We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohla Hotel - Heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Ranked #39 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ohla Hotel - Heavenly”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful, beautiful City. The hotel is located in a great part of town and close to everything, the rooms were very well done and the employees from the front desk to the valets to the restaurant and bar staff to the maid staff were so very nice and attentive. I have been very fortunate to have been in most major cities in the world and have stayed at many wonderful hotels in these cities. The Ohla Hotel is right up there with some of the best. Congrads to the owners, the senior staff and all the employees for putting it at that level!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    369
    105
    23
    20
See reviews for
166
1,009
43
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Excellent welcome made to feel valued and special. Brilliant advice available when you needed it. Staff very attentive and professional. Lovely rooftop terrace with amazing views. Everything lovely could find nothing to fault. Extremely comfortable bed!

Room Tip: We had a design room which had the shower open to the bedroom. A little unusual but no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband booked our Barcelona trip as a 40th Birthday surprise and I was more than surprised when we arrived at the Ohla Hotel! The hotel offers everything you want and need in a city hotel. Its location is great with all the attractions of Barcelona on it's doorstep. The hotel staff are exceptional, very friendly and they couldn't help us enough from the moment we arrived until we left. Our room was very comfortable and modern and one of the cleanest i have stayed in. The hotel gym has a selection of cardio machines and free weights and an adjoining spa (although i'm guessing this doesn't get used much!) We ate in the hotel gastrobar on our first night and enjoyed a selection of Tapas that we couldn't beat elsewhere (was a little more expensive then other restaurants but absolutely worth it). Breakfasts were a treat....such a huge selection of food that would suit any appetite/diet. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, especially if you are looking for something special or just to treat yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor facing the main street - there was no issue with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben50n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Took my girlfriend here for our first trip away together and the only fault I can find is I've probably set the bar WAY too high!

We stayed in January, and it was honestly the best hotel I've ever stayed in. From the moment we walked through the (impressive) door the service we received was everything you could hope for and beyond. The staff, every single one of them, were welcoming, attentive and gave the impression that absolutely nothing would be too much for them. Check in was a breeze (aided by some rather nice drinks) and the staff working took the time not only to fill us in on the hotel, but also of the main attractions of the city AND the best way to get around them and make the most of our trip. A nice touch was due to some roadworks at the entrance to the hotel we were upgraded to a side room (even though not once did we actually see or hear any roadworks). But it's this level of care and attention that really stands out.

And then we walked in to the room. The pictures on any website you may see don't do it justice. For a couple on a romantic break you simply could not get better. The bed, so incredibly comfy. The bathroom, perfect. The shower (yes it does deserve it's own mention!) simply incredible! Storage, great, facilities, great, wifi, great... You get the impression.

Breakfast was equally good. The selection was wide and the food fresh. Again service was spot on.

Overall I can not recommend the Ohla enough. Every single aspect exceeded my hopes. I did nearly knock one off for value, but even though the hotel's not the cheapest, you get what you pay for. And the Ohla was worth every single cent.

Room Tip: Book anything here and you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Bowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Ohla is a very smart city hotel that oozes style and has excellent staff. It is ideally placed for seeing Barcelona with a five minute wander to the main square and shopping district. There are numerous quality tapas and other eateries all around although the hotel gastrobar is as good or better than any we tried. Tone of the highlights was STphe two daybus tour pass is worth getting if you want to see the sights although one of the highlights for us was the hospital of St Paul a few stops on the metro away. The theatre across the road is worth a visit - just for the architecture if nothing else. Barcelona is all about architecture and style. Four days is probably enough to see it and the Rambalas is overrated!.

Room Tip: The higher specification rooms to the front are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Excellent hotel in the historical center and only 300metres from las ramblas. Very polite and available staff and above all the professionality of sig fausto; if you do not know what to do to ask him.
The breakfast has plenty of choice.
The terrace has a great view.
The cocktails are served at very original.
The rooms are stylish,quiet and very clean!
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattygiudici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend at Ohla hotel to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The booking process was easy and it was lovely to be asked what bed linen, pillow type and bed sheet aroma we would like prior to the visit! (thanks Jorge!)

We had a junior suite on the 4th floor and it was clean and modern. Always smelt nice too! We found the rooftop a real treat, but weren't brave enough to have a swim!

Breakfast was really good, with a continental buffet. We didn't eat any other time in the hotel as felt it was a little over priced.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a fantastic restaurant recommendation from Daniele which made our last night one to remember.

We would recommend Ohla to anyone visiting this beautiful city, it's conveniently located being right in the heart Barcelona.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank burnysbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#30 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Eixample
Ohla Eixample
Ohla Eixample
#26 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ohla Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ohla Barcelona

Property: Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ohla Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohla Barcelona Hotel is a five-star boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city Barcelona, surrounded by three of the city's most popular sight-seeing and shopping areas: the Gothic Quarter, the Born and the Eixample. Inaugurated in February 2011, its location is perfect for tourism, shopping or business, with a fusion of calm serenity and the bustle of downtown Barcelona. The project has left untouched the building's historical facade from 1920 and other listed elements, including the main staircase, while giving the establishment a cutting-edge, minimalist interior design that combines various textures of black, white and oak wood. The building stands out for the sculpture on the facade by world-renowned artist, Frederic Amat. The hotel has 74 rooms, all equipped with a 40-inch TV screen and satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, telephone, safe box with room for a 17-inch laptop, adjustable lighting, individual thermostat, Egyptian cotton sheets, robe, slippers, kettle and minibar. Its culinary spaces are one of the highlights of the hotel, which locals consider great meeting points: Caelis restaurant, awarded with a Michelin star; La Plassohla, 'tapas' and small plates and Vistro 49, a boutique bar specialized in wines and cocktails. The terrace and the enclosed pool, the only one of its kind in Barcelona, have been called one of the best places to relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the city. Meeting rooms, gym, sauna and massage room, internet corner and parking garage are just some of the other services the department of Public Relations can offer to even further personalize each guest's stay and ensure it is an unforgettable experience. In short, a world of experiences that the whole Ohla Barcelona team offers guests looking for a hotel with charm and personality in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ohla Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ohla Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing