We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Ranked #42 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Ohla Hotel for the last two nights of my honeymoon in Europe. I had a wonderful experience. The location is perfect, right in the center of the Gothic Quarter and an easy walk to the beach. The service was fantastic. We got to the hotel very early in the morning and they couldn't have been more accommodating - storing our luggage without us even having to ask, giving us a call as soon as our room was ready and sending us a complimentary bottle of Cava because we mentioned it was our Honeymoon. The decor was gorgeous, the breakfast was delicious, we adored the roof deck pool. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VRONV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annaalbuixech, Director General at Hotel Ohla Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Madam,

On behalf of all the staff of Ohla Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind comments. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your honeymoon trip in Barcelona. We look forward to seeing you again at Ohla Hotel (maybe for your next wedding anniversaries!).

Best regards,

Anna Albuixech
General Manager
OHLA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

From check in until check out it was flawless professional hospitality for the savviest of Travlers. I stayed in the Dome Suite which was the perfect city apartment. Optima
Location, caring friendly staff and lovely rooms. All in all the perfect city hotel!

Room Tip: The dome suite is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonzyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Ohla Hotel is in a great location, and the service, condition of the room, breakfast - everything in fact, was top notch. T/he only minor issue I had was that the bed was a little hard, but other than that, I would recommend this hotel without reservation - and if I come back to Barcelona, will stay here again in a hearbeat.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Boringrraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just returned from six nights at the Ohla Hotel at the end of August/beginning of September 2013. As many here have said, the location is ideal for day tripping to the surrounding areas. The service was excellent and the staff very helpful. I'd agree that the lighting could be better and hopefully they'll improve it - I mentioned the lighting in the outgoing survey (something you don't always see either). Many have mentioned the showers, our first room did have the shower in the middle of the room with visibility throughout the room. However, the air conditioner went out and they moved us to another room. The second room had the wall/mirror facing the bedding area so it provided more privacy. So there are, evidently, varying scenarios. Didn't matter to my wife and I either way. Now, someone mentioned English speaking channels - for the times you are in the room (late nights, etc). All you need to do is use the tools option on the remote to make adjustments for language - easy. There were also channels like CNN, BBC, etc. so I don't agree with that/those complaints. We also enjoyed the food and service at breakfast and at the Tapas Bar. For the complaints about waiting for someone to assist with the hot orders at breakfast...all you need to do is ask for assistance, don't just sit there and wait! We needed some down time on our second day after arriving from San Diego and the pool area was great. It's small but we were able to get one of the cabanas and really enjoyed the morning. Didn't get up there at night - too much else going on outside the hotel for us. All in all, we REALLY enjoyed our stay and will plan to use the hotel whenever we return to Barcelona.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the Comtal side to have a quiet retreat and it was perfect. We also requested...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slotracer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great location and contemporary decor. Nice staff and breakfast, too. The tapas menu also looked yummy. You can't go wrong with this hotel so enjoy! The drinks, live music, (small) pool and view from the roof patio was the best!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

An excellent modern hotel in a fantastic location for walking around the city, especially the Gothic Quarter. It's on a busy street but the rooms are sound proofed so you'll hardly notice. Friendly staff, good breakfast, relaxing rooftop bar. Rooms are boutique style. If you want to shower in private forget it. The see-through shower's in the middle of the room. Different! Beds very comfy and they e-mailed before stay asking what kinda pillows, sheets etc we'd like! Attentive! Room wasn't ready until 3pm but that's pretty much the norm in Barca. Why would anyone want to leave that fantastic city?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IJ6547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We couldnt've asked for anything more than this! Ideal location, easy access to the pedestrian shopping area and La Ramblas. The staff always keen to assist and very polite! The rooms, are well designed and with attention to detail, are very 'sexy' and 'seductive'. But the roof garden is an experience by itself! Definetely worth spending some time up there enjoying the views and taking photos. But the best bit is the cocktails at the bar! A must- visit even if not a hotel guest. Would definetely go back during my next visit to Barcelona!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyEatSeeSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
893 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 515 in Barcelona
2,118 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 515 in Barcelona
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
1,373 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#24 of 515 in Barcelona
714 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ohla Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ohla Barcelona

Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £165 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ohla Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohla Barcelona Hotel is a five-star boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city Barcelona, surrounded by three of the city's most popular sight-seeing and shopping areas: the Gothic Quarter, the Born and the Eixample. Inaugurated in February 2011, its location is perfect for tourism, shopping or business, with a fusion of calm serenity and the bustle of downtown Barcelona. The project has left untouched the building's historical facade from 1920 and other listed elements, including the main staircase, while giving the establishment a cutting-edge, minimalist interior design that combines various textures of black, white and oak wood. The building stands out for the sculpture on the facade by world-renowned artist, Frederic Amat. The hotel has 74 rooms, all equipped with a 40-inch TV screen and satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, telephone, safe box with room for a 17-inch laptop, adjustable lighting, individual thermostat, Egyptian cotton sheets, robe, slippers, kettle and minibar. Its culinary spaces are one of the highlights of the hotel, which locals consider great meeting points: Caelis restaurant, awarded with a Michelin star; La Plassohla, 'tapas' and small plates and Vistro 49, a boutique bar specialized in wines and cocktails. The terrace and the enclosed pool, the only one of its kind in Barcelona, have been called one of the best places to relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the city. Meeting rooms, gym, sauna and massage room, internet corner and parking garage are just some of the other services the department of Public Relations can offer to even further personalize each guest's stay and ensure it is an unforgettable experience. In short, a world of experiences that the whole Ohla Barcelona team offers guests looking for a hotel with charm and personality in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ohla Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ohla Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing