We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, worth finding”
Review of El Bitxo

El Bitxo
Ranked #1,248 of 9,507 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: El Born / La Ribera
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, worth finding”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is down a side alley near the Paula de la Musica. For some it is off the main track, but to me that's a good thing and well worth finding. For us it was close to our hotel on Via Laietana so very convenient for great food.

It is small, different and with great food and atmosphere, lovely eclectic surroundings and friendly service. I love watching people standing at the doorways of these places, deciding to step in or not, (wondering what their criteria is) and in this place I wanted to shout, "come in, it's great"

Don't go here if you want predictable tourist food. Go here if you want something relaxed, authentic and good quality. The marinated fish was excellent, as was the leg of duck with meat falling off the bone. Not the cheapest place, though we did have plenty of drinks, but also not a rip off. Would visit again.

Well worth a visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellamyonabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    97
    21
    10
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Real Find”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Were lucky enough to find a table here right before a performance at the Palau de la Musica Catalan. El Bixto completed an authentic Barcelona experience.

The place is a hole in the wall with the menu on slips of paper tacked to the wall. There is the bar, a few tables and a few tables of bar height. We sat at the latter.

The service is brusque but efficient. In our experience, most service in Catalonia was that way.

However, whatever the decor and service, the food was exceptional. One of the best tapas experiences we had. Simply delicious. We ordered smoked salmon and some large fish platter we saw another customer eating. Superb!!

Although, all of our guidebooks recommended it and we were pleasantly surprised they had room for us, we were nervous when we saw the place.

45 minutes later we felt we had experienced a true Barcelona gem.

When we saw it we also a little nervous.

Half

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiftiesgirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Vintage tapas bar in Barcelona!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We discover this place at the end of our trip. It is a tiny and charming tapad bar in front of Palau de la Musica in the gotic area of Barcelona. The deco is stunning, very vintage. The service is great, welcoming and conversation engaged. The tapas are very different from the tipical tapas from Spain. Although they are delicious and even better! The price is affordable and you will enjoy every single minute in this place!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
“Beautiful place and great food”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Food and service are great and what I like the most is the smell of the fresh flower that they put in every table :)
Big Hugs from Iceland
Erna

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamenMomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Grab a table if you can”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The tapas here is wonderful. The chilli con carne is to die for. Service is impeccable. Very accommodating of kids. Highly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryfromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Bitxo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Bitxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing