We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grums
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B-Hotel(Barcelona)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$530
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expo Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expo Barcelona
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveller rating
419
563
183
51
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
563
183
51
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla ramblacafe next doorsteam room and saunaparal lelresidential areaspa facilitiesminute walknice hotelcruise portnearest metromini fridgesmall poolquiet locationhotel restaurantsinkramblaslidl
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

When we first arrived to the hotel I thought it was far away from everything... not to mention that we walked the wrong way trying to get to Las Ramblas... but the location is actually really really good! It's not a long walk to Las Ramblas or the port or anything. I would be a bit wary about walking at night though, nothing happened to us but it's a foreign country where we don't speak the language so who knows.

The hotel itself was lovely, we were pleasantly surprised when we got there considering we were used to all the small rooms in Europe. These rooms were HUGE (I see other people say that they were small but ours was massive... I don't know if they upgraded us as we were on our honeymoon though).

The people at the front desk were very lovely and very helpful... again, you don't find that everywhere in Europe. I would definitely recommend this hotel... if you do stay here I suggest that you go behind the hotel and walk up the track... it was a nice walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Currently at the hotel using their free computers to write this reveiw while i wait for my taxi to the airport. Me and my boyfriend are a young couple and this was our first time in Barcelona. We was staying at this hotel for 3 nights.

It has been fantastic great service from the moment we walked through the door. Easy checkin and then we entered our room it was spotless. Great size bedroom and an amazing bathroom. The shower was MASSIVE !!. The maids cleaned our room every single day and gave us free bottles of water.

Alot of reveiws have mentioned the location, Which ok its not in the best of area´s but its only a 5 minute walk from Las Ramblas, Harbour and sea front. It was perfect location for me and my partner.

I have enjoyed every moment of our stay and would recommened this hotel to anyone. I can´t comment on the food and drink in the hotel as we always ate out and had drinks else where while we was on our adventures.

Don´t just not book this hotel due to the location as its perfect near everything and the hotel is a little gem out of the hussle and bussle of the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 401.. Lovely big room with an amazing big shower. Also FREE WIFI
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iloveholidays082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a long weekend, staying at Grums. The rooms in the hotel are great - excellent size, comfortable beds, stylish and with a great sink/dressing mirror. The hotel is also just a short walk away from La Ramblas. The staff were the problem here. On our first night, we visited the hotel bar. We were shortly joined by 2 other couples. The room information book advised that between certain hours, free tapas was served with drinks at the bar. After waiting for 10 minutes for somebody to come to the floor to serve the three couples, the waitress brought around 2 dishes, and presented them to the other two couples. We had all bought drinks, we had provided her with our room number, so were flummoxed at the service.

On returning to our hotel on our second day, we noticed a few (small but expensive) items had gone missing from the room. Not wanting to make assumptions, we spent an hour turning the room upside down. We could not find the items anywhere. The towels in the room had been replaced, however the bed had not been made. Disappointed and alarmed, we reported to reception. The member of staff made a note and said he would speak to the head of house keeping. As we did not hear anything more from any staff, we went down to reception the next day. A different member of staff appeared, and simply said "the house keeper said she did not notice anything." They barely made a note of what had gone missing, they did not ask the value, a description of the item or what times we had been out of the room. We have simply been left with the task of replacing the items at a cost to ourselves. The impression we got was that the staff did not care in the least bit. There was not so much as an apology, or a promise to follow it up in future.

The breakfast was okay, again, the only issue was with the staff. The restaurant was full, so we sat down in the breakfast buffet area. It was difficult to get the attention of the woman working, as she was walking around on her mobile. As we had sat in the buffet area, there was no cutlery, which she seemed to decide we were at fault for, as they had not set the tables in this area, just the restaurant. We saw her say the same thing to other guests sat in the same area, but with limited seating in the restaurant, there was no other choice. The hot food on offer (bacon, sausage, scrambed egg and beans) was kept under a hot plate, but was cold within a couple of minutes of sitting down to eat.

The taxi driver dropping us at the hotel warned us about the area, and told us to be extra vigilant at night. Although we had no trouble during the evening, I would advise any guest to be more weary of the staff. Put everything in your case and lock it, as items including make up went missing, which is the last thing you would think to store away. (But when the brands include YSL and MAC, there is a high cost of replacing the items!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LB2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_13, Director General at Hotel Grums, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Customer,

Honestly, isn’t strange that you lose your personal belongings when travelling.

Staff cleaning the rooms has as a rule which is not to touch personal things from the customers but this was a difficult matter in your case. At the time to clean your room, your bed was completely full of personal items, clothes and many other personal things..... Bathroom and the rest of the room all in a mess. The house keeping required my presence before she decided start cleaning your room because the disorder was so exaggerated that exceeded the limits of what we can say normal attitude in a hotel room.
My decision was to clean all the room but without making the bed, in order to avoid touching certain personal items.
I have to say that anyone is free of their own order or disorder and that the room is a private space. Also I have to say that rule number one for all of our staff is discretion and prudence, but on the other side I can’t tolerate free accusations without any evidences.

Breakfast time: staff has a deck for internal communication and this deck could look like a mobile but it’s not.

Finally, I want to mention that the reviews on Trip Advisor about our staff has a high score and anyone may read that one of the strengths of our hotel is the service and care provided by our staff.

Saddens me to think there are people like you that leave warnings accusing the staff of thieves without any evidence and respect for their personal feelings.

I invite you to be more self-criticism and certainly on your next travel you would lose fewer things.

Due to the severity of these comments, the hotel will consider legal actions.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Mackay
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We were given an "upgraded" room with balcony. The room was small but clean. The shower
was dangerous. Had only a half wall to keep water within shower boundary. Not well designed nor practical to say the least. Front desk staff were very helpful answering questions. Bed was very comfortable and appreciated after hours flying. The bakery next door was great for a quick coffee and donut in the morning. The supermarket right around the corner helped keep costs down picking up bottled water, sodas and wine/beer. The immediate area wasn't impressive but not too far from Las Ramblas (10 minute walk) and also close to the dock for our cruise. We were able to walk to the Columbus monument and get a bus for 2.50 euros each to our ship.
Overall, we found hotels and other costs in Barcelona to be very expensive compared to home (USA). So, for price paid, our expectations were higher but overall Hotel Grums is adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A very nice hotel location not so good but once in the hotel it is very nice . Has a very nice pool in the spa area . We had Tapas as part of our deal and a glass of house red which was very nice. The breakfast was very good and included some very nice local cava. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews