We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but rooms too dark and non Ramblas facing rooms depressing”
Review of Hotel Bagues

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bagues
Ranked #27 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Must take a room facing the Ramblas- those are cheerful and feel more voluminous . The other rooms face a building on the side street which is close - it creates a vis a vis and affects the view. Despite the proximity of the Ramblas, these rooms can be depressing .
The staff is very friendly and helpful
In its attempt to be funky this Hotel ends up making the rooms too dark - the furniture colour , the over-all colour utilisation etc end up with that effect
Over-all a good Hotel

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your words about our staff and overall for posting this good feedback about hotel Bagués.

If you come again to Barcelona just let me know and i will allocate you in one of the brightest rooms we got by the way i don't think the rest of the rooms are specially dark.

Many guests are asking for the rooms facing the church, they really feel being in the old gotic area of Barcelona.

Thank you very much and best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon In September this year, only 3 nights as we left our children with relatives!! it is a great location on La Rambla and max 5 minute walk from Placa De Catalunya where the Aerobus drops you off from the Airport. The hotel is beautifully decorated and we had a superior room facing the church with a tiny balcony which you can stand out on and watch the comings and goings, without quite so much noise, however sound proofing is excellent! The staff are excellent and the room was incredibly clean, with the staff coming in the evening to turn down the beds and a fresh rose in a vase everyday. We were even given a complimentary bottle of red wine in our room on our first evening. we would have liked to have had tea and coffee making facilities available in our room though, I bought my travel kettle and supplies but forgot to bring the cups, so never used. The complimentary tolietries are excellent and the bath and shower were really great, even had a self closing toilet seat, on the downside is the glass door into the bathroom, i would prefer a little bit more privacy, frosted door would have been better!!! We didn't sample the breakfast or restaurant in the evening as wanted to eat our breakfast on the go and eat in the restaurants local to the sites we were visiting. Due to the location of the hotel we were able to walk everywhere to all the sites but it is still alot of walking!!! The roof top terrace is a wonderful bonus and particularly lovely at night time! I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: A room on the side facing the church is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey200745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for post such a good feedback about your stay at hotel Bagués.

We really appreciate that your stay was as you were expecting and you realized about every single detail we are providing to our guests.

Thank you very much and i hope to see you again.

Your sincerely,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Went for 3 days over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend with my girlfriend.

Located in the heart of Las Ramblas, this hotel was an excellent find whilst on special offer during soft opening.

The room was excellent, very modern and trendy with all the mod-cons. Excellent bathroom, with a nice deep bath, perfect after a long day sightseeing!

Very friendly staff, with a half bottle of red on arrival.

The hotel had a roof top area which we didnt get chance to use, with a small 'dip' pool.

Would definatley recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaj408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback about our charming hotel Bagués.

We are very proud about everything your wrote in your opinion but what make us more happy is your words about our excellent and friendly staff. This is definitly what you will find at hotel Bagues, a high standard service.

Thank you very much and i hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel is centrally located in La Rambla and, from the first moment we stepped from the cab to the time we left, we were treated with the utmost charm and courtesy. The hotel has been finished to a unique and incredibly high standard and the rooms are as luxurious as I've seen anywhere. The icing on the cake is the roof top terrace where you can sunbathe, order a drink, or cool off in the pool. The room we stayed in overlooked an open central atrium so daylight was a little limited, but, on the plus side, there was no street noise, which is a rarity on La Rambla! I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Bagues - it is a credit to its owners, its designers, and its management and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for post such a good opinion of the hotel Bagués.

We are working very hard to provide a unique experience in the heart of Barcelona
What you wrote in this feedback make us proud of the work we have been doing since we opened a year ago.

Finally offer you the possibility to contact me directly to arrange whatever you may need in your next visit to our hotel.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We spent two nights at Hotel Bagues in early August 2011. We booked a basic room through SLH and were upgraded to a slightly larger queen room as SLH members. Our room, corner room on the third floor, overlooked Las Ramblas and the side street with the church. It was an excellent location and we enjoyed standing on the small balcony for some pictures and people watching. The noise was not a problem at all. We lowered the shades and curtains at night and slept soundly.

Hotel staff was excellent and the rooftop pool was a nice treat and usually quiet. The towels at the rooftop pool are great. We ordered some drinks while by the pool in the late afternoon and received wonderful service.

Our room was comfortable, modern, neat, and chic. We especially liked the modern touches, yet the historic setting. We also had the hotel breakfast both mornings and really enjoyed it. Breakfast had a nice assortment and very fresh fruit.

Overall, we loved our two night stay at Hotel Bagues. It was the perfect end to our two week Europe trip. This is the third Small Luxury Hotel we've stayed in and would recommend Bagues to others and would book another SLH for future vacations.

Room Tip: Become a SLH member and receive a free room upgrade (if available).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ndecost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review about our hotel.

We are very happy to read your experience with us was great and you really enjoyed.

I hope to have you at hotel Bagués soon.

Kind regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My sister and I stayed here for 1 night in July 2011 it was brilliant, it is such a beautiful hotel with attention to detail and the service was fantastic they offered us complementary cocktails water bottle and delicious cherries which was all so good. The twin room we stayed in had a little balcony and a view of La Rambla which was really great and there was no noise issue, the bathroom is amazing the door is glass so not good if you like your privacy but it was really stunning and had a nice bath. The design of the rooms and foyer areas is gorgeous it was all so lovely I would definitely stay here again but for longer next time.

Room Tip: ask for room up high with La Rambla view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaBrudenell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest,

I just wanted to say thank you very much for posting such a good feedback about us.

If finally you come to stay longer in Barcelona just let me know and i will take personally care of your experience at our charming hotel Bagués.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Hotel Bagues for 3 nights and chose one of the "Jewel" suites to splash out on for a treat to experience something special to finish off our hectic 2 week holiday with a bit of R&R and luxury in the heart of Barcelona. The room and facilities more than matched our expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of having our own terrace with an outdoor jacuzzi bath. We were in room 603 and I must admit the other suites on that floor did seem to have more spacious terraces with sun beds etc and I don't know if that means our room was slightly less in price, I don't think so but it is worth bearing in mind when booking. We do have a few grumbles but must admit they are minor and really only about the housekeeping side of things. The fan in the bathroom wasn't working and although there was a flower vase in the bathroom, there were no flowers. We had special towels for using outside (we noticed these were also on the roof for using in the pool) delivered on the first evening (about 8 ish) after we had already used the tub and not again during our stay? We had mats for either side of the bed and the weather forecast for the next day delivered on the second evening but not on any other night and although there were glasses and tumblers in the cupboard for use with the mini bar on the first night they were not automatically replaced and we had to ring down and ask for them. To us, the treat of staying in a 5* hotel is to have impeccable service, attention to detail and little touches that you do not normally expect in cheaper hotels so it was shame that we experienced these minor lapses.

Even so, overall, we would highly recommend the Bagues for your stay in Barcelona. Most importantly the sound proofing was fantastic and we enjoyed peaceful nights which is vital on la Ramblas! The staff were extremely helpful, polite and welcoming and a credit to the hotel. The roof top bar and pool area was very stylish and the barman particularly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was generous and varied and we didn't need to eat again until the evening!

Room Tip: Choose 601 or 602 when booking a jewel suite if you want a bigger terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you opinion about our hotel Bagués.

First of all i would like to apologize about the small grumbles you had during your stay, we have already discuss about them and everything will be perfect for your next visit to the hotel Bagues.

About the room 603, the matter is not about the rates you paid, we have 3 different shapes in our penthouses and they are very similar each other.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#32 of 519 in Barcelona
4,709 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#68 of 519 in Barcelona
1,995 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 519 in Barcelona
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#15 of 519 in Barcelona
236 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 519 in Barcelona
1,441 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#23 of 519 in Barcelona
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bagues

Address: La Rambla, 105, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £150 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bagues 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 5-star hotel located on Barcelona's famous Les Rambles, in the heart of the city's Gothic Quarter.Right in the middle of Barcelona's largest cultural and shopping areas, close to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA), the Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house, the Cathedral and the emblematic Boqueria market-museum occupies the building that was the historic palace of El Regulador. It also houses the Masriera museum and function room, a permanent showcase for pieces by this most international Art Nouveau jeweller: Masriera.The hotel has 31 luxury rooms, most with views of Les Rambles or the famous Carme Street, each displaying an exclusive piece of Masriera jewellery.Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Barcelona's new jewel!Services31 guest rooms: 3 single rooms, 21 Superior (14 double and 7 twin), 4 Deluxe and 3 Jewel SuiteRestaurant - Bistrot El Regulador Cocktail bar El ReguladorTerrace with outdoor swimming pool and solarium with views of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter and Raval districtBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness Center Wi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: poolside terraceswimming poolGym and saunaBagués-Masriera museumLaundry and ironing serviceSafe in receptionParking nearby (a charge applies)Small dogs allowed (except in bars and restaurants) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bagues Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing