We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel El Avenida Palace
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel(Barcelona)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Acta Antibes(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Alma Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$354
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$355
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$511
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capri by Fraser Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,334)
Filter reviews
2,334 results
Traveller rating
1,015
820
319
103
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,015
820
319
103
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationjunior suiteairport buslarge roomtapasreception staffrooftop barbuffet breakfastcentral locationsmall poolthe air conditioningcity breaksagrada familiametro stopgothic quarterramblasdoorman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,130 - 1,135 of 2,334 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Avenida Palace in October 2013. Plus: the Hotel lobby, dining room and staircase are beautiful. The breakfast was good. The staff was helpful, and the location was very convenient for seeing Barcelona and close to the train and metro. Delta: our room, 861, however. left much to be desired. The handicapped shower was moldy and leaked, creating a pond around the toilet. The comfy chairs in the picture of the "standard room" we reserved were not there, just a wooden desk chair, and the bed was so hard we got up sore in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the handicapped rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Traveler,
First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace Hotel on your last visit to Barcelona.
Thank you for your comments about the hotel and our staff.
Greatly regret what happened on your bathroom with the shower.
I would like to share with you that this week we renovated showers handicapped rooms.
Likewise we are also renovating the rooms mattresses and we are doing many more changes, also we are changing all our WiFi network for guests.
I hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Barcelona and share with you all our improvements.
I remain for any further assistance you may need.

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL* * * *sup
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is gorgeous and is in a great location. But its staff was very cold, argumentative, and unpleasant to us--with the exception of one very sweet young lady at the front desk. We booked our 2-night stay through Expedia, and the booking documents stated that wifi and breakfast were included. The first morning we ate a less-than-mediocre breakfast in the hotel dining room, and we were presented a bill to sign. When we tried to explain to the waiter, he glared at us, snatched the bill, and stormed off to the front desk to complain. The front desk people argued with us and intimated we were lying. I went up to our room, got the Expedia documents, and showed them the very clearly stated promise of included breakfast. They said they would have to research our claim. Later that day they grudgingly told us we didn't have to pay for the breakfast, but they weren't happy about it. There was no apology or kind word. The next morning we breakfasted at Starbucks. The front desk staff gave basic service, but they always made us feel we were forcing them to go above and beyond their duties. It was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,
I would first like to thank you to have chosen the Avenida Palace hotel.
I very much regret that there was misunderstanding with your breakfast and would like to apologize on behalf of our staff for not being more polite with this matter and on my own behalf.
We are improving our facilities and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and explain to you.

I remain
Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
Avenida Palace Hotel
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Husa Avenida Palace September 11 to 15 2013. The airport taxi driver was not familiar with the hotel as he told us he had only been driving a cab for 4 months. However when we showed him the address he immediately knew where to take us. The Avenida Palace is in a fabulous location – a block from Placa Catalunya, a major hub, 2 blocks from Las Ramblas, shopping, restaurants, etc. Placa Catalunya is where you can start the hop on hop off bus, buy tickets to a soccer game, peruse the visitor information centre or just relax and watch the Barcelonans go by. Avenida Palace offers a lovely breakfast in a beautiful room. We had some issues with our phone (a new system that seems to work intermittently) and our safe. Front desk staff was helpful and someone came to fix things for us very quickly. We stayed here as part of a larger group. The entire group agreed the hotel is a great option in a fabulous location. As a travel advisor I have selected it for clients who are travelling this week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColleenBulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

First of all thank you for choos the Avenida Palace on your last visit to Barcelona and thank you also for the time spent giving us your opinions about your stay.
After your comments, I'm very proud to see that all the Avenida Palace staff has reached your expectations on your visit to Barcelona and your stay at the Avenida Palace.
All what we do, we do it to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future in our property.
I remain for any further assistance should you need from Barcelona and the Avenida Palace.

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE Hotel* * * *sup
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel was at a fantastic location in Barcelona.this was a 4* property. And the service reflected that. Some of the staff were fantastic.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
The breakfast were ok at hotel. We stayed there 3 nights but had breakfast only one day even though it was prepaid.
The delis near the hotel were really good.
The hotel was surrounded by fantastic resturants.

Room Tip: Even though this is an average property, I would still stay there. If Management ever upgraded this property. This could be a five star property.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westvancouver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all just a couple of lines to thank you all your comments about our Hotel,
and let you know that we have restyled all the hotel rooms to improve the service to our guests and I'll be proud to show you all the changes on your next visit to Barcelona.
My very best regards

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL * * * * sup
jtomas@avenidapalave.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Avenida Palace is centrally located in the shopping district of Barcelona. Our newly renovated suite on the second floor was elegant, beautiful, and charming. In all the years my wife and I have traveled, we have never experienced such warmth, friendliness, and absolute helpfulness of the manager Mr. Javier Gaspart. Immediately upon arrival, he greeted us, identified the best areas to walk and shop, and the locations not to miss in Barcelona. Throughout our 3 day stay, Mr. Gaspart treated us like "family." If you are traveling to Barcelona and want a hotel that is accommodating this hotel is a must. The breakfast buffet is available and many cafes are only a block away. This hotel made our stay in Barcelona a truly memorable experience we will not forget!

Room Tip: Get one of the renovated rooms on the second floor overlooking the street on Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace on your last stay in Barcelona.
It gives me great satisfaction to see that we have reached your expectations during your stay with us here at the Avenida Palace hotel.
Our entire team works every day with the goal of achieving full customer satisfaction.
Where you say we treat you like you are family, it is because we are a big family at the hotel. We welcome our customers and we said goodbye to new members of our family.
Thanks for being part of this family.

I hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Subdirector
Hotel Avenida Palace
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews