We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #297 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent service, warm, attentive, from the moment I made the reservation to the end of my stay. Great rooms, super clean, comfortable, modern, with luxury bathrooms. The location was just right, a quiet but very central location. I highly recommend this hotel to single people as well as families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConscienceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments! If you allow us, we will say that we are not perfect, but we work hard to satisfy the expectations of our customers. Thanks to feedback from our guests, we can go slowly improving those aspects that they believe need revision.

We welcome you all had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon in Barcelona.

Yours sincerely,

Montse García
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here few months ago for 3 nights. The hotel is nice and clean and the food is very good. I really can't say anything bad about it. The location is ok. It was far from the center but when we went to Barcelona we wanted to see the entire city so...the position of the hotel was not so important. If you buy the city tour bus tickets then you shouldn't care about the position. There is a city bus station at 5 minutes away. So..if you want a nice, clean and good hotel for a good amount of money, then choose it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vasile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Derbu Hotel. After staying three nights with us, your feedback is just so important for us. I am glad you have enjoyed every single details of your stay and thanks again for recomending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct us direct in order to organise all the details.

Javier Moreno
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We upgraded ourselves to a Junior Suite which was a nice room on the seventh floor with a roof terrace.Staff were very nice the hotel was fine and well located and the cost was a very reasonable €110 Euros per night.
The WiFi access was a nightmare constantly logging in again and again even though I paid for "premium" wi-fi.
As I was there for business and needed to upload and download presentations etc. this was a real pain in the neck. I think that most Spaniards either don't care or have data on their mobiles but it feels a bit third world not to be able to collect emails.
There is a tram line very close to the hotel which runs up the Gran Via so it would be a good spot for shopping.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade to a mini suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugo54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments. We are sorry that your stay was not pleasant to have been.

Obviously it is unacceptable what you said, so we have been extended his criticism from the moment it was published to the general manager in order to work in the internet acces.

we are working with great attention in this flaw , beacause we know this is very important for our guests in order to make your stay as pleasant as possible for all our customers.

Hopefully it will be nice to see you again in our hotel to give you the service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great hotel and lovely staff. Was travelling with a group of 4. My room was on 7th floor so had a lovely terrace. Tanya (cocktail bar) was an amazing bar tender and we loved her new creation cocktails. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryK40_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Hotel Derby Team would like to thank you so much for such a lovely review! We love having guests as you, this is so wonderful when someone thanks you personally to the staff. This helps us to be better in our daily work, to improve in all we do for our guests. This really made us very happy today!

Once again, thank you very much! We hope to welcoming you very soon again, any time you wish!


Javier Moreno
Front Desk manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We thought we had booked the Hotel Gran Derby but somehow managed to end up in the Derby Hotel which is directly across the road. This was fine though and we had a good stay. Our only complaint was the Wifi which is very poor and we had to keep putting in passwords, also there was no access to email. We paid extra for the Wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettyLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience
Since it is really important for us to get the feedback from our guests, I would like to thank you for your comments, even though, such it is in your case, this feedback may not be as positive as I would hope for the internet acces
Let me inform you that, , we are reviewing this point.
I remain at your entire disposal and if you have to visit Barcelona in the future, please be so kind to contact me in order to offer you a very special treatment.

Sincerely,


Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

The room was good, and the location is in a quiet part of Barcelona. Not far from hop on/hop off buses, which is a perfect way to get around in Barcelona. The personell was helpfull, and they make refreshing drinks in the bar. On the downside I was dissapointed with the breakfast.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kåre-Inge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for trusting the Derby Hotel for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor.

We celebrate you had a pleasant stay with us and feel free to let us know if you revisit our city. We will be more than happy to welcome you and accommodate you with us.
We have maked extensible your criticism from the moment it was published to our catering staff to find different solutions to their constructive comments.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hotel for those who go to Nou Camp. Located far from La Rambla. Hotel staff is very helpful, they can open safe in your room even if you just locked it.
Rooms are very clean and small. Expensive breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorino_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013
Google Translation

Уважаемые клиенты,



Большое спасибо за доверие, Derby Hotel для вашего пребывания в Барселоне, а также делиться своим опытом с другими путешественниками здесь на TripAdvisor.

Мы празднуем вы имели приятный отдых с нами, и не стесняйтесь, дайте нам знать, если вы повторно посетить наш город. Мы будем более чем счастливы приветствовать Вас и разместить вас с нами.

Спасибо и надеемся увидеть вас в ближайшее время!

С уважением,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#142 of 515 in Barcelona
501 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#287 of 515 in Barcelona
702 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#359 of 515 in Barcelona
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#128 of 515 in Barcelona
1,161 reviews
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#220 of 515 in Barcelona
1,350 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#71 of 515 in Barcelona
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#180 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £59 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Derby Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing