We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff & Great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grums Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Ranked #199 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff & Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night for a nice break from the noisy hostel we were staying in. Upon arrival reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room was lovely! Large comfy bed, big windows, TV, safe and hairdryer in the room and 2 bottles of water in the mini fridge - very welcoming in the heat! Read a comment complaining there was a sink in the bedroom... Not exactly sure why that's so bad.. It came in useful for us as I could brush my teeth and take my makeup off while my boyfriend was in the shower! Plus it's outside the bathroom it's not as if it's in the bed with you. The rooms are stylish and if that means a little different with some quirks then so be it!

The hotel isn't in a 'rough' neighbourhood as some people are saying. Yeah ok there was one or two dodgy looking people walking around at night but you get that in every area of the city!!

There is a kids play park at the bottom of the street and the local kids were playing in it til 11pm so it's hardly a bad neighbourhood! The streets are quite dark at night so maybe that would make some people apprehensive about walking about at night. But with the amount of tourists here it's hard to feel unsafe. Plus you do not have to walk down dodgy side streets as one reviewer stated. You can walk along busy main streets to Las Ramblas or pretty much anywhere!

Had an amazing sleep, comfy bed and quiet residential area so no noise!!

Location is excellent - 10 mins walk to either las ramblas or the seafront. Ramblas is pretty over rated, you will have a much better time soaking up the culture in the gothic quarter or el born. Not as busy and also cheaper for food and drinks!

Accommodation in Barcelona is pricey. So considering that and the overall value of the hotel I would definitely recommend it and if we go back to Barcelona we wouldn't even hesitate in booking this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APaterson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    518
    167
    49
    27
See reviews for
301
530
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Hotel located around 15 working minutes from the Rambla street. The Hotel lobby is nice and the reception staff very kind and polite.
The room is average with a nice bathroom (Shower only). the room missing a workstation desk.
The breakfast reasonable but without vision and creativity.

The Hotel offering free car parking!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ofer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here twice. Good hotel with its own parking. Rooms are quit spacious if you choose the right one (next to the elevator). WiFi is very slow, but it works. Location is not that great, feels a bit offside. But the same standard in the center would probably cost double... Overall I liked that hotel, much more then a lot of others I have stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms to the courtyard and next to the elevator seem to be quit spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsina1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

For my first trip to Barcelona I decided to book a hotel close to the water and La Ramblas, and the location of Hotel Grums turned out to be perfect, on a side street five minute walk from both. We chose an attic terrace, for the outside space and were not disappointed, a nice spacious room, quite funky, and an enormous balcony with sun loungers, easy chairs and a stable. It even had an electronic retractable roof, which was handy and funky. The beds were well comfy, fab air conditioning, and bath robes and towels etc.
The hotel advertises a spa, which was a main feature for me when booking. They have a small pool, a sauna and steam room and a nice bucket on a rope, which makes for great fun, but you do have to book your time in the spa, it's not just a case of going when you fancy it. That means it's never packed, but it does put you on a bit of a timetable. Oh and there's a running machine and two bikes in the tiny gym, but it's a bit warm down there so I found the gym room unbearable for running. I tried to book a massage by email about four times with the hotel prior to arrival but they never responded. Luckily I managed to do it in person when I was there and the massage was fine.
There is a large outside terrace for breakfast and dinner, we only tried breakfast, which was reasonably priced, but not great by way of choice or quality.
The staff were very polite and the place is spotlessly clean but could do with a bit of maintain acne, it's only three years old and I think just needs a handy man to go round tightening up some screws and slapping a bit of paint around, but generally the decor is lovely.
I'd use the hotel again and recommend it for value and comfort, plus location.

Room Tip: I'd go for an attic terrace, there are only 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely little hotel, tucked away on the Barcelona back streets. Located close to the bottom of La Ramblas, the room was great and offered a perfect hub for our exploration of this great city. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_13, Director General at Hotel Grums Barcelona, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente,

En primer lugar darle las gracias por dedicar un tiempo a darnos su opinión sobre su estancia.

Comentarle que a raíz de sus observaciones sobre el desayuno procedimos en su día a revisar la calidad de los productos citados, introduciendo mejoras y algunos cambios.

Esperamos poder saludarle de nuevo en nuestro hotel en un futuro próximo.

Atentamente,

Mark Mackay
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. It's far away from the main drag to not be noisy but near enough to get there in less than 10 minutes walking. The hotel was clean and comfortable and has all needs covered in terms of food / drink and relaxing. The hotel Spa is rather small and comes at an additional cost which I think is not ideal. We had dinner there one night and it was adequate not memorable though. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#94 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#138 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#146 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#178 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grums Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grums Barcelona

Property: Hotel Grums Barcelona
Address: Carrer Palaudaries 26, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grums Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 stars Hotel in Barcelona, located in one of the most emblematic and central zones of the city, Hotel Grums is a great option for discovering the charms of Barcelona.Charming, modern and cosmopolitan, involved in culture, arts and the most cultural and representing movements of Barcelona. All this reflected in every single room, where our client will be able to discover a part of Barcelona.Barcelona is art, design, avant-garde, trend, fashion... And Hotel Grums is Very Barcelona.Its perfect location, in one of the most active zones in the city, makes Hotel Grums a perfect choice to spend some days with all your family, in couple or in a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Grums Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grums Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing