We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both excellent and bad”
Review of Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #177 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Both excellent and bad”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel might have some bad things in store for you. Chances are that everything will be very good, but your safest bet is to find another place.

This hotel serves great coffee, but also frozen eggs for breakfast. For all I know, the eggs could have been frozen and thawed a number of times a number of days. When i broke my egg, water came out. It felt cold, and crumbled in a weird way. I now suspect they also freeeze the plentiful and tasty, warm chorizo sausages they serve. Which at best is questionable, at worst will give you some stomach problems. Breakfast in general was decent.

The rooms range from bunker-like to exellent for the money. My photos show the view from one of two rooms my party got at the 6th floor. The window was frosted. When I opened the window i stared right into a wall! It was like an elevator shaft going five more floors up. It is impossible to even determine the weather from there, because you don't know if the grey you see is a cloud just over the hotel or if the day is gray.

It seemed routine for them to let people stay in the bunker-like room for one night, and then change after checkout next day.

They could have solved this problem by informing properly and selling at reduced price. Some would appreciate the extra space, possibility for darkness, and basement-like quiet.

Our other room was spacious, well lit and with a nice view to courtyard. Quiet enough. TV with a neverending array of spanish channels, probably some english or german stuck in between. Ok bathroom with toiletries.

Free wifi functioned well. Was given code at desk first night. Stayed same throughout stay.
35 euros and 20 minute cab ride to airport.

Shopping and sights: Walk a couple of hundred meters down the Diagonal which also is a great shopping street in the Balmoral-area, and you'll be at the top of great shopping street Paceig de Gracia with two of the iconic Gaudi-buildings. At the other end of it, Plaza Catalunia and from there starts the Rambla.

Sighseeing bus: Both major bus tours of the city has stops close to corner of Passig de Gracia and Diagonal. You'll find them. Prepaying at reception of Balmoral will result in a small discount.

Restaurants: Within 5 minutes walking from hotel, you'll be in the Carrer d' Aribau that has everything you'll need from the simplest beer and tapas, to downright gourmet restaurants. I recommend the Bardot which had fantastic sirloin for 16 Euros. During day, the Bardot was a fantastic place for a beer and some olives outside in the street. You'll find the Bardot on your right just as you come off the Diagonal. Check it out in the day, and maybe book for that evening.

Rooftop terrace: Might be full at times, never when we were there. Fantastic option for a quiet drink of wine starting or ending the evening, or to just hang out in the sun whenever. Small gym that seemed to be free for guests.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows towards wall. If they give you one anyway, protest heftily as soon as you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gunnar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    293
    104
    24
    18
See reviews for
111
243
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Immaculately clean, great service. Location was a little away from the main centre but excellent transport links and if you enjoy walking its a lovely walk with lots to see on the way. Plenty nice restaurants close to the hotel a little less expensive than the centre ones. If we ever returned to Barcelona and hopefully we will, I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel was great! Such large rooms, comfy beds and great wifi connection!
It is really easy to get around Barcelona from this hotel. There is a bus stop right outside and the tourist hop on/hop off bus is a short walk down the street. Plenty of restaurants around the place as well. Breakfast wasn't anything overly exciting but it was a good start to the day. They need a bit more room in there as we had to queue to actually get in the room. The staff were lovely and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireMcNeilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Clean, spacious rooms! Good breakfast, good service.
Location & area are fine, but to get to the tourist attractions you might want to use the public transport. Bus stop is in front of the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PXoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Having booked this off the internet and for a great deal you can never be sure how your choice is going to turn out. This was one of my better ones. The rooms are spacious and cleaned to a high standard every day (even my girlfriends pjs were folded). Room service was very quick , we never had the breakfast as it seemed a bit pricey for what it was.
There is a nice little gym on the top floor with a spa if thats what you are looking for.
The hotel is in a great location, a bit out of the way from the noise for a good nights sleep but close enough to get to everything. There is a metro stop just at the top of the road.
Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a good place to start your tour of Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed here in Feb for a conference and had a wonderful experience here. Located in a beautiful part of the city and a liesurely walk to the center at the Plaza Catalunia. Staff was friendly and i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accidentaltourist316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights and it was perfect. Standard double room with en-suite bathroom, spacious and comfy! The staff were so helpful, the waiter in the bar saved us a big bottle of water every evening, great little caffes a few doors up and so close to the main Via Diagonal which is filled with bus stops that go anywhere and everywhere in the city! Amazing restaurants all around, all in walking distance. Cute little gym upstairs looking out to the beautiful sun deck. Everything clean, new towels every day and great room service. Can not fault this hotel! Awesome!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilyyy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Abba Sants Hotel
#313 of 513 in Barcelona
564 reviews
El Raval
Abba Rambla Hotel
Abba Rambla Hotel
#280 of 513 in Barcelona
396 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#171 of 513 in Barcelona
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Zenit Borrell
Hotel Zenit Borrell
#319 of 513 in Barcelona
524 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#214 of 513 in Barcelona
498 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#147 of 513 in Barcelona
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balmoral

Property: Hotel Balmoral
Address: C/ Via Augusta, 5, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#193 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#196 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balmoral Barcelona is an elegant and classical Hotel in the center of Barcelona, recently refurbished to make you feel yourself at home away from home in the heart of the touristic, financial and commercial district of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Balmoral Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing