We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”
Review of Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #160 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location and value for money”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great location for exploring the city in a quiet and upmarket neighbourhood. Close to a metro station and a short walk to Gaudi's Casa Batllo - and lots of designer shops en route from the hotel to the central square and las ramblas. Although not in the busiest part of town there's ample bars and tapas places nearby.

The rooms were clean and spacious with the most comfortable bed I've ever experienced in a hotel! The only only improvement we would like to see would be a full length mirror - there was ample wall space o accommodate a mirror. Great value for money for a 4 star hotel in a city. Would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angharad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix A, Manager at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
dear guest
Thank you very much for write to us with trip advisors.
We are working to improve our facilities and offer the best service to our clients.

See you soon in BCN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    301
    106
    25
    18
See reviews for
117
253
30
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Location good - quite central, about 40 mins walk from Hotel down to Port Vell area, but Metro close if required. Room nice and clean, staff friendly. Didn't have breakfast with our deal and for 16 euros, thought it was an expensive extra, plenty of cafes nearby however.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeWH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix A, General Manager at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
thank you very much for your comment in trip advisor
see you soon in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Overall, this really didn't meet my expectations of a four star hotel.

Good:
-Central enough location, but not on a busy thoroughfare so not too noisey
-Friendly staff
-Comfy bed

Bad:
-Poor breakfast offering
-Poorly ventilated room
-Mould build up outside bathroom window
-Room facing into a dark shaft
-3 euro for a tiny bottle of water from the minibar - just mean, considering BCN mains water is notoriously unpalatable
-Wifi was very bad
-No coffee/tea facilities
-Poor sound insulation, could hear conversations/phone calls/toilets flushing from other rooms

Room Tip: Try get a street view rather than a shaft view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,
First at all, thank you very much for your comentary in Tripadvisor. We are working to offer our clients the best service posible.
About this, Our breakfast is in constantly changes, Actually, we offer our guests: salmon and paté plus 7/9 kinds of cheese, 7/10 kinds of sausages, 7 differents breaks, pastries, Spezial zone for dietetics or 5 differents orange juice or spezial for vegetarian people, gluten free or non lactose...etc.
For me is very important your opinion. We have to offer a good breakfast for all!!
About your room, we have a quite and individual rooms, but we have standar or double room. In a differents booking pages and wwww.hotelbalmoral.com, you can choose your room.
The next time you came back to BCN, i hope you choose Balmoral
Muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Abba Balmoral has just cancelled my University study tour stay just 20 days before departure. We had simply requested that the mini bars in the rooms be locked (as per University guidelines), and they told my travel agent that this would cost them money (devalue the rooms.) They insisted on a letter detailing our school group and our intentions in Barcelona (we are 32 graduate and undergraduate students and professors of Geography, Planning and Architecture.) Originally they were satisfied with this letter, then they abruptly cancelled our reservations that had been in place for over 2 months. This was simply a horrible way to treat your guests. Shame on you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comment in tripadvisors.
About your book in the hotel Balmoral, we inform to our agencies that our policy about the guest is "not accept students groups". We inform our policy to the agency months ago and i supose that they decided to book your group in other hotel.

I hope your experience in BArcelona with your group was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel is at a pretty convenient location across the road of the 2 main shopping street of Barcelona. Metro is only 5-10minute walk away. It's clean and the breakfast was amazing! Wifi however wasn't working all the time and it was pretty slow but the staffs were very helpful and give you all the direction you need.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mythary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest
First at all, thank you very much for your commentary in trip advisors. For us is very important the service at reception desk and in the breakfast. About breakfast, we are working every day to offer a great breakfast!. Our wifi line is free and it is possible that was slowly in these moment.
We take note about this to offer better line!
thank you...

NOS VEMOS PRONTO!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Nice, spacious room, polite and helpful staff. Wifi a bit sketchy, though.. My stay was for free, so can't say anything about value for money, but the hotel is located quite central to most venues of the city; 1-2 stops with the metro to Guell Park, Sagrada Familia and La Rambla

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kampenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your commentary
I see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWells
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Cared for hotel. Friendly staff, proactive and keen. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Bar is a little "sterile" but comfortable enough. Would come again, was a business trip this time, but love Barcelona so will look to come to this hotel next time on a holiday visit to this great City.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DBM007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,
First at all, thank you very much for your commentary.
About our staff, we are working to serve our clients very well.
thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#168 of 512 in Barcelona
1,266 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#203 of 512 in Barcelona
524 reviews
Eixample
Evenia Rosello
Evenia Rosello
#135 of 512 in Barcelona
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#149 of 512 in Barcelona
1,109 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#73 of 512 in Barcelona
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balmoral

Property: Hotel Balmoral
Address: C/ Via Augusta, 5, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#193 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#196 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balmoral Barcelona is an elegant and classical Hotel in the center of Barcelona, recently refurbished to make you feel yourself at home away from home in the heart of the touristic, financial and commercial district of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Balmoral Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing