We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Normal business stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #291 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Normal business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Good business hotel. Rooms are clean and sufficiently equipped. Decoration in rooms (and I have stayed here close to 10 times) are quite dark, which make them smaller than they really are. So nothing fancy there. But the location is great with good access to Avenida Diagonal as well as restaurants frequented by locals. This was the first time I had my room facing the street (Loreto) and I have to admit that it was a bit noisy. What i really love about this hotel is the breakfast; good selection, good taste, good service! I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Hotel Derby. After spending ten times with us, your feedback is extremely important to us. I'm glad you have enjoyed your stay and we take note of your comments about the exterior noise and lighting.
Thanks again for recommending.

Hoping to welcome you soon, please feel free to contactwith us directly in order to arrange all the details to make your stay more confortable

Javier Moreno
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    270
    129
    40
    22
See reviews for
88
300
28
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ufa, Bashkortostan, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've had a business trip to Barcelona at may 2014 and I been lucky to be staying here. Room was very nice and always clean with a perfect bathroom. The staff is awesome as well: very helpful and nice to you. I can't keep silent about the restaurant as well, everything was so tasty and they had a good choice every day! Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vadim87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments! If you allow me, I will say that we are not perfect, but we work hard to meet the expectations of our customers. Thanks to the feedback from our guests, we can go slowly improving those aspects that they believe need revision.

We celebrate you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon in Barcelona.You know where to find us! We are waiting.

Yours sincerely,

Javier Moreno
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We travelled through Europe with my husband and stayed in this wonderful hotel on 10 - 15 of April. We had a big suite with the terrace on the highest floor. The room was very big and clean. The terrace was wonderful, it had chairs and table, we could take sun on it in the morning. The room was cleaned well, all our requests were satisfied. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The hotel is very nicely located, just several stations by metro to the main attractions. We would like to thank the staff and managers of this hotel for a very nice stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abaeva_mariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,
First, thank you for to choose Derby hotel for your stay in Barcelona.
Secondly, thank you wholeheartedly for this extraordinary and wonderful comment. You can not imagine how happy make us, and especially motivated to continue improving customer service.

We are very glad you liked it.

Thank you from all team Derby. Now, you know where you have your home in Barcelona
Hope to see you again.

Regards

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Everything was smooth from making reservations to check-in, the stay and a very early departure. The staff are helpful, efficient and multi-lingual, also patient with hesitant attempts at Spanish and Catalan. Good breakfast. Excellent area for small restaurants and easy access to two of the hop-on hop-off buses.

I'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Not overlooking Av Loretto if you are a light sleeper, but great if you like to feel the pulse of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Vanessa,

Thanks for taking time to post your review of our hotel.
We do appreciate all the great comments about our services, staff and facilities. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. I have shared your kind words with them. Javier will be delight to read your commnets. Our staff strives to create a service experience for our guest that is lasting. We appreciate all of your comments and hope to see you again in the near future.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager


Thank you very much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Recently stayed here for a long weekend.
The hotel has a nice reception area with very friendly and helpful staff, they always said hello when leaving or entering the hotel. They dealt with check ins very quickly too, as i saw quite large groups turn up at the hotel and they did not have to wait long at all before going to their rooms.
There is free wifi available for 3 days and residents of this hotel can also use the swimming pool at the Gran Derby across the street.
The rooms are spacious with good storage and are very clean, the bed we had was huge. The bathroom is very clean also and there is complimentry toileteries if you have forgotten anything. There is also a hairdryer but i did not think it was very good, I could not use my own one which I had brought with me due to a difference in the voltage, but no issue to me.
We stayed here as we were going to the football, Camp Nou is about a 20-30 minute walk so not too bad and there is also taxis very close by too.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L22tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you to choose Derby Hotel for your stay in Barcelona and thank you to send this good review. I am very happy to hear you liked the location, but most of all I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. I always feel this is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

Your compliments of our rooms and wifi are very much appreciated too.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

the staff was very kind as well the breakfast excellent . the space in the rooms is adequate and no noise in the night considering we are in the downtown. Last consideration is for the daily rate very competive compared with similar hotels

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rupertema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments at the Derby Hotel for your stay in Barcelona, ​​and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor.

We celebrate that you had a pleasant stay with us and feel free to visit again our hotel.
We will be more than happy to host you ahgain and we will welcome you,
Thank you and hope to see you soon!

Yours sincerely,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cremona, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

It is quite clean, the service desk is well managed.
I use to go there one week a month and I consider it with a good balance cost/quality.
It is 10min from downtown by taxy , in Barcellona the taxy are quite cheap.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest

We want to thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to write us a comment. Thank you also for your nice words.
What we want is that the customer leaves happy after staying at the Hotel Derby
Reading your words we understand that we have succeeded. We are immensely pleased.

Thanks again, for trusting us and we want to see you again soon in our hotel.
We wait you in Barcelona!

Regards,

Front Desk Manager

Javier Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#135 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#346 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#263 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#146 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#80 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Junior
Sunotel Junior
#358 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#175 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Derby Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing