We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Ranked #44 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Honeymoon ”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Go for a suite. It's worth the money. Beautiful room, great bar and good service. Nothing too much trouble. We will be back.
The location is brilliant. Out the door, surrounded by restaurants, shops and all attractions.
Breakfast is ok but unless included don't bother as loads of places very close

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grockledevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    373
    108
    25
    22
See reviews for
171
1,030
46
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I remember when I traveled with my family at the hotel we loved. It is beautiful place with location perfect nice of city center that it has wonderful vegetation where remains peace and tranquility
The room is very amply and it is well equipped.The rooms are always very clean and tidy all ok
The hotel is the most elegant with his decoration very old but equal the hotel is very beautiful and
I really admired that place where the service receive very friendly and the attention is well all day
The breakfast is very varied and delicious I also stressed the good care of the service
The place is beautiful idea to relax and have fun

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I spent an extended weekend here in June with my 11 year old son. We really enjoyed our stay at the Ohla.

* The location is perfect with easy access to the main attractions.
* The rooms were clean and modern. There was a bit of noice from the street, but acceptable.
* But the best part of this hotel is the rooftop deck. It has a stunning view and a nice layout. It really made the trip for my son. We chose the hotel due to this deck, so we were dissappointed to find that it was booked for a private party one of the nights. Furthermore the price level at the bar was on the high side - 16 Euro for a GinTonic.

When I return to Barcelona, the Ohla would be my preferred alternative.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svein s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

There are many things I love about the Ohla Hotel and just a few I don't. Here's a short list of the outstanding qualities of the Ohla: 1. The location can't be beat. 2. The contemporary style of the hotel and the attention to decorative detail is peerless. 3. The rooftop deck and pool is a great hang, day or night, with a great view and again, a wonderful contemporary design. 4. The reception staff and concierge were quite good. There are just a few items that could use improvement, starting with the breakfast buffet. The setting is nice but the food offerings are quite limited. Compared to other five star hotel buffets, this one falls well short of the standard we are accustomed to seeing. I will give very high marks to their coffee, but nothing else about their breakfast buffet was noteworthy. The other thing about the Ohla is that some of their fancy gadgets either do not function properly or require a tutorial to figure out. Things like curtain controls, coffee machines and TV remotes all gave us unexpected difficulty, and there reaches a point when you feel like an idiot continually calling on hotel staff for assistance. Finally, the rooms, although stunningly beautiful, are tight on space. Despite these issues, we certainly would gladly stay at the Ohla again, but we won't make the mistake of paying anything extra for their breakfast buffet unless they pick up their game.

Room Tip: Upper floors are greatly preferred for better views and less traffic noise. The penthouse is pricy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the time you check in - where they serve you Cava champagne while waiting for your room keys, to the time that you're introduced to the amenities of the hotel...it's a breathtaking experience.

The wow factor was that this old building from the external facade is truly an astounding boutique hotel from the well appointed interiors. And they don't scrimp on the luxurious ambience and decor materials of the room, bathroom, flooring, beddings, duvets, pillows (you can choose from a whole menu). So the wow factor was the shower which stood right smack in the middle of the room. (Obviously this could be a turn off for people who were sharing the room with a "friend", but this was not built for the squimish of morals. I loved it and who cares?)

Had lunch at and all breakfasts at the Ohla Gastronomic bar and the food was outstanding! Menu for breakfasts was not overfilling and just the right spread was "muy bien"!!!

Let's face it, with a hotel that smells so good, service so outstanding, has a 1 star Michelin restaurant (Saüc) in its premises, and is right at the heart of the shopping district (and a stroll away from all other lovely places to dine), this has got to be Barcelona's best pick!

Hands down!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annaalbuixech, Director General at Hotel Ohla Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

I would like to thank for your comments. It’s a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Ohla and that we surprised you with our “wow factors” (using your own words!). It means that we have achieved our goal and this is the most satisfaction for us. Thank you sirs for your words and we look forward to seeing you at Ohla very soon!

Anna Albuixech
General Manager
OHLA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Writing this from the roof top pool whilst sipping my mojito- as hotels go it doesn't get much better than this. Amazing modern hotel, book a suite and you will not be disappointed. Huge rooms with all the facilities you'd expect in a 5 star hotel.
Ideal location as well being in walking distance of all the main tourist locations.
Staff are super friendly and the cocktail bar is a must.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornishboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We came there during the F1 weekend so it was rather hectic, but the staff handled everything very well. The room was very spacious and the hotel very well located to everything. The staff was great at suggesting activities and places to go to. The gym is rather tiny and under furnished, but the hotel's pool and patio lounge did make up for it. Quite a view. I wish that they would get a small heater for the pool which I trust would be a very minimal cost to them in light of the size of the small pool. Elevators could be faster as we ended up taking the stairs most of the time, which could be an issue for people with children, disabilities or of advanced age. The all inclusive breakfast was great. All in all it is a great hotel but beware that the price is a bit steep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Pierre U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 512 in Barcelona
860 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#24 of 512 in Barcelona
1,958 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 512 in Barcelona
428 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#20 of 512 in Barcelona
649 reviews
Eixample
Ohla Eixample
Ohla Eixample
#30 of 512 in Barcelona
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ohla Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ohla Barcelona

Property: Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ohla Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohla Barcelona Hotel is a five-star boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city Barcelona, surrounded by three of the city's most popular sight-seeing and shopping areas: the Gothic Quarter, the Born and the Eixample. Inaugurated in February 2011, its location is perfect for tourism, shopping or business, with a fusion of calm serenity and the bustle of downtown Barcelona. The project has left untouched the building's historical facade from 1920 and other listed elements, including the main staircase, while giving the establishment a cutting-edge, minimalist interior design that combines various textures of black, white and oak wood. The building stands out for the sculpture on the facade by world-renowned artist, Frederic Amat. The hotel has 74 rooms, all equipped with a 40-inch TV screen and satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, telephone, safe box with room for a 17-inch laptop, adjustable lighting, individual thermostat, Egyptian cotton sheets, robe, slippers, kettle and minibar. Its culinary spaces are one of the highlights of the hotel, which locals consider great meeting points: Caelis restaurant, awarded with a Michelin star; La Plassohla, 'tapas' and small plates and Vistro 49, a boutique bar specialized in wines and cocktails. The terrace and the enclosed pool, the only one of its kind in Barcelona, have been called one of the best places to relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the city. Meeting rooms, gym, sauna and massage room, internet corner and parking garage are just some of the other services the department of Public Relations can offer to even further personalize each guest's stay and ensure it is an unforgettable experience. In short, a world of experiences that the whole Ohla Barcelona team offers guests looking for a hotel with charm and personality in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ohla Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ohla Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing