We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hitel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #156 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Central hitel”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great location,very grand impressive reception and hotel entrance,concierge .
However the room was not quite up to the same standard,it was dark,gloomy and the wardrobe had chips/chunks missing from the bottom of the doors.The bath had slight mildew.
My biggest bug bear was the lack of tea/coffe or if that is too much how about a couple of small bottles of water?
I have stayed in much lesser grand hotels,infact even the most budget conscious of hotels provide some form of refreshment.
Barcelona is a wonderfull city the hotel is ver convenient for gaudi house etc

Room Tip: This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel,if you can manage to get a room at the front it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear traveler,
After reading your comments, I just want to let you know that a few days ago we have finished a full rooms refurbishment and I hope to have the opportunity to show you on your next visit to Barcelona.
I'm glad to see that per our location you have enjoyed your visit to the City and will take note about all your comments.
I remain for any further assistance should you need in Barcelona.
Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE Hotel* * * *sup
jtomas@avenidapalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    722
    275
    94
    67
See reviews for
517
824
65
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Outstanding common areas but small, predictable rooms and amenities, overpriced. The biggest drawback from a traveler's perspective is staff who are irritated to offer assistance in selecting restaurants and transportation. Barcelona has other excellent choices which would be preferable. Consider the Gothic Quarter hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tableforone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Avenida Palace Hotel is in a great location. You can take the airport bus directly to the square near the hotel. You can also pick up the Barcelona Bus Turistic which is the hop-on/hop-off sightseeing bus. Lots of restaurants, tapas bars and shopping within walking distance of the hotel.The Hotel is a grand hotel with comfortable, clean rooms. We could see Gaudi's La Sagrada Familia from our hotel room. Continental breakfast has a variety of things to choose from and is a satisfying blend to fuel your body with energy for the Day's activities. The only criticism I have is that the people working the front desk were not very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandlass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear traveler,
First of all Thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace hotel on your last stay in Barcelona.
After reading your review, I've seen that you've enjoyed your stay at the Avenida Palace and our wonderfull city.
We just hope to have you back on your next visit and give you the best atention you deserve.
We deeply apologize if our employees seré not friendo y enjuga that you expected.
I remain for any further assistance you may need.

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy Manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL
Barcelona
jtomas@avenidapalace.com
www.avenidapalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Avenida Palace is an old hotel run by a proud staff. As a result you receive exceptional attentive service from the moment you enter the premises. Top this of with a truly epic location in Barcelona and you have a hotel worrh recommending. As the hotel is old, it seems, the rooms and bathrooms is a bit old, but the served their purpose. Besides, who would want to spend time in your room, when you are in wonderful Barcelona?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear traveler,
First of all we want to thank you for all your comments about our hotel.
I want to let you know that we are currently restyling all the rooms at the Hotel and I hope I'll have, in a near future, the opportunity to welcome you again.
Our aim is to welcome you once again on your next visit to Barcelona.
I remain.

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL
jtomas@husa.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I once stayed at this hotel just 20 years ago. I took this hotel again because I had a good impression at that time. the location is almost the center of Barcelona and it's very convenient to visit every place such as Las Ramblas, Casa Mila on Passeig de Gracia and so on. This time, I stayed for two nights. There were two problems on this room (No.152), One was an air conditioner and the other was the window. An air conditioner didn't work well even every dial was set to become the room temperature to be minimum. The window is small and nothing could be seen. I felt the room is almost a prison. When I came back at night, I asked a reception staff to check this condition and asked to change a room where an air conditioner functions well and have a fine view. In the next morning, I told his boss that I once stayed just 20 years ago, and he agreed to change a room and I was asked to pack my luggages, if so, they would be moved to a new room. I visited all places I planned and came back to the hotel at around 10 p.m. The new room (No.955) was comfortable and I could see outside (west direction). But the room at higher floor and faced to Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes should be the best.

Room Tip: A room of higher floor and faced to south should be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadahiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We just spent 3 nights here. Yes the location is great. Yes, at one point it was a luxurious hotel. But our experience was not good. The first room we were given was 150. When we open the door we did not get more than one step inside before we turned around and left. The room smelt like 75 Marlboro salesmen had lived in it for the past twenty years. A dreadful combo of old smoke and mildew. Revolting. We went to the front desk, noted the problem and ask for a new room. We were told all rooms are no smoking and it's not their fault if a prior guest did not follow the rules. We said, we don't care, we cannot stay in that room we want a new one. Answer, well someone may have also smoked in the next room if we give you a new one. And we are fully booked so there are no more rooms. It took us several minutes and pointing out that since check in was at 4 PM and it was now only 4.30 there was no way everyone that was checking in could have already done so before he reluctantly agree to dump room 150 on some other sad guest. But no apology. Our new room was 952. Very small, a shower that splashed water all over the floor. A view onto the inside hole of an atrium (Ugly as sin). Worn out towels, TV did not work at all. Basically EXACTLY what you expect of a 4 star hotel living on its past laurels.

When we went back downstairs I told the guy at the front desk that the new room did not smell of smoke and "thank you for switching us". His reply, "well you know it could have smelled bad as well, that's why I did not want to switch you.". What an idiot. No apology, not even when I had thanked him for his help, even though it was reluctant.

Other impressions of the days. The ninth floor as well did not smell that great in general. Breakfast was ok for was it was. Woman checking in at breakfast room was VERY kind and friendly and best member of staff we met. In general it seemed like it was living on its location and turists from countries with lower expectations of cleanliness and service than US or Western Europe. Would never return.

Room Tip: Avoid 150 like the PLAGUE!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear traveler,
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the icidents happened during your stay at the Avenida Palace Hotel.
As our staff told you, our hotel is a non smoking hotel and if somebody smoke we can't do anything when the guests are in their rooms but we try to advise about the hotel rules. If the occuppancy is low we can change the room with no problem but if we have a high occuppancy we will do our best to find a solution or the best solution we can find.
Please if you are planning to travel to Barcelona once again in a near or far future, please contact me directly and I'll take care personally about your booking an will have in consideration for what was happened on your last stay with us.
I remain for any further assistance should you need.

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL* * * *sup
jtomas@avenidapalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a lovely hotel with an excellent location. My husband and I have just stayed there after a cruise, for three nights. We had stayed there last year as well. The staff were consistently helpful and gracious. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was very good. The room was large and comfortable with a roomy bathroom. The common areas were well maintained and very attractive. If you are looking for slick, sparse modern decor this is not the hotel for you. We are experienced travelers and have learned to recognize value when we see it. We would return here and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAE80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Traveler,
It was a pride for us to host you in our hotel during your last stay in Barcelona.
I've seen we reached your expectations at the hotel and also with our classic style.
All what we do at the Avenida Palace Hotel, we do it to welcome you once again .
I remain If you need any assistance on your next trip to Barcelona.

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL
jtomas@husa.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
962 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,958 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#57 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing