We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meson Castilla Atiram
Ranked #219 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was a homely sort of cosy hotel. Carved wood and rustic painted furniture. The room and en suite was very cosy: mini bar, TV and air conditioned. Fine if you don't mind sidling round the bed and do not want to look out of the window. No idea what level of room we had, but realised as we glanced next door we had a smaller bed, smaller room and they had a view! Our window opened onto a skylight with just other windows all opening onto it. I had foolishly hoped for the terrace mentioned in other reviews.
Breakfast buffet was starring a delicious tortilla, yummy. Otherwise hard boiled eggs, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese and sweet pastries, coffee and juices (ordinary). The dining room and terrace where we ate these were really special.

The best recommendation is the position of Hotel Meson Castilla. The street is rather unassuming to put it mildly, but it is between Place Catalunya and Universitat; walk in the opposite direction and you are in La Rambla in about 10 minutes. Convenient!

Room Tip: Our room was 246 - small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stCelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    380
    155
    34
    15
See reviews for
204
318
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

After being stranded with nowhere to go due to a cancellation in another place, our taxi driver recommended this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised when we got there.The staff was very helpful and accommodating , the rooms were clean and comfortable,mini fridge,Tv,armoir and a very clean bath..and even tough the rooms are small, it was all we needed.
The location is also another plus, being steps away from the Rambla de catalunya where you have shops , restaurants and entertainment.the breakfast wich is included, consisted of a very good buffet with different meats, cheeses,yogurts, juices and fresh fruits Overall , i would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: ROOms to the inside of the house have less noise from the street bars and restaurant in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having travelled in 7 continents (yes, including Antarctica), I can't recommend this little hotel too highly -- for its ideal central location, utterly delightful decor, spotless cleanliness throughout, excellent service. We were 5 in grown-up family, had a 'suite' of 3 rooms at the back, 2 of which had balconies, and my spacious single had a large double bed; bathrooms lovely too, and breakfast arranged so that 'equipment' already on a tray -- no balancing a plate as you pick and choose, and wonderful coffee. If you want a niggle, no tea making in room, so use machine in lobby and carry cup to bed with you. Reason they have only 2 stars (we wondered, and so will you) is apparently that they no longer have the big restaurant that used to occupy the top floor (so eat out evenings!), and wheelchair-unfriendly (?) corridors failed to tick the box.

Room Tip: We followed reviewers' tips for quiet rear rooms, so can't judge front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just back from an amazing break in Barcelona. Booked this hotel through British airway package and It is a very quaint hotel reminiscent of a bygone era, furnished in a typical Spanish hotel of years ago, but it is well kept and spotlessly clean, comfy beds and sheets and towels changed daily. We were in a room at the front initially but due to a ceiling leak in the bathroom we were told we may need to moved room so asked for one at the back because as people have said it was noisy from nearby bars and people jumping about on skateboards. We got back from a day out given our original room key and when we got there it was empty! We had been moved but girl on reception didn't know. Got our new room key, and all our things were neatly put away in our new room, at the back of the hotel, great service. I would recommend this hotel but with a couple of caveats. It is by the university, there is a lot of graffiti around the area, and as I mentioned you are surrounded by skater enthusiasts. The other downside is there are no coffee, tea making facilities in the room nor is it possible to get a hot drink other than at breakfast. Continental breakfast was ok and it was lovely sitting on the terrace with a crossaint and coffee. Barcelona is an amazing place, but take loads of money as it's not cheap. This hotel is in a great location, and for what we paid was good value for money, especially considering the cost of everything else. It's a few minutes stroll from La Ramblas and placa de catalunya, and felt safe to wander even at night.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back, 572 was large and quiet, we even left window open at night for cool air ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a little gem located a 5 minute stroll away from the famous La Ramblas which is the centre of the Barcelona action. We were a little worried about staying here because of Its 2 star rating but were pleasantly surprised by the size of the hotel and the convenience of the area. The interior decor is a little old fashioned but It was a genuine authentic spanish property that oozed history and charm with its big oak chairs in the lobby and the high ceilings throughout. The room itself was bigger than we expected; I shared with two other girls so there were three single beds in the room but we didn't feel cramped at all! The high ceiling and long bay windows brought plenty of light into the room making It much more spacious, and the bathroom was a decent size too. Reception was 24 hours which was good, we felt the staff could have been a bit more friendly when they addressed us but when we needed help with booking a trip or changing money they were quite attentive. 5 euros for a safe for the three nights which we felt was great! The breakfast buffet was a bit limited but we were able to enjoy cereals, fresh fruits, pastries and bread with a choice of cheese, ham or salami. No cooked breakfast on offer but we expected this. The dining room lead out onto a terraced area which is where we ate each morning and it was very quiet. We would have liked a pool at the hotel but for the price we paid for the three nights we knew we couldn't have everything!

Overall we enjoyed our holiday and the Meson Castilla provided an excellent base for exploring the sights of this charming Spanish city.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JourneyswithJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked this hotel based on previous reviews and so glad we did! It is in the most convenient location - just a few minutes walk from the tube station and Las Ramblas. Wonderful, friendly staff and the room far exceeded our expectation. We loved the décor....very fashionable again right now! We were on the top floor with a balcony giving a fantastic view and a real sun trap. The trip was a treat for our 10 year old to watch Barcelona v Athletico Madrid at the Camp Nou and getting there was an easy tube ride and short walk. On another day we took a walk to the beach (probably a good half hour) and caught a bus back!!! Lovely city to wander around - amazing restaurants nearby - super little weekend break and fabulous football atmosphere for one extremely happy 10 year old!!

Room Tip: top floor has balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelFelixSamGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Went here with 3 friends for a city break. The hotel was a short walk from La Rambla, for the shops and restaurants, and Placa Catalunya, where the city tour and airport busses go from.
The hotel was charmingly old fashioned, we had a triple room and there was plenty of space for us all plus we had the bonus of a balcony. The room was clean and we had to smile when our pyjamas were folded in differnt ways and arranged on top of the bed. The bathroom was spacious too though be warned, we had to turn on the actual bathroom light for the hairdryer to work.
The continental breakfast was self service and there was a good selection.
There was a safe in reception which cost €5 and we left our bags in a locker on the Went here with 3 friends for a city break. The hotel was a short walk from La Rambla, for the shops and restaurants, and Placa Catalunya, where the city tour and airport busses go from.
The hotel was charmingly old fashioned, we had a triple room and there was plenty of space for us all plus we had the bonus of a balcony. The room was clean and we had to smile when our pyjamas were folded in differnt ways and arranged on top of the bed. The bathroom was spacious though be warned, we had to turn on the actual bathroom light for the hairdryer to work.
The continental breakfast was self service and there was a good selection.
There was a safe in reception which cost €5 for our stay and we left our bags in a locker on our last day which cost €1.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Our triple room was 576.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esemar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#222 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#221 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#335 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#205 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#371 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Hotel Via Augusta
#177 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Castilla Atiram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Castilla Atiram

Property: Meson Castilla Atiram
Address: Valldonzella, 5, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#159 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Meson Castilla Atiram 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meson Castilla Atiram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Castilla Hotel
Meson Castilla Barcelona
Hotel Meson Castilla Barcelona
Meson Castilla Atiram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing