We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the Majestic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #154 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    723
    275
    94
    67
See reviews for
517
826
65
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
thornton lancs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2005

just back from a 4 night stay at the avenida, it was just right, very clean, smelled lovely, staff very pleasant, with the exeption of the breakfast crew, perfect position 5 mins walk from the ramblas, and the medieval areas, very near to the gaudi houses and the glam shopping on passaige de gracia.. i did have the forsight to e mail a request for a front facing room, after reading an earlier report, they gave us a junior suite!it wes lovely, as was our stay here..enjoy! i should mention that if you want something going on then you wont find it here, but then youve got barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spainbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 October 2005

We stayed at this hotel for a conference so the only saving grace was that we didn't have to pay for it ourselves. It was very poor value for the rates it charges.

It is obvious that most of the investment at this hotel has been made in the lobby - mostly in marble. However, not much has happened in the rooms.

The bathroom was relatively new, and had good water pressure (which we had at all the hotels we stayed at). However, the bedroom area could definitely use some updating. The mattress must have been there since the hotel was built 50 years ago. Both my husband and I accidentally fell off the bed because we sat too close to the edge. The colors are all dreary and rather depressing to be around.

Friends staying at the hotel had a number of exciting experiences, ranging from showers that didn't work to a room that smelled REALLY bad.

Definitely not recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2005

My wife and I stayed with 2 friends for 3 nights. Both rooms were clean and well-appointed but the view from both rooms was the concrete light well. There were no alternative rooms on offer. The bathrooms were spacious and well-equipped and the minibar offered the usual delights.
Throughout our stay there was only one lift working and trips to and from the 8th floor could take a long time.
Breakfast was excellent but the staff needed constant prompting to replenish the buffet, particularly with the outstanding scrambled eggs.
One hidden asset - we developed the habit of nightcaps on return to the hotel at night. The seemingly high-priced drinks turned out to be a bargain as they were served in enormous tumblers!
The waiting staff and concierges were bright and helpful but the reception staff were rather more taciturn although pleasant enough.
We paid a reasonalbe rate for the rooms through alpharooms and would rate the hotel good value on that basis. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RamblingJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2005

My husband and I stayed here after a cruise and really enjoyed the old world elegance. The location is unbeatable if you want to really enjoy the city.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hysterian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
963 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,959 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#56 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing