We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Ranked #39 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location is absolutely perfect to explore Barcelona. I would not hesitate to stay in this fab hotel again. Our room (a junior suite) was gorgeous, with big floor to ceiling windows on 3 sides with a view of the cathedral in the distance. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The cocktail bar is really great, we sampled more than a few, but my recommendation would be the Sauc (named after the restaurant) - sublime! We also ate in the tapas restaurant which was really good, fab service, very attentive. We spent our last late afternoon chilling by the rooftop pool overlooking the city. All in all, the the best hotel I have stayed in in Barcelona & I've stayed in a few.

The concierge were really helpful & polite. They gave us an indispensable tip for getting on the tourist bus at a less busy spot.

If there was one tiny tiny gripe, it would be the toiletries in the bathroom didn't feel like great quality considering it's a five star hotel, but this would never deter me from staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    369
    105
    23
    20
See reviews for
166
1,009
43
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Brilliant staff and super convenient location coupled with great food make this a great choice. Organised in advance we were sent requests for pillow preference, bed linen and even what fragrance we'd like on our sheets. The rooftop bar has a small pool where you can enjoy the sun and a sundowner. It's quite small and only about 12 sun beds which get filled pretty quickly but there are places to sit and hotel guests can have a reserved area at night. Concierge is a gem and found us a bar to go and watch a rugby match which wasn't shown on local TV . Would definitely come back

Room Tip: Rooms off the via Laetania are quieter. 4th floor junior suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sueodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Loved the Ohla hotel. The location couldn't have been better for the sights around Barcelona, the cleaners and the concierge did a fantastic job. We had a room opposite the road therefore their was a lot of noise at night/morning but this didn't cause hassle. Only criticism i would have is a rude member of staff ( a woman) in the restaurant downstairs, we had a late flight so just wanted a drink but she was extremely rude as we weren't eating! Felt as though we have checked out therefore they didn't really care about our presence! Overall, i would 100% stay here again, the rooms are just amazing!!!

Room Tip: Stay at the back, less noise i assume!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittygreen_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annaalbuixech, Director General at Hotel Ohla Barcelona, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank your for your comments and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at Ohla Hotel.
Also, I would like to thank you for letting us know the incident with a member of our staff. Please accept my most sincere apologies. Our guests' satisfaction is our main goal so please rest assured we will clarify what happened and we will take the issue up at the next internal meeting.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Anna Albuixech
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very contemporary design, interesting glass shower. Location, rooftop bar and Gastropub food excellent. Very comfortable bed, very clean. Only complaint, bathroom very dark even with the lights on. Concierge and staff very helpful and courteous. We were on second floor and felt vibration from the Metro, higher floor would probably be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicMaggie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

loved this hotel, food was totally superb - some of the best we tasted in Barcelona (Hotel Arts sucked by comparison) Ask for a higher room as you do get some vibration from the metro early in the morning in rooms on lower floors. Bed linens etc are very good and you get a choice so great for a good nights sleep. The staff were very helpful and service efficient- definately try a cocktail by their award winning cocktail technicians - it is like watching a work of art in creation as they make them (loved grapefruit of wrath). Would recommend trying to fit in a concert at the nearby Palace of Catalan Music (Palau de la Musica Catalana) also recommend Casa Batllo and the colourful food market.

Room Tip: Sleep quality great when we moved to a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caron456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently had 2 lovely days at the Ohla. The room was lovely, clean and modern. The roof top pool is perfect after a days site seeing just to relax taking in the breathtaking views of the city.

The staff at the ground floor concierge were extremely helpful with directions for the Hop on Hop bus, which is a must around Barcelona.

The hotel is very central for walking around City

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When I first entered the room, I noticed the toilet was dirty. The toilet seat was stained and there was excrement stuck on the inside of the toilet bowl. There were also cobwebs by bathroom sink. I complained to front desk and they sent housekeeping to clean up. Housekeeping said the seat was just stained (yellowing) and could not be cleaned. it could be so simple to just have the toilet seat replaced. But there is no excuse to find feces stuck on the inside. Just gross!

Room Tip: Do a thorough inspection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#30 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Eixample
Ohla Eixample
Ohla Eixample
#28 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ohla Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ohla Barcelona

Property: Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ohla Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohla Barcelona Hotel is a five-star boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city Barcelona, surrounded by three of the city's most popular sight-seeing and shopping areas: the Gothic Quarter, the Born and the Eixample. Inaugurated in February 2011, its location is perfect for tourism, shopping or business, with a fusion of calm serenity and the bustle of downtown Barcelona. The project has left untouched the building's historical facade from 1920 and other listed elements, including the main staircase, while giving the establishment a cutting-edge, minimalist interior design that combines various textures of black, white and oak wood. The building stands out for the sculpture on the facade by world-renowned artist, Frederic Amat. The hotel has 74 rooms, all equipped with a 40-inch TV screen and satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, telephone, safe box with room for a 17-inch laptop, adjustable lighting, individual thermostat, Egyptian cotton sheets, robe, slippers, kettle and minibar. Its culinary spaces are one of the highlights of the hotel, which locals consider great meeting points: Caelis restaurant, awarded with a Michelin star; La Plassohla, 'tapas' and small plates and Vistro 49, a boutique bar specialized in wines and cocktails. The terrace and the enclosed pool, the only one of its kind in Barcelona, have been called one of the best places to relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the city. Meeting rooms, gym, sauna and massage room, internet corner and parking garage are just some of the other services the department of Public Relations can offer to even further personalize each guest's stay and ensure it is an unforgettable experience. In short, a world of experiences that the whole Ohla Barcelona team offers guests looking for a hotel with charm and personality in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ohla Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ohla Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing