We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Ranked #41 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in Barcelona”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked this for my Wife's 40th. We were not disappointed. Superb hotel within walking distance of all the main sites and ideal for exploring the old town. Junior suite room was spacious and comfortable and the staff could not have been more polite and helpful.

The rooftop bar and pool was the icing on the cake with great views across the city.

Would definitely stay there again to spend time in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: The junior suites are worth the extra due to the increased space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carentan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    370
    107
    25
    20
See reviews for
169
1,020
46
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break at Ohla Hotel.

The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Barcelona with only a few minutes walk from some of the big squares, las ramblas and shopping areas.

We stayed in a design room which was a lovely size and the bed was huge and extremely comfy. The wardrobe had plenty storage space and the shower was fantastic. Check in was a breeze and we were given a lovely glass of chilled cava upon arrival. Unfortunately our room was not ready when we arrived at 2PM but we only had to wait for an hour and went straight up to the rooftop pool while we waited – this was the best part of the hotel for me -. It boasted beautiful views of the city and the pool was a perfect size to chill in the sunshine with sun loungers and large sofa areas. I noticed a few reviewers complain about not getting a seat but we were always able to get and we stayed over a busy weekend.

The staff at the hotel were all lovely and a special recommendation to the Concierge who were fantastic, all of their restaurants they suggested were 5 star and in particular recommended one of the best Seafood Restaurants in Barcelona where we had one of the greatest meals of our life. The hotel also gave us a complimentary bottle of Cava for my partners birthday which was a lovely treat.

My only fault of the hotel would be the price of the cocktails averaging at 16 euros per cocktail. This was quite excessive considering some of the bars nearby sold cocktails for half the price. However, some of the cocktails in the bar downstairs were worth the price as they were made by a world-class cocktail maker.

During our stay we also got the chance to take part in the Cocktail Making Class which was absolutely fabulous and worth every penny!

I would definitely stay at Ohla next time I visit Barcelona and will highly recommend to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Wow! Well worth the money. From the moment we walked in the service was brilliant! Room was on the small side but nice. Roof top bar views are amazing and staff can t do enough for you. I really don t mind paying for somewhere where this attention to service and detail is this good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank melyn27042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and were very pleased with the hotel location, room cleanliness and comfort, staff attentiveness, and overall experience.

The rooftop pool is pretty but small, and the views from it are spectacular. I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and we were so excited based on pictures and reviews. However, for the price, I wasn't overly impressed with the detail. I've stayed in other hotels around the same price point and the difference, and what i expect from a 5 star hotel, is a real attention to detail - little touches like chocolates, exceptional service and a concierge who is tapped into all the little gems.
The service here was hit and miss.
The concierge recommended one of the most touristy spots in Barcelona for lunch and it was awful. We didn't bother asking for any more recommendations.
Our first morning, we headed to breakfast but had to wait 10 minutes for a table as it was full. The food offering was OK but we'd had similar offerings in 3 star hotels in other parts of spain.
The rooftop bar and pool (a major reason why we booked this hotel over others) was closed from 10pm on the Friday night for a function which was also really disappointing.
We had a complimentary bottle of cava included in the Mr&Mrs Smith booking but had to chase it up as they had 'forgotten' and hadn't mentioned it.
Also, when we were checking out, the service was rushed and there was no enquiry about whether we enjoyed our stay we were just told the bill and goodbye.
The positives were a great bed and great location so we could walk everywhere.
Would choose other 5 star hotels in Barcelona over this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milksugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annaalbuixech, Director General at Hotel Ohla Barcelona, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Let me start by extending our most sincere apologies for the fact that your stay at Ohla was not as you expected. As you quite rightly said, we have good reviews published by our guests, because we strive to exceed the expectations of all our guests every day. For that reason, I am very surprised especially with your comments about the concierge department and reception department because they are two of our best-scored services. For that reason, I would appreciate if you could give me the dates when you stayed with us in order to find out what exactly happened and which event we had in the terrace, which did not allow opening the terrace to our guests. I would like to write you an answer with all the details. No excuses but more information because I deeply regret that we were unable to offer the service you expected.

Meanwhile, I remain at your disposal for anything you may need.

Yours sincerely,

Anna Albuixech
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We came back for our anniversary after spending part of our honeymoon here. The suite we booked was beautiful, no different to last time and I honestly cannot fault it. The food in the brasserie is great, a very different spin on traditional tapas and the wine list is good. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. You have to stay there , swim in the pool, and then go and walk around the old town. Truly lovely...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you like minimalism and ultra modern, then this hotel won't disappoint. I prefer something with a bit more character. The hotel was very clean and stylish, but everywhere was so black! Our room was nice (and mostly black!). A huge bed with open plan bathroom. The shower was not very private as the glass was not obscured, but my friend was kind enough to turn the other way :)
The staff were of the highest quality (to be expected in a 5 star hotel). They were really kind, friendly and helpful. The rooftop terrace is lovely with great views. 3.50 euros for a glass of water is a bit steep though.
Breakfast was nice, but I've experienced better in other 5 star hotels. You have to get your own tea and coffee and can only order one cooked item, if you want more you have to pay more!
Location was really good, short walk from the Cathedral, La Rambla, The Picasso Museum and the lovely Born District.
Don't be put off, it is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a more private shower - if they have any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hertfordshireSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
1,892 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
849 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Eixample
Ohla Eixample
Ohla Eixample
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
296 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ohla Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ohla Barcelona

Property: Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ohla Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohla Barcelona Hotel is a five-star boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city Barcelona, surrounded by three of the city's most popular sight-seeing and shopping areas: the Gothic Quarter, the Born and the Eixample. Inaugurated in February 2011, its location is perfect for tourism, shopping or business, with a fusion of calm serenity and the bustle of downtown Barcelona. The project has left untouched the building's historical facade from 1920 and other listed elements, including the main staircase, while giving the establishment a cutting-edge, minimalist interior design that combines various textures of black, white and oak wood. The building stands out for the sculpture on the facade by world-renowned artist, Frederic Amat. The hotel has 74 rooms, all equipped with a 40-inch TV screen and satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, telephone, safe box with room for a 17-inch laptop, adjustable lighting, individual thermostat, Egyptian cotton sheets, robe, slippers, kettle and minibar. Its culinary spaces are one of the highlights of the hotel, which locals consider great meeting points: Caelis restaurant, awarded with a Michelin star; La Plassohla, 'tapas' and small plates and Vistro 49, a boutique bar specialized in wines and cocktails. The terrace and the enclosed pool, the only one of its kind in Barcelona, have been called one of the best places to relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the city. Meeting rooms, gym, sauna and massage room, internet corner and parking garage are just some of the other services the department of Public Relations can offer to even further personalize each guest's stay and ensure it is an unforgettable experience. In short, a world of experiences that the whole Ohla Barcelona team offers guests looking for a hotel with charm and personality in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ohla Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ohla Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing