it truly is 5 star the only thing is . . . hear it comes the price ! But I guess you truly get what you pay for , this hotel has a city boutique feel with attention to detail , from Rose in room , flowers in bathroom , cherries and water on arrival , little chocs on pillow when your room is re set for the evening , all similar to other hotels but the quality is the best ! Am so looking forward to booking back there tomorrow , wherever you staynin Barcelona I hope you enjoy it , it's a great city , you just need to have a good base to venture from and then explore , ps have had no truble with pick pockets but be careful , also there is an amazing Market on the same street as the hotel it's worth a look .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theKad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for write to everyone this good feedback about our hotel.

We have been improving lots of thing and we are very happy to read you found what you were paying for.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly for further reservations at our hotel Bagués.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,461 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 512 in Barcelona
174 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 512 in Barcelona
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,279 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
#24 of 512 in Barcelona
786 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bagues

Property: Hotel Bagues
Address: La Rambla, 105, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bagues 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 5-star hotel located on Barcelona's famous Les Rambles, in the heart of the city's Gothic Quarter.Right in the middle of Barcelona's largest cultural and shopping areas, close to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA), the Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house, the Cathedral and the emblematic Boqueria market-museum occupies the building that was the historic palace of El Regulador. It also houses the Masriera museum and function room, a permanent showcase for pieces by this most international Art Nouveau jeweller: Masriera.The hotel has 31 luxury rooms, most with views of Les Rambles or the famous Carme Street, each displaying an exclusive piece of Masriera jewellery.Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Barcelona's new jewel!Services31 guest rooms: 3 single rooms, 21 Superior (14 double and 7 twin), 4 Deluxe and 3 Jewel SuiteRestaurant - Bistrot El Regulador Cocktail bar El ReguladorTerrace with outdoor swimming pool and solarium with views of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter and Raval districtBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness Center Wi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: poolside terraceswimming poolGym and saunaBagués-Masriera museumLaundry and ironing serviceSafe in receptionParking nearby (a charge applies)Small dogs allowed (except in bars and restaurants) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bagues Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing