We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bland Tex Mex food, to avoid!”
Review of La Hacienda

La Hacienda
Ranked #1,931 of 9,698 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$15 - US$38
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Born / La Ribera
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very bland Tex Mex food, to avoid!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This place is often packed and looks pretty good, so I decided to give it a try. The burrito I ordered was huge and reasonably priced... the only problem is that it didn't have much taste, it was very bland... really bad. I've been to many Mexican and Tex Mex restaurants in Barcelona, and this is by far the worst one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeromeD_Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    116
    50
    31
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top place in top neighbourhood!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

This place is located in the nice neighbourhoud 'el born'. Me and my girlfriend loved this area be cause of the nice small streets and good atmosphere. This bar fitted perfectly in the picture. Friendly quick service and good quality for rather cheap prices! Good atmosphere, loved this placed and its foods/drinks. I had the combo (variation of small dishes) and a san fransisco cocktail (non alcoholic). My girlfriend had the queso frito and tequila sangria. All of it was perfect and presented in a nice attractive way. Top place!

Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food & great staff.”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife & I have been here quite a few times, mainly at first I must confess because they make great Mojitos. But when we eventually got around to trying the food, we found that it's pretty good also. I don't profess to be any sort of expert on Mexican food but everything we have tried has been really tasty & excellent value with huge portions (be careful you don't order too much food accidently). The staff are really friendly (they're great actually) & it's a fun place to spend some time, so I can happily recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I'm from Southern California and.....”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I've been in Barcelona for 3 weeks an have been dying for some good Mexican food! I ran into an American woman walking through Montjuic Cemetery and she told me to come here! LOL. So thank you teacher from Michigan! I ordered the enchiladas. Three enchiladas, Spanish rice and what looked like re-fried black beans. All were excellent! The enchiladas had a little bit different taste than what I am used to, but that was okay. If you are down in this area and want some good Mexican food similar to what we get in the USA, stop here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely food great atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant during the day when exploring and went back for a meal on the night. The nachos with chilli and cheese were lovely and so with the fahitas but the starter was quite big so we shared it and we could have shared the fahitas too as the portions are big!! Would go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C0wchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Hacienda also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing