We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Ranked #49 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Ohla hotel in Barcelona from 26th May - 30th May for our 30th wedding anniversary with our friends. We really enjoyed the stay and the hotel was everybit as good as all the reviews we read.

The location is central with the metro just opposite, restaurants and the harbour nearby and Las Rambalas close. The site seeing buses are only 10 minutes away. The quality of food in the hotel was extremely high and breakfast buffet style with lots of choice and whilst the cook breakfast was small portions it was equisitely presented and cooked. Julia (who has since left to come to England) was a delight and we had some great banter with her at breakfast. All the staff were helpful, happy and smiling and nothing was too much trouble. We had some rain during our stay and even umbrellas were provided by the receiption staff.

One morning at breakfast we witnessed a couple really lose their tempers at the staff (unwarranted might i add) and our hearts really went out to the waitress because it was disgusting behaviour and totally childish and uncalled for. But credit to your staff because they kept quiet til the rant was over, apologised and acted totally professionally. I was really impressed cos the guy deserved throwing out in the street to be honest. It would be nice if the management at the hotel tells the staff involved 'well done' and i hope you pass on my comments. Im glad to say the guest was neither English or Spanish!

Rooms in the hotel were immaculate, modern, tastefully decorated and much bigger than I was expecting. We had a standard room and the air con was fab but also the heating when we had a colder, rainy day. Mini bars are stacked to the brim and snacks also provided (thou obviously at a cost).

I had a massage whilst staying (the men were visiting the football stadium YAWN) so I rang down to reception and the concierge arranged a massuse for 40 mins later and it was a very good massage.

The rooftop pool area is lovely thou the water very cold but i imagine very refreshing when its very hot. We made regular use of the area and relaxed at the end of each afternoon with a drink and chat. Towels are provided.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bristolblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location is absolutely perfect to explore Barcelona. I would not hesitate to stay in this fab hotel again. Our room (a junior suite) was gorgeous, with big floor to ceiling windows on 3 sides with a view of the cathedral in the distance. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The cocktail bar is really great, we sampled more than a few, but my recommendation would be the Sauc (named after the restaurant) - sublime! We also ate in the tapas restaurant which was really good, fab service, very attentive. We spent our last late afternoon chilling by the rooftop pool overlooking the city. All in all, the the best hotel I have stayed in in Barcelona & I've stayed in a few.

The concierge were really helpful & polite. They gave us an indispensable tip for getting on the tourist bus at a less busy spot.

If there was one tiny tiny gripe, it would be the toiletries in the bathroom didn't feel like great quality considering it's a five star hotel, but this would never deter me from staying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Brilliant staff and super convenient location coupled with great food make this a great choice. Organised in advance we were sent requests for pillow preference, bed linen and even what fragrance we'd like on our sheets. The rooftop bar has a small pool where you can enjoy the sun and a sundowner. It's quite small and only about 12 sun beds which get filled pretty quickly but there are places to sit and hotel guests can have a reserved area at night. Concierge is a gem and found us a bar to go and watch a rugby match which wasn't shown on local TV . Would definitely come back

Room Tip: Rooms off the via Laetania are quieter. 4th floor junior suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sueodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Loved the Ohla hotel. The location couldn't have been better for the sights around Barcelona, the cleaners and the concierge did a fantastic job. We had a room opposite the road therefore their was a lot of noise at night/morning but this didn't cause hassle. Only criticism i would have is a rude member of staff ( a woman) in the restaurant downstairs, we had a late flight so just wanted a drink but she was extremely rude as we weren't eating! Felt as though we have checked out therefore they didn't really care about our presence! Overall, i would 100% stay here again, the rooms are just amazing!!!

Room Tip: Stay at the back, less noise i assume!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittygreen_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annaalbuixech, Director General at Hotel Ohla Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Sirs,

Thank your for your comments and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at Ohla Hotel.
Also, I would like to thank you for letting us know the incident with a member of our staff. Please accept my most sincere apologies. Our guests' satisfaction is our main goal so please rest assured we will clarify what happened and we will take the issue up at the next internal meeting.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Anna Albuixech
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very contemporary design, interesting glass shower. Location, rooftop bar and Gastropub food excellent. Very comfortable bed, very clean. Only complaint, bathroom very dark even with the lights on. Concierge and staff very helpful and courteous. We were on second floor and felt vibration from the Metro, higher floor would probably be better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagicMaggie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

loved this hotel, food was totally superb - some of the best we tasted in Barcelona (Hotel Arts sucked by comparison) Ask for a higher room as you do get some vibration from the metro early in the morning in rooms on lower floors. Bed linens etc are very good and you get a choice so great for a good nights sleep. The staff were very helpful and service efficient- definately try a cocktail by their award winning cocktail technicians - it is like watching a work of art in creation as they make them (loved grapefruit of wrath). Would recommend trying to fit in a concert at the nearby Palace of Catalan Music (Palau de la Musica Catalana) also recommend Casa Batllo and the colourful food market.

Room Tip: Sleep quality great when we moved to a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caron456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently had 2 lovely days at the Ohla. The room was lovely, clean and modern. The roof top pool is perfect after a days site seeing just to relax taking in the breathtaking views of the city.

The staff at the ground floor concierge were extremely helpful with directions for the Hop on Hop bus, which is a must around Barcelona.

The hotel is very central for walking around City

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#23 of 519 in Barcelona
2,233 reviews
Eixample
Ohla Eixample
Ohla Eixample
#30 of 519 in Barcelona
415 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 519 in Barcelona
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#52 of 519 in Barcelona
1,484 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#13 of 519 in Barcelona
236 reviews
Eixample
The One Barcelona
The One Barcelona
#10 of 519 in Barcelona
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ohla Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ohla Barcelona

Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £175 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ohla Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohla Barcelona Hotel is a five-star boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city Barcelona, surrounded by three of the city's most popular sight-seeing and shopping areas: the Gothic Quarter, the Born and the Eixample. Inaugurated in February 2011, its location is perfect for tourism, shopping or business, with a fusion of calm serenity and the bustle of downtown Barcelona. The project has left untouched the building's historical facade from 1920 and other listed elements, including the main staircase, while giving the establishment a cutting-edge, minimalist interior design that combines various textures of black, white and oak wood. The building stands out for the sculpture on the facade by world-renowned artist, Frederic Amat. The hotel has 74 rooms, all equipped with a 40-inch TV screen and satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, telephone, safe box with room for a 17-inch laptop, adjustable lighting, individual thermostat, Egyptian cotton sheets, robe, slippers, kettle and minibar. Its culinary spaces are one of the highlights of the hotel, which locals consider great meeting points: Caelis restaurant, awarded with a Michelin star; La Plassohla, 'tapas' and small plates and Vistro 49, a boutique bar specialized in wines and cocktails. The terrace and the enclosed pool, the only one of its kind in Barcelona, have been called one of the best places to relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the city. Meeting rooms, gym, sauna and massage room, internet corner and parking garage are just some of the other services the department of Public Relations can offer to even further personalize each guest's stay and ensure it is an unforgettable experience. In short, a world of experiences that the whole Ohla Barcelona team offers guests looking for a hotel with charm and personality in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ohla Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ohla Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing