We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Ranked #87 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked three twin rooms two month ahead. Upon check in, we were told there were no twin rooms available and insisted on giving us double rooms. Reception service was unfriendly and not helpful. Worst stay .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Ko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    786
    158
    46
    22
See reviews for
323
705
70
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I spent three days in Barcelona with my daughter. We stayed in this elegant hotel. We appreciated the location (one minute from Passeig de Gracia, two minutes from La Rambla), the room comfort. Rooms are spatious, clean and very comfortable. Staff is really friendly and professional. Breakfast is really excellent. The swimming pool on the roof is very nice and the view from there is astonishing. Really excellent Hotel, as most NH hotels are.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Travelin' With Ricki
This hotel is a 4 star hotel with all the amenities you need in an excellent quiet location on the Rambla Catalunya only about 3 blocks from the Major Ramblas. The people at the reception desk were very accomodating in trying to get us in early into our rooms. Our room included American breakfast daily. It was served buffet style in a lovely dining room. The cost of the room included VAT tax and other taxes except for the city tax which had to be paid in Barcelona. The hotel was across the street from a couple of open air restaurants that opened between 10-11a.m. and that was convenient for us as well. The rooms were very comfortable and we never had back pain while there since the mattress was terrific. The hotel's Continental Dining room was not expensive around $30.00 USD for full course dinner including dessert and coffee. The service was very nice there as well. The Bar had any kind of drink you wanted and you could order delicious appetisers there as well. We spent 3 wonderful nights at this hotel.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly by email prior to coming and tell them the type of room you prefer and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIB1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a great hotel - excellent rooms and amenities, super location, and great service. Rooms are big and have a small sitting room attached. WIFI was easy and good. Service was really good. As I pulled up, the young man rushed out to assist with unloading the car, the luggage disappeared, to miraculously reappear in our rooms.

But it gets better...I blew a tyre on the car on the gutter whilst parking. Anna at reception found me a 24 hour repairer 10 minutes away, checked they had the size and gave me directions. This was after the carpark attendant helped me change the tyre.
Breakfast was thoughtful and excellent quality. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel while visiting the city and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The hotel is so conveniently located to the center of the city with close proximity to Ramblas, shopping and great restaurants and bars. The rooms were modern and very clean. We had a balcony with fantastic views of the city! The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous throughout our stay. For this price point, it was definitely the best city hotel I have stayed in. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irises55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and found it to be a great location for walking to lots of interesting tourist spots and good restaurants. The staff was quite accommodating. The 11th floor view from the roof was very nice. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get too excited about having a balcony because the seagulls and pigeons like to chase each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location and great rooms. Reception worked well with friendly staff. Didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast which was amazing - a really great spread with hot food cooked to order. Loved the rooftop swimming pool. Will be going back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#60 of 513 in Barcelona
1,806 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon

Property: NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Address: Rambla Catalunya, 26, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Calderon)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona's city center, the NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderón hotel is surrounded by everything that makes the city so hot! Restaurants, shopping, culture and businesses are all right at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Calderon Barcelona
Nh Calderon Hotel Barcelona
Nh Hotels Barcelona
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing