We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chic Hotel in Central Location”
Review of Hotel Bagues

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bagues
Ranked #21 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chic Hotel in Central Location”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We decided to stay at the Hotel Bagues on our recent visit to Barcelona and I have to say, we were not disappointed.

First impressions;

The Hotel is placed very centrally in the main thoroughfare - Las Ramblas and from the outside looks very elegant and picturesque.

The staff; The door man was very welcoming and the reception staff could not have been more helpful if they had tried. Bell-hop; very informative and gave us a brief history on the hotel en route to our room and once there walked us around explaining how everything worked.

The room; In truth it was slightly smaller than I expected but being a boutique hotel, this was probably my fault for having slightly skewed expectations this all said, the room was decorated very nicely (albeit a bit dark) and was very comfortable and more than adequate. The en-suite was also decorated to a very high standard having a nice deep bath/shower but again, just a little on the dark side. The bed, we found to be very comfortable but if you are any taller than my Wife and I (both 5' 10") you may end up having your feet overhanging the end of the bed. The only downside that we found was not really to do with the hotel, well. other than the location. Right next door there is a church and we found out that they quite like to ring their bells, a lot! Whilst the room is well sound proofed after a while, especially on Sunday morning) the constant dinging manages to break the sound proofing down. This said, if you like churches (and it is a beautiful church) this could be plus side. Finally; we found the mini bar to be well stocked and reasonable.

Restaurant; Whilst we didn't eat a full meal in the restaurant we did have a round of oysters which the hotel have as their speciality. I guess oysters are oysters but the staff were very polite and helpful, as were all staff (including cleaners) that we encountered during our stay. Looking at the menu (which we didn't try) it looked very extravagant but not overly priced and the restaurant always seemed to be full and quite often with locals which in my book is always a good thing.

In summary - a nice 5* boutique hotel, ideally placed for roaming around Barcelona with wonderful staff. A little pricey but would I go back? - I think I would, which I guess is the acid test.

I hope you find this to be helpful.

Room Tip: Away from the church!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deathstarstalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    184
    45
    15
    11
See reviews for
98
532
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Ideal Location at the heart of La Rambla. Very beautiful, fantastic decorated and exclusive hotel.
Very warm welcoming and great service from everyone working at the hotel.
A bit small room but very cosy.
Only minus for women is the mirror available only in the bathroom with not much lighting for makeup etc as well as the glass door of the bathroom that allows you to watch your partner doing all the 'activities' :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG0378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, great location, staff friendly and professional. I was pleasantly surprised at the food in the small restaurant. My only criticism was their inside rooms. We had 2 rooms that closed off to make it into a private suite. Well the front room which overlooked the street was fine although all the rooms are very small, the inside room while it had a window looked straight out at the lifts so had no privacy unless you kept the curtains closed, which we had to do and this presented its own problem. The room had absolutely no day light and with the mood lighting that most hotels have it was like being in a dungeon. If I was to stay there again I would ask for the rooms in the front. The soundproofing is good so no traffic noise. There free WI-FI has to tiers and the 1st tier (free) was thru an outside vendor so you had to sign into their website to access the internet, plus it kept dropping and the 2nd was around Euro 13.00 per day.

Room Tip: As I said ask for a room facing La Rambla .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatimajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Guest opinions are very important to us, especially ways that we can improve upon our overall service and guest experience.

First of all we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and design, we are delighted!!!

In terms of our interior rooms with a window facing into the stairwell we would like to mention that those rooms are often demanded for regular business guests who prefer to have a quite stay. We only have 5 rooms with this views and of course there is always a chance to change to a exterior room as you mentioned.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had with our internet speed access and we asure you we are working on it to provide a better service to all our guest.

Thank you again for your feedback we hope that if you are ever in Barcelona, you consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Mercedes Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great Hotel Great Staff can not say anything bad about it :) Stayed here a few now and each and every time I do I have found everything to be excellent. The Staff are very helpful and offer help with anything they can help with.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiaoshan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A top class hotel. Beautifully decorated, extremely friendly and courteous staff, lovely room. Can't praise it enough. Would definitely stay there again. It was also a fab location - right in the heart of the city, near plenty of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great hotel,perfect location,friendly staff,all excellent apart from don't believe what it says in the brochure about " sound proof rooms !! " Obviously the couple in the room next to ours did !! Say no more !!
Everything else great and I'm sure he was aswell !!
We would still recommend the hotel though.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay and thank you for your kinds comments regarding our staff. We are sorry to read that you experienced a problem with the noise from the room next door. Although our windows are really soundproof , we were not aware of the noise from the room next door, which we could have solved the issue if notified to our front desk staff.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and we hope to see you at the hotel next time you visit Barcelona.

Kinds Regards,

Mercedes Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband & I stayed here for a long weekend, the location was perfect a stones throw from the Gothic Quarter. The rooms are of a reasonable size, nice decor, mini bar & no noise from the very busy La Ramblas. The staff were excellent couldn't have been more helpful, booking taxis, printing tickets for us and generally very friendly. We didn't eat at the hotel but we did partake in a couple of drinks in the bar, and the staff again we're very attentive I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wini544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at hotel Bagues and for reviewing on Trip Advisor.

We greatly appreciate your feedback about our staff, decoration and restaurant service and your overall experience with us.

Please feel free to contact us directly upon your next visit to Barcelona so we can keep providing you with the best service.

Sincerely,

Mercedes Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,400 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
841 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
#26 of 513 in Barcelona
777 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,249 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bagues

Property: Hotel Bagues
Address: La Rambla, 105, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bagues 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 5-star hotel located on Barcelona's famous Les Rambles, in the heart of the city's Gothic Quarter.Right in the middle of Barcelona's largest cultural and shopping areas, close to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA), the Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house, the Cathedral and the emblematic Boqueria market-museum occupies the building that was the historic palace of El Regulador. It also houses the Masriera museum and function room, a permanent showcase for pieces by this most international Art Nouveau jeweller: Masriera.The hotel has 31 luxury rooms, most with views of Les Rambles or the famous Carme Street, each displaying an exclusive piece of Masriera jewellery.Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Barcelona's new jewel!Services31 guest rooms: 3 single rooms, 21 Superior (14 double and 7 twin), 4 Deluxe and 3 Jewel SuiteRestaurant - Bistrot El Regulador Cocktail bar El ReguladorTerrace with outdoor swimming pool and solarium with views of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter and Raval districtBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness Center Wi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: poolside terraceswimming poolGym and saunaBagués-Masriera museumLaundry and ironing serviceSafe in receptionParking nearby (a charge applies)Small dogs allowed (except in bars and restaurants) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bagues Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing