We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #168 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in June 2014. We had a very large room on the 1st Floor of this lovely hotel. The road noise and train noise was a slight disruption but not too bad considering you are in the middle of a busy city. I had asked for a room on a higher floor when I booked 5 months prior so was a little disappointed that we were not accommodated on a higher floor. This is a gracious old hotel in a fabulous location. Easy access to the main sights of Barcelona. The staff were reasonably helpful but I would not rate the service as very high. Overall this was good value in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Miss.Cheryl,
After your comments I've seen you have enjoyed your stay in Barcelona and at the Avenida Palace Hotel.
All your comments help us to improve day by day to reach our aim that is your satisfaction.
Please if you are planning to travel to Barcelona in a future, please contact me directly and I'll take care about your booking personaly.
I remain for any further assistance should you need.

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL * * * *sup
jtomas@avenidapalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    692
    264
    92
    67
See reviews for
491
783
61
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Let me start by saying this is a One Star hotel in any country. I a sure in its heyday it was the place to stay but it is far from a "palace" as you get.

Arrived at noon and had to wait until 4pm to check in even though I wrote the general manager I would be arriving early to celebrate my 30th anniversary.

Wifi is slow,slow,slow and antiquated. You pick up a little piece of paper at reception which contains the "code". Now you can try it in your room but you cannot even download an email or Tweet. Pathetic in today's day and age.

Staff: Old and grumpy. Bell, waiters are so old and grumpy. They really should not be out front.

Guest room: Air-Conditioning is very poor. I had a manager come up but he could not resolve because no engineer on duty at 9pm at night. Can you believe it? Stayed the same for entire stay.

Breakfast: same old stuff every day. Runny eggs and cut up fruit. Ok, in fairness coffee was good, and bread they did not destroy.

Overall: in today's day and age, they placed should be closed and completely done over.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid the noisy streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel has been in the family for three generations. The shared spaces are very nice, and the owner is quite proud to welcome guests to this comfortable property. True - it still needs some work. WiFi is totally unreliable now but is reportedly being upgraded. The pool was "being worked on" when we were there last week. A/C seemed to be fairly unresponsive, but we found that to be true all over Spain and Portugal. The rooms were average size, beds comfortable, towels a little worn but "thick and thirsty." I admit that the walls are rather thin and we could hear a lot of noise from the hallways and all adjoining rooms, including on the floor above. I heard that the breakfast buffet was expensive, but it was included in our room rate and was very good. The best attribute of this hotel is its location, and I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and could walk down to the lobby, thus avoiding slow elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjcarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Although the staff did all they could to make for a good stay, the terrible wifi, TV stations that did not get a decent signal, poor quality pillows and a bed that squeaked did not endear me to the.hotel. The rooms were clean but small. Elevators slow. Breakfast had a broad assortment of choices. The problem is not personnel but the building. Owner needs to invest in technology, beds, and pillows.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

very convenient location, good sized rooms, clean. Wi-fi not great, but OK. Bring earplugs, the walls are thin and you can hear every word your neighbors say. Get breakfast elsewhere at other places in the neighborhood, many choices a block or two away, for half the price of what the hotel charges and much better food. Cab cost from airport to this hotel was about 40 euros. Took the aerobus on the way back to the airport, leaves from Catalunya Place which is a block away and costs 6 euros. The hop on hop off buses are at Catalunya place too. Best thing about the hotel is its location. I'd recommend this to friends going to Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klm220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
196 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel has a great central location for restaurants, sights, the Mercat St Josep La Boqueria/La Rambla area, The Gothic Quarters and public transportation. Within walking distance are many notable areas of the city and several tour companies. The morning breakfast was delicious. The rooms are typical for an older European hotel - small but adequate. The staff could have been a little more friendly upon our mid-morning arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCCLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good things first :
- Location is ok, near passeig gracia, la rambla, one bus route to Sagrada Familia, one bus route to Camp Nou
- Clean
- His and hers bathroom type
- Room size is quite large, two LCD screens and separate area for bedroom and sofa (and worktable)
Not good things :
- Ancient, ancient type of Room lock (manual lock, and you have to leave it at the recepsionist)
- Ancient type of safe deposit box and small too. Can't put laptop in it

Breakfast is buffet type, variety is good for 12 euro you can have brunch and save up lunch.
Check-in and check-out also quite fast..
Taxi stand is not far from the hotel.
The airport shuttle route is along the same road as hotel, you just have to walk about 10-15 mins to the airport shuttle bus stop

I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ririjkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#110 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#68 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#101 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#58 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing