We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Ranked #139 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were in Barcelona to welcome the New Year. This hotel/apartment is located on La Rambla near Metro Stops and La Corte Ingles. Just step outside to shopping, street vendors, the historic marketplace, cafes, and La Plaza Catalunya. The picture window on the second floor is great for people watching while having breakfast or utilizing the hotel's free internet. The rooms were comfortable but the location is the best.

Room Tip: Stay toward the back of the hotel is you want quieter, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Booked this directly thru the timeshares/hotel website with a nonrefundable rate in Euros. If you find it cheaper on expedia or orbitz etc, you will probably get the same ugly rooms as booking direct so look for the cheapest room you can find.

The hotel/timeshare is in the thick of all the reasons why you want to go to Barcelona as a tourist. Located directly on the Rambla street, you can walk to Plaza Catalunya, the gothic quarter and many other touristic areas of the city. There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby. A grocery store is right across the street. Easy to get a taxi right outside the door.

The hotel itself has friendly staff albeit with that Catalan aire about them. The rooms do NOT look like the website pictures. We had 3 rooms and none of them looked even remotely like the nice remodeled rooms. I suggested to the front desk clerk that they should be honest with the pictures of the rooms because it's deceiving. The rooms are very small. We booked studio doubles. The beds are very low to the ground. The carpeting is green as are the bathrooms. There is a small kitchenette in the rooms with a micro, minifridge, burner, dishwasher, toaster, percolator etc. No washer and dryers in the rooms but there is a very expensive laundry in the basement. 5 Euros to wash and 4 Euros to dry one load of laundry. Soap is included as it's a front loader.
There is a security guard there day and night chasing off the local kids coming into the lobby to steal candy and probably more.

The resort has wi-fi only in the lobby area. Internet is wired and free in the rooms. The television is small but has cable with just 3 English language channels and it's only news channels. There is a small awkward safe in the closet. You can't fit a netbook in it just a wallet and your passport.

The elevators are tiny. If you have luggage you can only fit one person, two max in these elevators.
There is a breakfast area but we did not try it. There is too many nice restaurants around the resort to eat in the hotel.

There is no concierge here but they are helpful in steering you to the area where you can book tours. You will not get many toiletries in this hotel. Our soap dispenser was broken and they only gave us a tiny little round hand soap and a little bottle of shampoo and bath gel for two people. Luckily there is a market across the street to stock up.

We paid for daily maid service. You have to pay extra to get it since this is really an aparthotel or timeshare. The cost is 6 Euros. They wash the dishes for you in the tiny dishwasher.

All in all it was a convenient stay. I wouldn't want to stay any longer than we did which was 5 days. If you are staying longer find a place with a little more luxury or bigger rooms. The rooms can be claustrophobic after a week. The hotel is rated 3 stars. I guess that's accurate by European standards.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Rambla are noisy. Get a higher floor if you want to face the Rambla. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chriskre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Hotel is on a exceptional location. If you want tourist attractions and some of the main night clubs, it is the spot to be. My low rating is due to the fact that it is an expensive hotel for what it delivers. Rooms are outdated, old bathroom fixtures, carpet and TV, the kitchnette doesn't encourage any cooking. HAd issues with the wi-fi connection which did not work during my stay. Air-condition was loud and had problems cooling off. Staff is friendly but limited. by the lobby decoration you'd think it would be better.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RapiroSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We chose this hotel because of the location and the fact that there is a kitchenette. With dietary needs, it is important that we can prepare most of our meals. With the fabulous La Boqueria market and a Carrefour supermarket across the street, we were spoilt for choice when it came to fresh ingredients. The location is also convenient for the Aerobus and for getting lost in the narrow streets of the old town. We got a room to the back and it was quiet but a bit on the warm side. Opening the windows would let the noise in. Room and bathroom were quite large, clean, but a little tired. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A room to the back would be the quieter choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank klimaflyktning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This hotel is on the Ramblas which is where most of the action is taking place. It's near many restaurants and lots of street vendors and performers are around. However, if you need a good night sleep don't go there. We could hear all the activities on Ramblas all night. Our room was at the back, so the front rooms would be even worse! The church bell was ringing every 15 min--not every hour! The air conditioner was not working, but they fixed it. The ironing board was full of creases which made ironing impossible! We tried to wash an item--they have a washing machine and drier, but the cost was $12 (10E). The hotel was clean. The worst part of it was the breakfast! It came with the hotel charge, and it was soulless prepackaged pastry and the coffee from a machine. It was a real let-down. A good night sleep is important to me, so I would not go back to this place.

Room Tip: Choose the back room for a quieter night, but it still will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pariroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Helpful staff. Laundry facilities available and kitchenette in rooms.
Very close to many things including the tourist information office.
We ate breakfast at the local fruit market everyday a stones throw away from the hotel - excellent value.
Bedrooms large but a little too hot.
Overall a good place to stay and use as your base.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinatrapug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is the third visit to this delightful hotel. Since the last in 2010 there have been some upgrades. The rooms are much cleaner and the bedding at last is updated. No more old blankets but clean linen. This location really cannot be beaten. Perfect for anyone going on a cruise or just for a visit. The kitchenette makes life so much easier than having to eat out and pay for overpriced food on the Rambla.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ziggyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#212 of 515 in Barcelona
1,347 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#114 of 515 in Barcelona
1,762 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#135 of 515 in Barcelona
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#117 of 515 in Barcelona
995 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#216 of 515 in Barcelona
1,053 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 515 in Barcelona
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Ramblas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Ramblas Barcelona

Address: Ramblas 122, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £87 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Ramblas Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, this property is ideal to enjoy one of the best areas for shopping and leisure and to access easily any point in and around Barcelona.Citadines offers apartments (1-4 pax) or studios (1-2 pax) in a comfortable and functional environment, equipped with sofa beds or traditional bedding, full kitchen and its appliances, bathroom, TV and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Ramblas Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Barcelona Ramblas Hotel Barcelona
Citadines Hotel Barcelona
Aparthotel Citadines Ramblas
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing