We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mainstream hotel for tourists”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #300 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Spent 3 days end july 2012 with family. Nothing to remark on the rooms, they are ok -and housekept as expected. Hotel placed in a quiet sidestreet and not to be confused with the sisterhotel Grand Derby opposite. Location excellent - you can walk to the subway in 15 minutes or take a taxi, they are not expensive. Staff not overly responsive but you will get service if you ask. One point - here in the hot summerdays- it was not exactly clear if you could use the swimmingpool in the Grand Derby, we were told to ask in their reception - but managed to live without a swim, instead trip to great citybeaches. Recommended for famillys on citybreaks

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Derby. I am so sorry to read that your assigned room did not comply with your expectations and I take good note on your comments, although, I do not have any comment registered during your stay.


Kind Regards
Javier Moreno Front desk manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

A good location to stay at, it's not too close to the noisy city center. The train station is about 15mins walk away, and gets you to city easily. Hotel is situated in a nice and safe neighborhood with a few good restaurants. Rooms are comfortable, but service of the hotel staff are average. Overall, this is a good hotel to stay in, in terms of comfort, pricing, and location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elssyteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Decent hotel a decent location about a 20 min walk to La Rambla and 5-10 mins to the nearest subway station, uncomfortable beds. Clean kinda off the main strip for tourists, but then it was a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bimbimbap_and_Donnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Derby. After staying with us, your feedback is just so important for us. I am glad you have enjoyed every single details of your stay and thanks again.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct us direct in order to organise all the details.

kind regards,

Javier Moreno
Front desk manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Walked into the Derby to be "welcomed" by a gentleman at the check-in desk with a chinese tattoo at the side of his neck. He needed to reply to a text message on his personal phone and other matters on his walkie-talkie before even saying hola. He proceeded to check us in, and while checking us in he looked at something on his computer screen and said "whoops", which made us terribly worried and nervous that perhaps there has been a mistake in our booking.

After feeling unwelcome, we proceeded up to our room to realise that our "double" room was in fact two singe beds pushed together. The TV was awful - only had one working English speaking channel (CNN news). The bathroom was the worst by far. The skirting boards were falling off, and the bath didn't really function. The plug wouldn't work, and when having a shower the shower door was useless at blocking the flow of water to the bathroom floor. Mostly we'd come out of the shower, worried about slipping on the soaking wet floor. The internet connection isn't the best, extremely slow and although it states that there is "free wifi," it is only free for 90 minutes and not all day as you would think. Asked for a room on one of the top floors, but the view was hardly breathtaking and involved looking into someones apartments.

Although these are points for improvement, the cleaning staff were very friendly and the place was definitely clean. The location was satisfactory as you can get a metro into the centre, although next time i would consider staying somewhere closer to a metro or closer to the centre of the city. The metro was hard to find the first time, but as soon as we found it, it was handy enough. If you are traveling from the airport, get the RENFE to estacio de sants, then get a metro to Hospital clinic and find yourselves from there. On the website it states it is a 15 min walk from estacio de sants, this is untrue.

There is no pool in the Derby, although you can go across the road to the Gran Derby and use theirs. It is located between two tall buildings, which block the light to the pool area so it isn't the best place to sunbathe if you want to chill out. If you want to go, I would suggest going between 12 and 3 when the sun is highest in the sky and its likely that you won't be sitting in the shadows. As for the pool, it is very small and waist deep. Also, not a very private area as an apartment block of locals overlooks the pool, and they tend to stare at you from time to time.

I would suggest to avoid the buffet breakfast. Ordered eggs and sausages which were vile - the eggs were raw and the sausages were boiled. The croissants had to fill the void.

Overall, it was only satisfactory and I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

I hereby thank you for your email with
relation to your stay in our hotel.
First we wish to apologize to you any inconvenience
we have caused.

We feel very disappointed to read the email in which we
reported your experience with the service offered by our hotel.
Naturally, you expect the staff of our company, we provide the best possible service.

Please contemplate the situation that relates in his writing as a
isolated incident, and we can confirm that this is not
feature of the service that our company wants to keep on top of it all: friendly service, reliable and responsible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I thought this hotel was great for my stay in Barcelona and will def stay here again. For us it was great not being right in the middle of the busy centre (as we found that to busy) yet it was only a 25 minute walk away. There were resturants/shops nearby which we found were cheaper than the centre. It was near camp Nou which was good if your planning to visit there.
Staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. The use of the swimming pool was great too, ok so its not a big pool but for a hotel in the city to have a pool to use after a hot day sight seeing was ideal. One of the best hotels I have visited this year. Thanks to the staff at the Derby Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ememsansan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous contribution. We are glad to hear that another guest was overall happy with his stay at the Derby.
We are really pleased to know that you were so happy with our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to our beatiful city.
Warm regards.

Javier Moreno
Frontdesk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I would agree with some other reviewers that the location is not really that inconvenient. It is only one short bus ride away from most popular attractions, and the public transportation system in Barcelona is really quite modern and user-friendly. The room was decent sized, especially for Europe, the rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The wi-fi worked; however you should know ahead of time that the hotel only includes one free hour of wi-fi in the price of the hotel room (we didn't know this ahead of time, so it was a bit disappointing and annoying). There is a great little bakery a few doors down from the hotel where my boyfriend and I bought delicious croissants every morning we were there. The cafe right next to the hotel, the Times, is also a wonderful place to grab a fresh squeezed orange juice and a cortado (Tip: they do have free wi-fi). Finally, it is worth mentioning that there are two strip clubs across the street; although we didn't have any problems with them, the women do hang out in front of the clubs in the evening, which might be worth knowing ahead of time, especially if you have children.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous contribution. We are glad to hear that another guest was overall happy with there stay at the Derby.
We are really pleased to know that you were so happy with our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to our beatiful city.
Warm regards.

Javier Moreno
Frontdesk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The beds was confortable, the staff services was ok (i booked flowers and cake for my wife and all was like i dreamed); staff was kindly
There are 3 things that was not so fine:
1- internet wi-fi doesn't work in room (maybe because my room was at 6th floor, in my first experience in this hotel, last year, i was in a 1st floor room, and wi-fi was ok);
2- the bathroom has not a window (or a fan) to evacuate odor.
3- metro is far away from hotel; you must use bus and than metro.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sburrao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous contribution. We are glad to hear that another guest was overall happy with their stay at the Derby.
Actually we have a 90 mts free wify, but we are working in order to offer 24hrs free wifi
we are looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit to our beatiful city.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#163 of 516 in Barcelona
507 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#365 of 516 in Barcelona
315 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#292 of 516 in Barcelona
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#175 of 516 in Barcelona
617 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#71 of 516 in Barcelona
2,077 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#63 of 516 in Barcelona
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#181 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £52 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Derby Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing