We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel on a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Ranked #41 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel on a great location”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed there for two nights and loved it. The restaurant is very good, the tapas bar also.
The front desk and consierge was always there to help. Nice roof top view!!!! We enjoy every aspect of the hotel starting with the location, which is the Gotic area, close to many restaurants, bars, museums, and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourenço n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    370
    107
    25
    20
See reviews for
169
1,020
46
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Ohla Hotel. WOW - what can we say except for excellent - ideally located for sightseeing in Barcelona. The reception staff and concierge were first class - extremely helpful and professional. The room was spotlessly clean - the bed comfortable and the linens a real treat.

If we had to make any criticism at all it would be that the rooftop terrace could have had a few more comfortale chairs and was a bit pricey, the completely see-through shower - a little more privacy would have been nice and the waiters in the breakfast restaurant a little more friendly.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would consider it again for any future stays in Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink_LadyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duffel, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very nice scenery on the rooftop. Hotel very well located for visiting the nice places of Barcelona & shopping. Would rate it more a 4,5 start than 5star hotel.
Rooms are well equiped (we had a junior suite) but have done Mandarin hotel & W hotel and that were really 5star hotels
Just one advice : be on time for breakfast because there's little space to eat.... First in are the lucky ones

Room Tip: Take a junior suite, standard room are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flupper001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khartoum, Sudan
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

best for city center every thing is around you even the Air port Bus
staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, most of the time. Trendy room with a super...
more
The rooftop terrace with pool is lovely but the real wow factor of this hotel is the Cocktail Masterclass

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdelhaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seoul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed 2 nights and the services from this hotel were warm , not exaggerated but courteous.
Breakfast was was so wonderful, and the manager was so nice and kind, dishes were clean and delicious
lunch in restaurant was also good( Michelin star restaurant, I can't remember the name)
room is somewhat tiny and small
there was no bathtub in my room and I was embarrased because there was no door to toilet
Not approprate for business trip, adequat with honeymoon or for couples ^^

But the location of this hotel is perfect! very quiet but central location, not far from Catalunya platz or Ramblas street. very close to lovely Catalunya music hall or Cathedral, Gothic Quarter.
Great for sightseeing!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Staff is higly professional. Efficient & friendly service. Good light in room - suitable for reading. Very good facilities for late departure after check-out. Not everyone likes a transparent shower in the middle of the room.
Excellent location, Free wifi. Restaurant not recommended for vegetarians, but there are good places to eat outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dr. Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

To whom this may concern:

Overall impression of The Ohla Hotel experience was just ok. I expected more from a five star hotel.

I’m glad that you asked for my feedback, if I may, I like to share with your company a very embarrassing situation I encountered the day of our arrival and my overall experience at the Ohla Hotel, Barcelona.

Though we were at The Ohla Hotel for only one evening, we found the room to be pleasant and staff was friendly. When we arrived at the hotel, our rooms weren’t ready yet and were courteously asked to wait by the pool area, under the rain I might add until the rooms were ready; no one bothered to enquire about our welfare whatsoever during our long wait.

The elevators are a bit confusing, if I may suggest, instead of 0 and 0.5 levels and such, it would make much more sense if the lower level s were titled A, B and C and the room levels 1, 2, 3, 4 and pool level be pool. Lower call button is to go down and upper call button is to go up; these are universal functions.

Prior to our departure from the US to Amsterdam, I contacted Ohla Hotel and arranged transfer thru your concierge from the ship terminal to The Ohla Hotel. On September 15, 2013 the day of our arrival at Barcelona ship terminal, we waited well over one hour for the transfer I had personally arranged thru the concierge at Ohla Hotel.

I instead on telling my traveling companions that the vehicle I had arranged thru the hotel would arrive in just a matter of minutes, but in never arrived; I was extremely embarrassed and had no other alternative, but to stand in line for a taxi to take us to Ohla Hotel.

Upon our arrival at The Ohla Hotel, every staff member was pleasant; I explained the situation to the young lady at the desk who assisted us; she said she’d look into the matter, I never heard back from her at all, not even a sorry was offered by anyone.

Situations such as what I’ve described here left me with an unpleasant feeling towards my experience with the hotel’s customer service and a not so good overall impression of The Ohla Hotel. I hope you can understand why I said at the start that my overall experience was just ok, I had anticipated and expected much more from a five star hotel...

Respectfully,
George LaBarga

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
1,894 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
849 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Eixample
Ohla Eixample
Ohla Eixample
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
297 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ohla Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ohla Barcelona

Property: Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ohla Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohla Barcelona Hotel is a five-star boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city Barcelona, surrounded by three of the city's most popular sight-seeing and shopping areas: the Gothic Quarter, the Born and the Eixample. Inaugurated in February 2011, its location is perfect for tourism, shopping or business, with a fusion of calm serenity and the bustle of downtown Barcelona. The project has left untouched the building's historical facade from 1920 and other listed elements, including the main staircase, while giving the establishment a cutting-edge, minimalist interior design that combines various textures of black, white and oak wood. The building stands out for the sculpture on the facade by world-renowned artist, Frederic Amat. The hotel has 74 rooms, all equipped with a 40-inch TV screen and satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, telephone, safe box with room for a 17-inch laptop, adjustable lighting, individual thermostat, Egyptian cotton sheets, robe, slippers, kettle and minibar. Its culinary spaces are one of the highlights of the hotel, which locals consider great meeting points: Caelis restaurant, awarded with a Michelin star; La Plassohla, 'tapas' and small plates and Vistro 49, a boutique bar specialized in wines and cocktails. The terrace and the enclosed pool, the only one of its kind in Barcelona, have been called one of the best places to relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the city. Meeting rooms, gym, sauna and massage room, internet corner and parking garage are just some of the other services the department of Public Relations can offer to even further personalize each guest's stay and ensure it is an unforgettable experience. In short, a world of experiences that the whole Ohla Barcelona team offers guests looking for a hotel with charm and personality in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ohla Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ohla Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing