We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Citadines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Ranked #140 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2008

My husband and I chose the Citadines for our first trip to Barcelona because of its central location and the kitchenette to keep restaurant costs down.
We were immediately pleased with the cleanliness of the lobby and friendly service from the front desk. Our room was a single, located on the 2nd floor. At first we were disappointed to not have a view of the street - our room was along the side of the hotel and looked out onto an adjacent building's rooftop and a few apartments. However, this turned out to be a bonus because it was the quietest side of the building. Our windows were similar to patio doors and you could step out onto the rooftop if you wanted. There was a maintenance man who came up to the roof occasionally to water the plants. Usually we had our window open when we were in our room with no concerns.
The room was spotless and felt like a small apartment. The Citadines does not have daily room service; if you are there at least 7 days, which we were, they come by mid-week to clean and provide fresh sheets, towels and amenities. Otherwise you can either do laundry in the facilities provided or request fresh towels at an extra cost. It was nice that the hotel provided everything you need for at least one day (soap, shampoo, toilet paper, dishwasher detergent) until you can get to the "supermercado" - which is conveniently directly across the street.
The Citadines chain provides a sofa bed, so you have a sitting room during the day and pull-out bed at night. The bed was so-so in terms of comfort, but I've certainly slept on worst. The room also had a mini stereo system and small TV, large mirrored-door closet, shelving unit, pull-out dining table and 2 chairs.
The kitchenette was equipped with a small sink, microwave, mini-dishwasher, mini-fridge plus all dishes, pots and utensils you could possibly want.
The bathroom was much larger than expected (for Europe) - a full-size bathtub with handheld shower and sink with large granite counter and storage cupboard.
We were also impressed with the service - we could not get the climate control to work, and a maintenance person appeared within 5 minutes of us contacting the front desk.
You can't beat the location - we walked everywhere from this hotel and the metro is about 2 minutes up the street at Placa Catalunya, where there is also a tourist information office.
Although the Rambla is known to have its "seedy" elements, we never felt unsafe and security people "guardia urbana" are usually within sight. We walked the Rambla many times day and night with no incidents.
All in all I would say that this hotel met North American standards and certainly was one of the best "3-star" places we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquarianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
There are newer reviews for Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2008

We stayed at the Citadines apartment hotel in Barcelona in February 2008. I booked this hotel at the last minute as the apartment I rented with VBRO had a fire and was not available. Booking was easy and we rented an apartment for 1-4 persons, at 225.00 euros per day for a 5 night stay. This is more than an regular apartment would cost, but I was booking at the last minute and wanted the ease of a hotel with apartment convenience. The apartment is laid out nicely, with step-out large balcony with large sliding glass door. The bedroom is good size and has a sliding door to the living room/kitchen/dinning area. So when the bedroom area is open it gives you a spacious feeling. The bathroom is spacious but shows stains around the faucets. In fact the room is very worn, cigarette burns on the rug, tired out looking furniture, we could not connect our IPOD to the older TV, so we could not view US movies that we brought. The hotel has free internet in the business center. This hotel is located right on the Ramblas 122, and in the middle of everything. Since it was February I figured that it wouldn’t be too frantic and noisy on the Ramblas at that time of the year. The Ramblas was busy, but you are in the middle of everything, across from a grocery store and down a few steps from the famous market Sant Joseph market. The Bari Gotic is diretly behind the hotel so we could walk to all the sites, and we were able to walk to the Placa Reial and the restaurant La Fonda late and we did not have to wait in the long line to get a table. Taxis stopped right in front of the hotel, and the Placa de Catalunya is a 10 minute walk, where you can find the Bus Turistic, buses to the airport and the metro. The major problem was the noise from the small square park-like area behind the hotel; this is also a street that is one of the entrances to the Gothic area. There were 2 café’s that stayed open late and the noise drifted up as well as the cigarette smoke to our room. But the absolute worse was the hippie type homeless people and their barking dogs that hung out in the park all night long. There were a few mentally ill homeless people who would scream randomly at night. Because the buildings were tall the noise traveled up to our 6th floor apartment. The air-conditioning was not on yet, but the room was stuffy so we were opening and closing the window all night long. We almost checked out early, but the convenience of the location and the fact that I had already booked this as my 2nd choice we just stayed. We live in a urban city area so our tolerance for city noise is very high. Plus side: We could walk out see some sites, come back rest, have a bathroom break and go back out again, that is a plus when you are doing all the tourist things. Having the kitchen was very nice for us, as we shopped at the market and could eat snacks and a meal in our apartment. But for the price I can not recommend this apartment-hotel. If you are looking for a hotel you can definitely do better. If you are looking for an apartment you can find better on line and cheaper on line.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LoLoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Just about the perfect location.. The apartments are spotless, well appointed, spacious and I can't find anything negative to say about the place. The staff are are friendly, helpful and informative. My only reservation is that the breakfast at €13.00 may be excellent, but why bother when you can cross the Ramblas to the Cafe Guinart, at the market entrance, and have a Cafe Con Leche and Serrana Ham Baguette for €4.00 per person. Also, it's good to see that they have a sense of history and have a picture of George Orwell in the Lobby, opposite his sniper position on the roof of theTeatre Poliorama during the Spanish Civil War. Excellent, try here before anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2008

The Citadines is on Las Ramblas only a few minutes walk from Placa Catalunya. Great position and areas such as the beach, Gothic Quarter and Las Gracias are all within walking distance.
Our room was in the second building so did not look out on Las Ramblas. It was a good size and the kitchen has everything you need if you want to do some cooking. Really we spent very little time in our room as there was so much we wanted to see in Barcelona. The bed was a sofa bed with a pull out bed underneath. Not the most comfortable bed in the world but we were only there for 2 nights so this didn't bother us. Towels are provided and there is a hairdryer in the bathroom. There is a 24 hour reception and the staff were approachable and helpful. If you want breakfast it is 13 euros. Bit pricey but lots of choice and the dining room looks over Las Ramblas so you can spend ages eating and watching other people going to work. Bliss.
We were very pleased with our stay. As other people have said Barcelona is an expensive city and The Citadines, for its position, offers a good deal. We wanted to visit all the Gaudi buildings and other attractions and the entrance costs for these places soon mounts up.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAC444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

A friend and I stayed here during the last weekend in January, we had a great time and found these apartments to be in a great location with easy access to most of Barcelona, as two girls travelling we were pleased with the 24 hour reception, which was manned by friendly, helpful staff (except one, who seemed to take a dislike to my friend!). The rooms were great, they were clean and tidy with plenty of space. We found the rooms very warm and couldn't work the air conditioning, but this wasn't a problem as we could open the window without worry as we were so high up.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

We have just returned from a city break to Barcelona. Having been there many times we always wanted to try an apartment.
Booking the Citadines was a pleasant surprise. Right in the middle of Las Ramblas (which we knew).
Our studio apartment turned out to be a large bedroom, very modern and a dinky little kitchen with all mod cons. Even the bathroom didn't let us down. Plenty of space everywhere.
We will definately go back.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank E.Clements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2007

We just spent 6 nights here and had a perfectly enjoyable stay. The location is perfect; many attractions were in easy walking distance and the totally efficient metro stops just a short distance away. The room was clean and pleasant and the amenities were as promised--nothing more, nothing less. The staff was polite and for the most part helpful. The only downside is that the price that can buy you a true luxury hotel room in many cities buys just a standard, decent room in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gmurphyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#220 of 513 in Barcelona
1,322 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
1,745 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#139 of 513 in Barcelona
2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,196 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#214 of 513 in Barcelona
1,034 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#118 of 513 in Barcelona
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Ramblas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Ramblas Barcelona

Address: Ramblas 122, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £93 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Ramblas Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, this property is ideal to enjoy one of the best areas for shopping and leisure and to access easily any point in and around Barcelona.Citadines offers apartments (1-4 pax) or studios (1-2 pax) in a comfortable and functional environment, equipped with sofa beds or traditional bedding, full kitchen and its appliances, bathroom, TV and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Citadines Ramblas Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Barcelona Ramblas Hotel Barcelona
Citadines Hotel Barcelona
Aparthotel Citadines Ramblas
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing