We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but had a few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great but had a few issues”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Cons:
Some appliances did not work (eg microwave/grill and dryer). Ended up blowing a fuse when trying to use the toaster despite using the manual provided.
Not all sockets worked
Staff didn’t mention “Eric’s Corner” where there are free amenities for residents – we spent a while trying to get some basics for tea/coffee near reception but the receptionist at the time failed to mention this at all.
One room had mattresses on the floor without a bed frame – mattresses can move around if tossing and turning! Also this room lacked AC!
Generally a lack of storage space
WiFi was adequate
The lift was quite small-barely enough room for four adults and our luggage
Only first 5 floors have balconies (can't specify when booking online!)
Only one full size mirror which was on the inside of the cupboard door.

Pros:
We were able to store our luggage in the lockers (uses 1€) which fitted 4 hand luggage sized bags (probably 5 max!)
Good location – nearby shops (bakeries, Barclays bank) and metro and trains
Spacious although smaller than anticipated in comparison to other local apartments I have stayed in.
Helpful staff – helped out when appliances were not working
Provided a useful user manual for all appliances (although the instructions for the washing machine/ dryer and grill were different models!) and information about the local area.
Very clean and fresh design
Comfortable mattresses
Spare pillows and a chair
Large safe (good for Macbook air)
Computer available 24hours with internet - very useful
Overall, I would recommend the apartment as some of the cons were room specific. But from my experience I would give it 3.5 stars

Room Tip: Only first few floors have balconies (I think it was the first 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob191209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Director de Recepción at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Rob,

First of all we thank you for your review, we are grateful for your sincere opinion so we can work on it and improve ourselfs.

We will check our appliances to see if everything works and change the ones that doesn't.

From no one our staff is obligated to mention Eric's Free Corner, you are right that it is a shame you spent time figuring out were to buy the things when we had it at reception.

Our lift is historic, it is small and slow but it is so nice! It gives our building his ancient and romantic touch!

Thank you for mentioning our good location: surrounded by supermarkets, a metro station and restaurants, our lockers: wich are so efficient when you do not want to carry around you luggage and enjoy the city; our staff: they work very hard and improve theirselves day by day; and the design, comfort and equipement.

We apologize for the inconviniences you had and hope you had a nice stay although them.

Kindest regards,

Chiara Ismay De Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    306
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
643
212
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed with our 2 children in July. The apartment was clean and well equipped with washing machine and dishwasher. Reception employees were very helpful and pleased to help in any way.
The only complaints were that the bed settee was uncomfortable for anyone but a child to sleep on and housekeeping only consisted of removing rubbish and supplying fresh towels but no cleaning. We got it free as we stayed over 5 days but you can pay for it which I don't think is worth it. We also got locked out the apartment one night as the keys were cancelled and it took quite a while to sort everything out, when I complained the next day I was told that it had only taken 10 minutes to sort out not the hour that I said, therefore, insinuating that I was lying so that was upsetting. Overall a good stay if you overlook the above points.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Director de Recepción at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we want to thank you for chosen Eric Vökel Boutique Apartments for your stay in Barcelona.

We want to apologize that fact that you had issues coming into the apartment. And we also are sorry you had the idea we insinuated you were lying, we will talk with our staff.

We took note of your remark regarding the bed and we will see if we can change them for better ones in the future.

Thank you tough for mentioning the equipment, cleaninless and our employees. We work very hard to satisfy our clients in the best way posible.

Do not hesitate to contact us for anything else you may need.

Kindest Regards,

Chiara Ïsmay De Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The apartment was nice and clean, located in the center and walking distance to most attractions in Barcelona. The employees at the receptions were very nice and service minded, especially Carlos. We can recomend these appartments in Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TamNygen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Director de Recepción at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for chosen Eric Vökel Gran Via Suites for your stay in Barcelona.

I hope that you had a nice trip and you enjoyed really your stay.

Thank you also for mentioning Carlos, he sends regards!

Do not hesitate to contact me for anything else you may need.

Kindest Regards,

Chiara Ismay De Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I will start out by thanking your very patient and professional front reception employees.
Carlos and Emma added a special touch to our recent 12 night stay. They had wonderful, gracious, and accomodating attitudes in assisting my family in insuring we were comfortable and in need of replenishing supplies for our comfort during our stay. They are excellent at their multi tasking positions.

Apartment was a good size and a comfortable fit for the three of us. Nice to have the large outdoor patio area. Beds were comfortable and good to have the shading on glass windows.

Very nice neighborhood with lots of local family owed food markets. Close to subway and trains.
We enjoyed the various offerings at the front reception area.

Room Tip: A 2 bedroom is perfect. It has a nice comfortable full/queen bed that lead out to the large patio sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Director de Recepción at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Debra!

Thank you for this amazing review.

Carlos and Emma say hi to you! Our clients go first and we will help them with everything that is in our hands.

We are glad to see you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed the Terrace of Apartment Nº15.

Our location is indeed great, not in the centre but next to a metro station and surrounded by restaurants, bars, supermarkets and more.

Please, contact us for anything you need!

We would love to see you back.

Kindest regards,

Chiara Ismay De Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We visited Barcelona in late July and try and stay in apartments. We have two teenage daughters. The location, facilities and staff were all excellent. The property was very well kept and had a good standard of equipment. In addition, not having to worry about washing soap, etc.. was a good. The location was great and the metro was next to the apartment. We suffer from allergies, so the not having carpets and blinds instead of curtains was an added bonus. The front desk was key in our picking this property as my spouse and daughters arrived ahead of me and to have someone to give them the keys and greet them was very good as other properties we looked at did not have not have any front desk. The only very minor remarks would be to have some hooks to hang cloths in the bedrooms and bathroom (which was very clean and functional) and manuals to operate the washing machine.

I will definitely stay at their properties in other cities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RSyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Director de Recepción at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear RYsal,

We thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor.

We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay and thanl you for mentioning the location, staff and equipment.

We do our best to satisty our clients and work very hard on that.

Do not hesitate to contact us for anything you may need, we will be glad to help and asist you.

Kindest regards,

Chiara Ismay De Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We loved the hotel. The front desk staff could not have been more accommodating. If your plans include having a car or another mode of transportation I recommend this hotel. We walked and used the train so we needed to be more central.
This hotel was very clean and excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Director de Recepción at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Isa,

We thank you for your great review.

The location is indeed not central, but just on 15 minutes walking distance of the city centre, and by metro it is just 5 minutes.

I really appreciate you mention the staff, we work very hard to improve ourselves and our clients always go first.

Kindest regards,

Chiara Ismay De Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The apartment was located right next to the metro station which was convenient. It is in a nice neighborhood close to a large shopping area and good dinning areas. We faced the street so it was noisy due to the traffic so I would suggest getting an apartment in the rear. The apartment was two bedrooms and the second bedroom had two single beds which was great for two teens.
The apartment is sparsely furnished and would recommend storage for the second bedroom for clothes. Would recommend if you do not want to stay in the really busy touristy area of Las Rambles.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in back away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lyd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Director de Recepción at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to see you enoyed your stay!

Thank you for mentioning the location and equipment.

We are sorry for the inconviniences regarding the noise.

Do not hesitate to contact us if we can help you with anything.

Kindest regards,

Chiara Ismay De Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#38 of 512 in Barcelona
2,247 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 512 in Barcelona
3,737 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
209 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#60 of 512 in Barcelona
2,207 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#75 of 512 in Barcelona
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites

Property: Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 454, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 722 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eric Vökel Gran Via Suites has been personally and decorated by Eric in a style that is a unique mix of functionality and the beauty of Nordic design with all creativity and spontaneity of Mediterranean design.Light and confort create the spaces in the apartments and have the highest level of ecological efficiency and confort, providing every convenience to make the stay as pleasant as posible. This building is located very close to the city center, Plaza Catalunya and Ramblas is the Eixample neighborhood. Furthermore, it is very easily communicated by public transportation from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Hotel Barcelona
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing