We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Ranked #83 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth
1 review
“Great location, but unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Excellent location, very near Placa de Catalunya and many restaurants. However, the check-in staff were not warm or friendly at check-in or any time.
The internet is diabolical - constantly need to re-login, yet there was no feedback when it didn't succeed (very often).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank PermanentPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    793
    159
    46
    22
See reviews for
333
714
70
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I spent the night at this hotel before boarding our cruise ship. The location is great, right on Rambla de Cataluna. There are very good sidewalk cafes right across the street and the hotel is close to all kinds of shopping. Out of the hotel turn left and you will walk down one of the busiest shopping streets in the city. The hop on - hop off bus route runs near by and that is a great way to see the city. There is a breakfast buffet that is quite good and a quiet bar for drinks before dinner. Our room was modern and very clean. Ask for a room in the back on a high floor. Then you won't have to worry about street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor in the back. Then you won't have to worry about noise from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in one of the suites, it was stunning. large comfy, two bathrooms, huge bed, huge balcony, great views and nice "hotel" feeling close to shops and metro, will defo stay here again if in Barca. Great staff

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We lied the location of this hotel as it was walking distance to the Gaudi houses, la Rambla, and lots of restaurants and bars. It is also close to the metro station. The rooms were clean and the hotel has a nice roof top pool as well as a sauna, steam room and workout room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is perfect for a short break in Barcelona. The location is very central and you can walk to la rambla in 5 minutes. Very close to 2 metro stations and buses so very easy to get around from here. The hotel is clean with nice bathrooms and reasonably priced. It is a good hotel for business users, they had a lot of businessmen around and were holding conferences at the hotel. The room size is reasonable, perhaps a little small but we spent very little time in the room anyway. The rooftop pool terrace is amazing with great views over Barcelona. You can sit up there and watch the sun set over the city. Only down side is the pool is FREEZING and the terrace closes at 9pm, which is a shame if you get back from sight seeing all day and want to chill out on the terrace at night. Not sure why it needs to be closed so early. The only reason I didn't give 5*s is because the staff were not very friendly or welcoming. They were very grumpy and never smiled! Also the porter is quite rude. Some people complained about noise but we found it very quiet. There is also a safe in the room so you don't have to worry about things being stolen. All in all I would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Good location. Nice rooms. Most importantly, the staff were very helpful. After I had checked out I accidentally left my luggage in the boot of a taxi. With the help of the staff I arranged for the taxi driver to leave my suitcase with the hotel staff and they ensured it made it back to me in England safely. Montse was especially helpful - I'm extremely grateful and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWSampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavre, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Idealy located in town, at reasonable distance from almost ervrything to be seen, HN Calderon is an excellent place to stay, both for business and vacation. Very clean, friendly staff, very comfortable rooms, definitely to be recommanded

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 512 in Barcelona
891 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon

Property: NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Address: Rambla Catalunya, 26, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Calderon)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona's city center, the NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderón hotel is surrounded by everything that makes the city so hot! Restaurants, shopping, culture and businesses are all right at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Calderon Barcelona
Nh Calderon Hotel Barcelona
Nh Hotels Barcelona
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing