We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family stay with safe problems” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Ramblas Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Ranked #137 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family stay with safe problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

I booked through a european web site and paid in advance. I went til Barcelona for two warm days with husband and two sons for a short stay before cruise in the Med.
Barcelona is certainly one of our favorite cities, and after we tried the Citadines in Paris we would like to try it in Spain as well. I booked one large apartement with a bedroom, and we actually got two adjoined double bed bedrooms, each with a double bed, no sofa or living room here, but two bathrooms and ttwo small kitchenette. Comfortable beds here, not as hard as the ones at the Citadines we stayed at in Paris. But the problem here, no sitting area for the family gatherings. well, not much need for that either, we stayed in between beach and dinner hours. What really would have been useful, was a safe in order to work. Because of the two bedrooms we had two safes, and neither of them ever worked. My husband stayed in several times in order to wait for the maintenance guy, wait for him to finish etc. At the wall by the safe there is a note saying that there is a safe in the reception as well. Before beach the first day we took all our valuables and went down there, and there was a lot of misunderstandings and the lady attending the reception really did'nt understand much. We ended up putting most things in locked suitcases and bringing the rest to the beach.
This time Citadines did well in giving us rooms on a quiet side of the building, far from city noise, on the 8th floor. No smoking rooms we got too, but not no-smoking curtains! There were several holes in them, burned from guests leaning out of the window smoking?
The roof terasse was long time closed when we were there, some working going on. Too bad, check before booking if outdoor space with nice view is important to you.
I booked with the Yeego website, in order to get a good price with breakfast included. The breakfast is very nice, coffee great and the breakfast room have a wonderful Rambla view.
The eggs were raw, and when we found out we could put them in the automatic eggboiler ourselves, the mashine made so much noise we had to turn it off again because of complants from other guest.

Som new curtains, new eggboiling routines, new safes and a little more helpful and attendig reception staff, this place will shine and be worth all the euros!

  • Liked — Quiet rooms in a noisy street
  • Disliked — The staffs handling of the safe strike, took lots of our limited vacation time!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gurion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    419
    117
    31
    11
See reviews for
229
472
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

OK, it's my own fault for just assuming that an apart-hotel was like a suite. The last one that I stayed in was like this and so I assumed they all were.

Mistake.

Upon entering the room, I thought that I had lost a room as I couldn't find a bed. Eventually I realized that it just had a sofabed, which was a bit of a pain to open and close each night and not as comfortable as a normal bed.

Maybe I'm just lazy.

I thought that the room was showing a bit too much wear and tear as well, although it was clean.

On the plus side, it has a great location right on La Ramblas - just about as central as you can get.

Also the fact that there was free cable internet inside the room was a major godsend as I had to work a lot during my 'holiday'.

In summary, three stars is probably too few for this apart-hotel, but four stars are probably too many.

I guess it all depends on how important having a 'real' bed is to you.

  • Liked — Central location, free internet access
  • Disliked — Sofabed instead of a real bed
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank angli4anin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

Took the express airport bus to Plaza de Catalunya and walked a couple of blocks, with luggage, to the Citadines. The hotel was right on La Ramblas and fortunately our room was toward the back so we did not get much noise. The hotel was very clean and the front desk was attended 24/7. There was a secure place for luggage storage. The room had a mini fridge, stove, microwave, coffee pot and enought kitchen items. The two twins beds, as opposed to pull out sofas, were semi comfortable and the room was big enought for two. There was an El Cortes Ingles store right at Plaza Catalunya where we did our grocery shopping for ther few days we were there. We paid 140 euros/night and booked directly on Citadines web site.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Beds were a bit uncomforatble
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

My husband and I chose the Citadines for our first trip to Barcelona because of its central location and the kitchenette to keep restaurant costs down.
We were immediately pleased with the cleanliness of the lobby and friendly service from the front desk. Our room was a single, located on the 2nd floor. At first we were disappointed to not have a view of the street - our room was along the side of the hotel and looked out onto an adjacent building's rooftop and a few apartments. However, this turned out to be a bonus because it was the quietest side of the building. Our windows were similar to patio doors and you could step out onto the rooftop if you wanted. There was a maintenance man who came up to the roof occasionally to water the plants. Usually we had our window open when we were in our room with no concerns.
The room was spotless and felt like a small apartment. The Citadines does not have daily room service; if you are there at least 7 days, which we were, they come by mid-week to clean and provide fresh sheets, towels and amenities. Otherwise you can either do laundry in the facilities provided or request fresh towels at an extra cost. It was nice that the hotel provided everything you need for at least one day (soap, shampoo, toilet paper, dishwasher detergent) until you can get to the "supermercado" - which is conveniently directly across the street.
The Citadines chain provides a sofa bed, so you have a sitting room during the day and pull-out bed at night. The bed was so-so in terms of comfort, but I've certainly slept on worst. The room also had a mini stereo system and small TV, large mirrored-door closet, shelving unit, pull-out dining table and 2 chairs.
The kitchenette was equipped with a small sink, microwave, mini-dishwasher, mini-fridge plus all dishes, pots and utensils you could possibly want.
The bathroom was much larger than expected (for Europe) - a full-size bathtub with handheld shower and sink with large granite counter and storage cupboard.
We were also impressed with the service - we could not get the climate control to work, and a maintenance person appeared within 5 minutes of us contacting the front desk.
You can't beat the location - we walked everywhere from this hotel and the metro is about 2 minutes up the street at Placa Catalunya, where there is also a tourist information office.
Although the Rambla is known to have its "seedy" elements, we never felt unsafe and security people "guardia urbana" are usually within sight. We walked the Rambla many times day and night with no incidents.
All in all I would say that this hotel met North American standards and certainly was one of the best "3-star" places we have stayed at.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquarianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

We stayed at the Citadines apartment hotel in Barcelona in February 2008. I booked this hotel at the last minute as the apartment I rented with VBRO had a fire and was not available. Booking was easy and we rented an apartment for 1-4 persons, at 225.00 euros per day for a 5 night stay. This is more than an regular apartment would cost, but I was booking at the last minute and wanted the ease of a hotel with apartment convenience. The apartment is laid out nicely, with step-out large balcony with large sliding glass door. The bedroom is good size and has a sliding door to the living room/kitchen/dinning area. So when the bedroom area is open it gives you a spacious feeling. The bathroom is spacious but shows stains around the faucets. In fact the room is very worn, cigarette burns on the rug, tired out looking furniture, we could not connect our IPOD to the older TV, so we could not view US movies that we brought. The hotel has free internet in the business center. This hotel is located right on the Ramblas 122, and in the middle of everything. Since it was February I figured that it wouldn’t be too frantic and noisy on the Ramblas at that time of the year. The Ramblas was busy, but you are in the middle of everything, across from a grocery store and down a few steps from the famous market Sant Joseph market. The Bari Gotic is diretly behind the hotel so we could walk to all the sites, and we were able to walk to the Placa Reial and the restaurant La Fonda late and we did not have to wait in the long line to get a table. Taxis stopped right in front of the hotel, and the Placa de Catalunya is a 10 minute walk, where you can find the Bus Turistic, buses to the airport and the metro. The major problem was the noise from the small square park-like area behind the hotel; this is also a street that is one of the entrances to the Gothic area. There were 2 café’s that stayed open late and the noise drifted up as well as the cigarette smoke to our room. But the absolute worse was the hippie type homeless people and their barking dogs that hung out in the park all night long. There were a few mentally ill homeless people who would scream randomly at night. Because the buildings were tall the noise traveled up to our 6th floor apartment. The air-conditioning was not on yet, but the room was stuffy so we were opening and closing the window all night long. We almost checked out early, but the convenience of the location and the fact that I had already booked this as my 2nd choice we just stayed. We live in a urban city area so our tolerance for city noise is very high. Plus side: We could walk out see some sites, come back rest, have a bathroom break and go back out again, that is a plus when you are doing all the tourist things. Having the kitchen was very nice for us, as we shopped at the market and could eat snacks and a meal in our apartment. But for the price I can not recommend this apartment-hotel. If you are looking for a hotel you can definitely do better. If you are looking for an apartment you can find better on line and cheaper on line.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LoLoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

Just about the perfect location.. The apartments are spotless, well appointed, spacious and I can't find anything negative to say about the place. The staff are are friendly, helpful and informative. My only reservation is that the breakfast at €13.00 may be excellent, but why bother when you can cross the Ramblas to the Cafe Guinart, at the market entrance, and have a Cafe Con Leche and Serrana Ham Baguette for €4.00 per person. Also, it's good to see that they have a sense of history and have a picture of George Orwell in the Lobby, opposite his sniper position on the roof of theTeatre Poliorama during the Spanish Civil War. Excellent, try here before anywhere else.

  • Liked — Location, spaciousness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing, but avoid the restuarant in the arcade below the building "Living Barcelona". It is awful.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-Sea. Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2008

The Citadines is on Las Ramblas only a few minutes walk from Placa Catalunya. Great position and areas such as the beach, Gothic Quarter and Las Gracias are all within walking distance.
Our room was in the second building so did not look out on Las Ramblas. It was a good size and the kitchen has everything you need if you want to do some cooking. Really we spent very little time in our room as there was so much we wanted to see in Barcelona. The bed was a sofa bed with a pull out bed underneath. Not the most comfortable bed in the world but we were only there for 2 nights so this didn't bother us. Towels are provided and there is a hairdryer in the bathroom. There is a 24 hour reception and the staff were approachable and helpful. If you want breakfast it is 13 euros. Bit pricey but lots of choice and the dining room looks over Las Ramblas so you can spend ages eating and watching other people going to work. Bliss.
We were very pleased with our stay. As other people have said Barcelona is an expensive city and The Citadines, for its position, offers a good deal. We wanted to visit all the Gaudi buildings and other attractions and the entrance costs for these places soon mounts up.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — In Spain smoking is allowed in the hotel bedrooms and our room smelt of smoke. We did ask for a non smoking room but not sure if they exist in Spain.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAC444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#108 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#115 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#201 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#213 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
#376 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Ramblas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Ramblas Barcelona

Property: Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Address: Ramblas 122, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Ramblas Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, this property is ideal to enjoy one of the best areas for shopping and leisure and to access easily any point in and around Barcelona.Citadines offers apartments (1-4 pax) or studios (1-2 pax) in a comfortable and functional environment, equipped with sofa beds or traditional bedding, full kitchen and its appliances, bathroom, TV and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Citadines Ramblas Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Barcelona Ramblas Hotel Barcelona
Citadines Hotel Barcelona
Aparthotel Citadines Ramblas
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing