We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 20th Century Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #155 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Metro New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect 20th Century Hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Barcelona's Avenida Palace is the perfect location to stay in Barcelona. Beautiful appointments and small but attentive staff. Near La Rambla and all transportations. A few small drawbacks are: no coffee machine, no fitness center (a plus to me, but missed by my wife), no ice service that we could find, the room safes didn't work (two rooms, safes were found locked and staff didn't open them). Also, Internet access is clumsy. You can get a thirty minute block free in the lobby (use the "lobby" network), but costs extra from the room. Also, what truly shocked us was that to print out our airline boarding passes, we had to purchase time on a different internet service provider to use the business center and printer. We feel that one provider should be enough for the room and business center printer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hank73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    730
    278
    97
    70
See reviews for
538
837
66
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Very helpful staff, always gave us information w/ cordiality. Big room (a bit dark, but ok), bed and bathroom although the bathtub wasn't clean enough to be used (as a tub). Great location in the heart of the city. The breakfast is very nice, w/ good quality of food. They charge 22 euros for an internet access in the room, and the free access on the lobby expires in 30 min... so each 30 min you must ask for another password, quite boring but works.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nekcno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast, australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed here in a group of eight at the end of a European vacation/cruise. The position is great with proximity to Las Ramblas & Metro/bus stops. The showers in two of our rooms leaked quite badly to the point that housekeeping provided extra towels to soak up the water. Apart from that, the rooms were a good size. We did not have the experience of some other reviewers in not having light etc. We did feel that the hotel was a little over-priced considering that breakfast was not included & would have been 15 or 20 euros extra if we had chosen to have it. Staff were courteous & gave help whenever we requested.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebbles033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

\The hotel is well located, close to Placa Catalunya and Las Ramblas, but not so close that you hear all the noise. Didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff but overall found them helpful and pleasant. Their English is a lot better than my Spanish. Had wine and tapas in the bar one night and found the service and food to be good.
Biggest complaint was size of the room and lack of any kind of view. For the price we would have expected more. We would not stay there long term but for a couple of nights before boarding a ship it was ok

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMSLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and its a lovely hotel. Its just a 5 minute walk from Las Ramblas so an ideal location. Its easy to get to from the airport as the train takes you direct to Passeig de Gracia and its about a 5 minute walk from there. The room was a good size with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space and a good sized bathroom
Staff all very friendly. We did not eat in the hotel as there are plenty of restaurants all around there.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAINEYMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We booked the hotel with an offer through Travelzoo - for 89 euros per room per night got us breakfast included, an upgraded room, welcome drink, & late check out (2pm) which we thought was excellent value.

We were originally put in room 604 (nice room but no view) but after 2 mins got a phone call saying they'd put us in the wrong room! Someone came straight away to move us to room 611.... which was fabulous! I think it may have been one of their junior suites - entrance hall, lounge area with sofa, dining table, flatscreen tv, minibar, double doors through to the bedroom with the biggest bed I've ever seen, another flatscreen tv, huge wardrobe (with safe). The bathroom had two sinks, a door separating off the toilet, and a very powerful shower. The room had views over Gran Via but was very quiet due to the double glazed windows and we had air con so no need to keep the windows open during the night.

The location was great - less than 5 mins walk to Playa de Catalunya & Las Ramblas, easy walking distance to most of the tourist sites.

The staff weren't over friendly but were helpful and professional. Breakfast had a good choice - fruit, yoghurt, pastries, bacon, sausage, eggs, ham, cheese, variety of juices. The tea & coffee were the only real let down.

All public areas are very well kept and our room was very clean. Only downside was the apparent lack of bar, however I think we maybe just missed it! We did sit in the reception lobby one day for about 20 mins, weren't asked if we wanted a drink or anything, but we read there was a piano bar but we never saw it!

I don't know what the usual rates for the hotel are, but at the price we paid I would highly recommend it & hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJane1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

The room was really clean but was a back room with no natural light and every metro train that went under was felt and heard. It was also quite small and you could not tell what the weather was like until you left the building!

The reception staff were not overly friendly, just the lady on the last day, no one asked us how we were or if everything was ok.

We did not use the breakfast facilities as it was 20.00 euros for a continental breakfast which is way overpriced, but then all of Barcelona was!

There was never anyone in the bar, the hotel lacked any atmosphere really, shame. It just seemed a bit old and stuffy.

The location was excellent tho, 2 minutes from Placa Catalunya!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#117 of 512 in Barcelona
2,017 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#56 of 512 in Barcelona
1,140 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#67 of 512 in Barcelona
2,013 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#95 of 512 in Barcelona
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing