We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Ramblas Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Ranked #136 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location on the main street and still we didn't hear any noise from the streets.
Roof top terrace was very nice.
Lots of shops and restaurants were around the hotel and lovely market hall where you can get fresh fruits, fish etc, was almost across the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio S, Assistant Residence Manager at Citadines Ramblas Barcelona, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks for your review. We are glad to learn that you enjoy our Solarium. We hope to welcome you again in Citadines Apart'hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    418
    117
    31
    11
See reviews for
229
471
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location on Las Ramblas. 5 mins walk from Aerobus stop on Placa de Cataluyna. 5 mins from La Boqueria, and a Carrefour mercat right opposite. Oh, if you're into Starbucks - there's one opposite!

Despite asking for a high floor room, not near the lift, with a view of Las Ramblas, I was given a quiet room, on the 2nd floor, opposite a lift, but I was delighted all the same!

The room was spotlessly clean and everything I needed for my 4 night stay and included:-
Huge comfy bed with spotlessly clean white sheets and a choice of 4 pillows;
Fresh, modern bathroom with fluffly white towels, complimentary slippers/toiletries, great loo rolls, and a real hairdryer (not one of those awful hotel bathroom hose from the wall type things);
Kitchen with hob, kettle, toaster, all the pans/utensils I needed and more, crockery, cutlery (all neatly stacked in the little sections in the cutlery tray in the drawer!), tea towels, supply of bin bags, and a DISHWASHER (complete with dishwasher tablets). A real home from home;
Air conditioning that actually worked properly;
Large, opening, windows onto the quiet courtyard (although access wasn't permitted to the courtyard, it was still nice to have fresh air and to be able to hear the church bells).

The hotel has a fantastic roof terrace (access via key card, 10am-8pm) with a superb panoramic view of the city.

I catered for myself for breakfast, however, the breakfast room looked pleasant and overlooks Las Ramblas.

The cleaners/housekeeping team do a great job - not only in the rooms, but also the common areas including lifts and the roof terrace were gleaming and spotless.

Negatives?
Other travellers have mentioned the "smell". Yes, there was a kind of musty smell in the corridors (a bit like a stale air con sort of smell), but on the Friday morning the sewerage/drainage smell coming up the drains in the the room's bathroom was quite overpowering. Thankfully it was my departure day!

The shower head insisted on pointing itself at the shower screen no matter how many times I took it out of the holder and twisted it round, it just woudn't stay put.

The receptionists and doormen were OK, however, they only ever said "Hola!" if I said it first, and on check-out it would have been polite for the male receptionist to have asked me if I had a nice stay (or similar), however, all I was asked (or rather told!) was "you have to pay the tourist tax now". I already knew this, and that's why I waited while another guest was dealt with rather than leaving my keycard on the desk and walking out! He did manage to say thank you, however, didn't wish me a safe/pleasant journey or even say a goodbye! Perhaps he was having a bad day eh?

Despite these small negatives (which are why I've only rated the hotel "Very Good" rather than "Excellent") I would highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely like to return.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room ask for a courtyard view rather than a Las Ramblas view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillypuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio S, Assistant Residence Manager at Citadines Ramblas Barcelona, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and also for your detailed review. We are happy to learn that you spent a good time with us. And at the same time we would like to apologize for the negative customer service you have experienced at the check-out time. We hope to welcome you again at Citadines Barcelona, giving us the opportunity to serve you better. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely stay at this hotel! Our apartment was perfect, large rooms, nice little kitchen (that we never used), friendly and helpful staff. You can walk pretty much anywhere from the hotel, loads of attractions nearby - though I would steer clear of the restaurants down La Rambla, they were tourist traps with mediocre food. There is a laundry in the basement which is very handy, as we went on a 7 day cruise after our stay. Great for shopping as well, lots of shops in the area that cater to every need. Rooms are a bit noisy from both sides of the building, but it wasn't unbearable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cl_traveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio S, Assistant Residence Manager at Citadines Ramblas Barcelona, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
First of all, thank you for your stay in our property Citadines Prestige Ramblas Barcelona and for your nice review. We are happy to learn that your overall experience with us was positive. I totally agree with you that in Las Ramblas there are many restaurants and in some of them the food quality is poor. That's why our front desk staff have a very good local knowledge and they can always suggest good options for lunch or dinner. We hope to see you soon at Citadines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have used Citadines in Paris twice so knew what to expect of our accommodation. The location is great - we had a room at the back with no view, but it was quiet enough to leave the window open all night, and that suited us. There is free coffee from 11am until midnight in the 1st floor dining room with a large window overlooking Las Rambla, and there is also a roof terrace with wonderful city views.The studio rooms are perfectly adaquate for a short break.
Food can be bought across the road at the great value Carrefour store. Rioja and Cava are SO cheap! Look for their little tins of lovely Spanish smoked paprika to take back home.
If you like authentic and good value Chinese buffet food try Wok Dao on Calle Villarroel. Huge and unlimited choice of seafood, chicken and pork - if you prefer, raw food can be chosen and taken to be cooked while you wait. Lots and lots of places to eat and drink close to Citadines.
The bus tours are a good way of seeing a bit of everything - but nothing beats just walking around taking in the atmosphere.
Barcelona is a vibrant, wonderful city and the Citadines is right in the centre of things - FAB!

Room Tip: Las Ramblas is very lively, so ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio S, Assistant Residence Manager at Citadines Ramblas Barcelona, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello Elaine, thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. And also for your suggestion about the Chinese restaurant nearby. I am sure it will useful for other travellers. We hope to welcome you again in Citadines Prestige Ramblas Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were a family of three and had a most comfortable stay at the Citadines Prestige Ramblas.
First and foremost I would like to thank Mr Marco Vangallen
for his kind assistance and patience. We had made a few requests while booking the apartment and he ensured that Citadines did their very best to accommodate our requests. Thank you Marco !

We had a most comfortable stay and I must make mention of all the people on the front desk for their cheerful and helpful attitude.

The location is unbeatable right next to Everything And in the center of all the fun.

We could not have made a better choice, so happy we chose the Citadines.


  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyvoyager123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio S, Assistant Residence Manager at Citadines Ramblas Barcelona, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We were delighted to learn that your overall experience was satisfied with your recent stay with us and that you felt welcomed. Your heartfelt words and special mention of Marco and our front desk staff have been shared with the team, and they are very happy to know that your stay was enjoyable. We looking forward to welcome you again at Citadines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The key draw to this place is that its right on Las Ramblas, which worked well for us as we were a family that was there for 3 days and were keen on a central place close to shopping areas. Check in staff is very friendly. The facade and common areas look a bit tired but the rooms seemed to be recently done up. Very clean and modern. Rooms looked over a rooftop restaurant so there was some noise but not if the window was closed. Bathrooms a tad small but clean. Overall - we felt it was good value.
Only downside was that we had a fair amount of luggage with us. the elevators are small and you need to change at lobby level. The luggage cart barely fit in and it was a squeeze.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harlequin301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio S, Assistant Residence Manager at Citadines Ramblas Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Citadines Prestige Ramblas Barcelona. I will share your compliments with my colleagues. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had the best holiday in Barcelona, thanks to the impeccable service at Citadines Prestige. The room was sparking clean and comfortable, with full range of amenities.

The front office staff were very friendly and helpful. We brought back many sweet memories of Spain.

Room Tip: Every room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio S, Assistant Residence Manager at Citadines Ramblas Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Citadines Prestige Ramblas Barcelona. We are delighted to know that you spend your best holidays with us. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#109 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#116 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#203 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#208 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#125 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Ramblas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Ramblas Barcelona

Property: Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Address: Ramblas 122, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Ramblas Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, this property is ideal to enjoy one of the best areas for shopping and leisure and to access easily any point in and around Barcelona.Citadines offers apartments (1-4 pax) or studios (1-2 pax) in a comfortable and functional environment, equipped with sofa beds or traditional bedding, full kitchen and its appliances, bathroom, TV and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Citadines Ramblas Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Barcelona Ramblas Hotel Barcelona
Citadines Hotel Barcelona
Aparthotel Citadines Ramblas
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing