We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Ranked #47 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just spent 5 nights in a Junior Suite on the 5th floor at The Ohla and it was so fabulous!
Everything from private check in with beautful Cava as a welcome, to the amazing room with excellent air conditioning, to the best positioned hotel in Barcelona. We were able to walk everywhere and so close to the Gothic area. We also had an amazing dinner at Sauc and it was defintely 5 star!! we would not hesitate to stay again at The Ohla (and to be honest I am an ex travel agent who is incredibly fussy!!!) Thank you so much for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Junior Suite on 5th Floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 38Jane176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

wow - what an amazing time we had in barcelona all thanks to the wonderful staff at the Ohla Hotel. Nothing - nothing was problem - the concierge were fantastic !!! They know this town inside and out - we did not miss an inch of this town thanks to their knowledge. The hotel is very very cool, modern, comfortable - the junior suites are perfect and the location is smack bang in the centre of everything = HIGHLY recommend this hotel to everyone traveling to barcelona. Have fun - we did :)

Room Tip: Ask the concierge - trust me - they know everything and anything !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Seminyak_Snob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews here and it didn't disappoint! It was a fantastic location - in the heart of everything. The shopping is endless with a wide variety of shops from dollar stores to the highest end shops you can imagine - all within a few minutes walk. There is a lovely pool on the top floor overlooking the city, with lounge chairs and a bar surrounding it. The restaurant is great - top quality service and the hotel room was perfect. We highly recommend asking for one of the renovated rooms as they have missed nothing! Its a wee bit expensive but you only live once! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Unsatisfied with the service and level of another hotel I amended our booking to the Ohla hotel - upon arrival I knew i had made the right decision. Customer service was second to none all the staff were immaulclate, polite and very friend and not at all pretentious or stuffy which can be the case with some 5* establishments. The check in process was delightful as opposed to the normal dragged out routine, we were whisked to away to another area and offered a seat and complimentary glass of champagne in a private check in area. I really liked this personalised touch as felt it was a delightful way to start and end our vist. ( on check out my husband cheekily asked if we could get another and the request was met with of course! Which I thought was lovely) nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the level of training was of an incredible standard. In regards to the decor and furnishings they were elegant and minimal and the menu for the restaurant looked great - although we didn't dine there. The location of the hotel was perfect for us in the historic gothic quarter a mere hop and skip to the action. The building itself was a traditional building with only 75 rooms and the highlight was the roof top terrace; compromising of sofa's, sun beds and a modern small pool and bar. Note the pools in central barca aren't really pools per say and seeing some of the others - this is one you can actually swim in. Its glass structure is a great design feature and the views over the cathedral and barcelona in the distance are perfect. The room was a great size and included a seating area, lighting and very comfortable beds. In the evenings there was a turn down service and our room was always perfectly cleaned. We opted for of the quieter rooms at the back of the hotel room 202. There are a plethora of stunning tapas resto and shops nearby and i think I found the perfect hotel to experience this wonderful city in- will be back!

Room Tip: Option to opt for quitter room back of hotel rooom 202 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soniamiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I booked two nice suites at the Ohla for our Barcelona vacation and we were so pleased, that I could not have been "more" pleased!
The location was excellent, and the Cava at checkin was just what the doctor ordered :)

My son and his girlfriend traveled with us as well and they spent many hours watching the "flare bartender" master the art!
We ate at the Michelin Star restaurant in the hotel and we were ever so impressed. I'm an Executive Chef, so that does not always happen!

The housekeeping staff always went over and above. They had timing that was impeccable and always did a wonderful job.

The breakfast buffet in the morning always kept us energized to handle all the site seeing events in the beautiful city, and the staff along with the front desk/reception/ concierge was "perfect-perfect-perfect" :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Ohla hotel in Barcelona from 26th May - 30th May for our 30th wedding anniversary with our friends. We really enjoyed the stay and the hotel was everybit as good as all the reviews we read.

The location is central with the metro just opposite, restaurants and the harbour nearby and Las Rambalas close. The site seeing buses are only 10 minutes away. The quality of food in the hotel was extremely high and breakfast buffet style with lots of choice and whilst the cook breakfast was small portions it was equisitely presented and cooked. Julia (who has since left to come to England) was a delight and we had some great banter with her at breakfast. All the staff were helpful, happy and smiling and nothing was too much trouble. We had some rain during our stay and even umbrellas were provided by the receiption staff.

One morning at breakfast we witnessed a couple really lose their tempers at the staff (unwarranted might i add) and our hearts really went out to the waitress because it was disgusting behaviour and totally childish and uncalled for. But credit to your staff because they kept quiet til the rant was over, apologised and acted totally professionally. I was really impressed cos the guy deserved throwing out in the street to be honest. It would be nice if the management at the hotel tells the staff involved 'well done' and i hope you pass on my comments. Im glad to say the guest was neither English or Spanish!

Rooms in the hotel were immaculate, modern, tastefully decorated and much bigger than I was expecting. We had a standard room and the air con was fab but also the heating when we had a colder, rainy day. Mini bars are stacked to the brim and snacks also provided (thou obviously at a cost).

I had a massage whilst staying (the men were visiting the football stadium YAWN) so I rang down to reception and the concierge arranged a massuse for 40 mins later and it was a very good massage.

The rooftop pool area is lovely thou the water very cold but i imagine very refreshing when its very hot. We made regular use of the area and relaxed at the end of each afternoon with a drink and chat. Towels are provided.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bristolblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location is absolutely perfect to explore Barcelona. I would not hesitate to stay in this fab hotel again. Our room (a junior suite) was gorgeous, with big floor to ceiling windows on 3 sides with a view of the cathedral in the distance. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The cocktail bar is really great, we sampled more than a few, but my recommendation would be the Sauc (named after the restaurant) - sublime! We also ate in the tapas restaurant which was really good, fab service, very attentive. We spent our last late afternoon chilling by the rooftop pool overlooking the city. All in all, the the best hotel I have stayed in in Barcelona & I've stayed in a few.

The concierge were really helpful & polite. They gave us an indispensable tip for getting on the tourist bus at a less busy spot.

If there was one tiny tiny gripe, it would be the toiletries in the bathroom didn't feel like great quality considering it's a five star hotel, but this would never deter me from staying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 517 in Barcelona
2,200 reviews
Eixample
Ohla Eixample
Ohla Eixample
#29 of 517 in Barcelona
403 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#51 of 517 in Barcelona
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The One Barcelona
The One Barcelona
#12 of 517 in Barcelona
182 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 517 in Barcelona
1,430 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ohla Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ohla Barcelona

Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#41 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £154 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ohla Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohla Barcelona Hotel is a five-star boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city Barcelona, surrounded by three of the city's most popular sight-seeing and shopping areas: the Gothic Quarter, the Born and the Eixample. Inaugurated in February 2011, its location is perfect for tourism, shopping or business, with a fusion of calm serenity and the bustle of downtown Barcelona. The project has left untouched the building's historical facade from 1920 and other listed elements, including the main staircase, while giving the establishment a cutting-edge, minimalist interior design that combines various textures of black, white and oak wood. The building stands out for the sculpture on the facade by world-renowned artist, Frederic Amat. The hotel has 74 rooms, all equipped with a 40-inch TV screen and satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, telephone, safe box with room for a 17-inch laptop, adjustable lighting, individual thermostat, Egyptian cotton sheets, robe, slippers, kettle and minibar. Its culinary spaces are one of the highlights of the hotel, which locals consider great meeting points: Caelis restaurant, awarded with a Michelin star; La Plassohla, 'tapas' and small plates and Vistro 49, a boutique bar specialized in wines and cocktails. The terrace and the enclosed pool, the only one of its kind in Barcelona, have been called one of the best places to relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the city. Meeting rooms, gym, sauna and massage room, internet corner and parking garage are just some of the other services the department of Public Relations can offer to even further personalize each guest's stay and ensure it is an unforgettable experience. In short, a world of experiences that the whole Ohla Barcelona team offers guests looking for a hotel with charm and personality in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ohla Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ohla Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing