We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Stay"”
Review of Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #154 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Spent 3 days in beautiful Barcelona before boarding cruise ship and had a great time. We enjoyed our stay the Hotel finding the staff extremely accommodating and room was very clean and tastefully appointed. We liked the location at it was in nice area, close to shopping and hop on hop off site seeing bus. Although it was about a 30 minute walk to the busy Las Ramblas area. Only had breakfast at the hotel restaurant one time and it was fair (European style breakfast). There is a small restaurant around the corner (next to McDonald's) that serves a pretty good American breakfast at a reasonable cost. I recommend Balmoral and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Japawynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for 1 week at Balmoral Hotel.
Location
It was 100m away to Diagonal Metro Station by walking where you can go everywhere. It was a good location if you don't want a crowd place and a little bit away from the center. You can also walk to La Rambla and Placa Catalunya in 30 minutes along fascinating beauties of Passeig de Gracia.But if you are looking for fun and spirit of town at nights stay in a different location.
Food
We have not eat at the hotel, we preferred the cafe near of it. It was quite cheap and delicious. İt is left side of the hotel nearly 20m.
Sleep Quality
Room 701 was a sunny room and it was away from noise. But the maids were cleaning rooms by 08.00am which i wish to sleep after a busy day. Tell the reception what type of room you expect because i heard some complaints about dark rooms and full of noise.The beds are nearly comfortable but there were two single beds connected as a couple bed, and a space between them which you can fall inside.The a/c was ok but a little bit noisy.
Cleanliness
Room was clean but the staff in room looks cheap and old. Don't have big expectations about 4 star hotel. Showers are small and easy to fall and also the water was too weak to have a bath. And what about the tiny soaps, how they built it. You will lose it in your hand.
İ haven't use the terrace which is closing at 23.00. İ never reached at time.
The reception was good and kind, has better English than most of the Catalans.
Finally it was cheaper than other hotels near of it but for a 4 Star hotel it could be better in details.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack5daniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed only 3 days and can't wait to return. The room was comfortable and clean,Bed was very comfortable. Hotel staff was knowledgeable and graciously helpful . Get the hop on hop off bus info. from hotel. Location is terrific---near restaurants, tourist sites,shops, and transportation. Clean, elegant, and beautiful city. Included breakfast buffet is great value and a savings. But coffee was awful. Go to a little cafe next door on the left ,as you exit,for for your coffee.
Staff who helped with bags and called cab, with a smile, would not accept tip.

My only real complaint is that the bathroom floor was not clean although the rest of the bathroom was. Great shower massage!

Room Tip: Had courtyard room which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elly v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week. The room was clean and not too small. Our window opened on too a shaft, but then who stays in a hotel to view the panorama ?. Breakfast fare was good and the hotel staff very accomodating. we have visited Barcelona about 15 times and stayed at different hotels. Since this hotel was refurbished (we had stayed in it about 10 years ago) it is more pleasant. Would recommend it .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antOn44_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Great position at the top of Passeig de Gracia. Lovely walk down through plaza catalunya and La Rambla to the waterfront.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Great use of free wifi or computer in hotel lobby.
Only small complaint would be that breakfast could be a bit more exciting with better choice of hot food. And if you don't smoke you must request a non smoking room/floor.
Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel-agent-amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed here for a week with my girlfriend and we both found the hotel to be absolutely wonderful. The service was fantastic, the location was great as we were surrounded by great restaurants and we were very near some of the most popular parts of Barcelona. The only fault I had with the room was that we were given two single beds pushed together and they were on wheels so they would roll apart in the night. But otherwise it was such a great hotel, please don't allow this to change your mind on staying here. It was by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in and I will be staying there again next time I visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendanOBrienIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel might have some bad things in store for you. Chances are that everything will be very good, but your safest bet is to find another place.

This hotel serves great coffee, but also frozen eggs for breakfast. For all I know, the eggs could have been frozen and thawed a number of times a number of days. When i broke my egg, water came out. It felt cold, and crumbled in a weird way. I now suspect they also freeeze the plentiful and tasty, warm chorizo sausages they serve. Which at best is questionable, at worst will give you some stomach problems. Breakfast in general was decent.

The rooms range from bunker-like to exellent for the money. My photos show the view from one of two rooms my party got at the 6th floor. The window was frosted. When I opened the window i stared right into a wall! It was like an elevator shaft going five more floors up. It is impossible to even determine the weather from there, because you don't know if the grey you see is a cloud just over the hotel or if the day is gray.

It seemed routine for them to let people stay in the bunker-like room for one night, and then change after checkout next day.

They could have solved this problem by informing properly and selling at reduced price. Some would appreciate the extra space, possibility for darkness, and basement-like quiet.

Our other room was spacious, well lit and with a nice view to courtyard. Quiet enough. TV with a neverending array of spanish channels, probably some english or german stuck in between. Ok bathroom with toiletries.

Free wifi functioned well. Was given code at desk first night. Stayed same throughout stay.
35 euros and 20 minute cab ride to airport.

Shopping and sights: Walk a couple of hundred meters down the Diagonal which also is a great shopping street in the Balmoral-area, and you'll be at the top of great shopping street Paceig de Gracia with two of the iconic Gaudi-buildings. At the other end of it, Plaza Catalunia and from there starts the Rambla.

Sighseeing bus: Both major bus tours of the city has stops close to corner of Passig de Gracia and Diagonal. You'll find them. Prepaying at reception of Balmoral will result in a small discount.

Restaurants: Within 5 minutes walking from hotel, you'll be in the Carrer d' Aribau that has everything you'll need from the simplest beer and tapas, to downright gourmet restaurants. I recommend the Bardot which had fantastic sirloin for 16 Euros. During day, the Bardot was a fantastic place for a beer and some olives outside in the street. You'll find the Bardot on your right just as you come off the Diagonal. Check it out in the day, and maybe book for that evening.

Rooftop terrace: Might be full at times, never when we were there. Fantastic option for a quiet drink of wine starting or ending the evening, or to just hang out in the sun whenever. Small gym that seemed to be free for guests.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows towards wall. If they give you one anyway, protest heftily as soon as you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gunnar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#130 of 515 in Barcelona
1,164 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#185 of 515 in Barcelona
577 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#104 of 515 in Barcelona
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pol & Grace Hotel
#68 of 515 in Barcelona
1,032 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#98 of 515 in Barcelona
1,247 reviews
Eixample
Evenia Rosello
Evenia Rosello
#133 of 515 in Barcelona
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balmoral

Address: C/ Via Augusta, 5, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#193 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#196 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £78 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balmoral Barcelona is an elegant and classical Hotel in the center of Barcelona, recently refurbished to make you feel yourself at home away from home in the heart of the touristic, financial and commercial district of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Balmoral Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing