We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average Avenida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Avenida Palace
Ranked #150 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We stayed here for three nights in early June. We had a large room facing the street, double glazing kept the noise to a minimum. An older style Hotel but very clean and well kept. A large bathroom with double vanity sinks, full bath tub and plenty of hot water at good pressure. The hotel is well placed at the top end of La Rambla, with plenty of good eateries in walking distance, also only a short walk to the gothic 'old town' and Cathedral. Pleasant and helpful staff who had good english. The Buffet breakfast was excellent, good coffee, Spanish hams, smoked salmon and delectable pastries, no need for lunch after one of these and plenty of fuel to walk off while viewing this marvellous city.

6  Thank Aussiguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,457 - 1,463 of 2,166 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Edinburgh
18
Reviewed 25 June 2006

We booked this hotel after having read some good reviews on Trip Advisor (as many of the other hotels we looked up had very mixed reviews). The hotel was beautiful, the room was lovely (even though we didn't have a view), and we had the best night's sleep in a long time - the beds were so comfy. The location was great too.

Eating in turned out to be a good decision as dinner was delicious and the cost was reasonable.

Some of the reviews about this hotel criticise the service and I agree that the reception staff were a bit po-faced, but they were reasonably helpful to us and agreed without question to look after our luggage for several hours after we had checked out.

I would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2006

We chose this hotel from reading reviews on this website. We booked for three nights in October and had large, well furnished clean rooms. My sister and brother-in-law had a good room situated at the front with good views, my husband and I had a larger room on the side with absolutely no view and could not even see what the weather was like that day. However, there was so much to see and do in Barcelona that we spent very little time in the rooms.

The breakfasts, the serving staff and barman were all excellent. At breakfast, there was even champagne available next to the chilled juices but, we did not realise until the last morning which was too late. The hot food was not appealing but there was lots of 'continental' type food to choose from.

The position of the hotel was very central and a good area to come back to at night. (I would avoid the bottom end of Las Ramblas at night if possible, it was a little seedy even in broad daylight). Our hotel reception staff were arrogant and seemed to delight in keeping us waiting for our keys whenever we returned, we thought it was quite funny in the end. They appeared to be able to do only one thing at a time, very slowly even though they were very well aware of people waiting just to collect their keys. We supposed they had to make their mundane jobs more interesting somehow!

Do buy a tourist bus ticket, it is a great system and you can interchange the routes, hopping on and off all over the city. A great way to get around and they are very frequent and lots of fun. There is a guide on board every bus and they all speak English, announcing the stops in plenty of time to decide if you want to get off.

Barcelona is a great place and we will go back as there is still so much to see which we did not have time for, although we will probably find a better hotel. Generally we found everyone else we met to be very friendly so we think the rudeness may just be limited to the reception at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hendrixfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2006

We were very, very disappointed with the service at this four-star hotel. While the location was good and the lobby and the rooms were nice to adequate and clean, we were treated very rudely and shabbily. Upon our return the second evening of our stay, the key did not work in our room door. The staff tried to open our door for 30 minutes, then told us we would have to stay in another room for the night without our belongings, as they would not have someone available to open the room until the next morning. We said we had medications that we needed in our luggage and they needed to find someone to open the door that night. After another ten minutes, the door opened by chance. The lock was not fixed and we asked to be moved to another room so we could go out to dinner and lock our room. Now they said there were no rooms available and we would have to stay in that room. But if we left the room for dinner, we would not be able to open the lock and get back in. They said "too bad", you will have to wait until the morning for the locksmith to come and fix the lock. We ended up having one person stay in the room and the other person went out to buy food to eat in the room that night. The man did fix the lock the next morning but we were offered no apology or compensation for the major inconvenience and the loss of one evening in Barcelona. We would definitely not return there and would not recommend this hotel. It was really rude service for a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aloharunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2006

A good standard 4 star hotel in a central location where an impressive reception and lounge area provides the central focus. The appearance is of a well maintained establishment and rooms are very comfortable and of reasonable size. Whilst, situated as we were on the 8th floor, we found it to be very quiet, I would think that lower down you may be more conscious of traffic noise.
Rooms come with a decent size bathroom but it appears a little dated.
Breakfast buffet was adequate but with a very limited range of hot offerings. The evening buffet is probably the one to miss as it is not particularly cheap and food was luke warm at best. Much better alternatives outside where the hotel is in close proximity to some good restaurants.
Staff were very helpful throughout and overall we regarded ourselves to have been fortunate to have found this good city hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TripadviserTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2006

I spent two nights at this superior deluxe property. Prices can be high but if you are accustom to staying a high end hotels than this is the place for you.The staff can be a bit snooty but I was treated with great respect from the front desk manager. When I go on vacation I don't pay attention to who is rude and who is not, I like to make better use of my time. The food that is served in the restaurant is expensive but not so much on the room service. My accomodations were standard with a small view of the city.The room was very clean as was the large bathroom. The property is located a block away from Paseo de Gracia where you can find high end shops and hop on/hop off tour buses. If you are looking for souveniers you can take a 15 minute walk to the infamous "Las Ramblas".

Stayed: November 2005
4  Thank parisqueen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
743
Reviewed 24 February 2006

Good location, oldstyle, relatively classy, nice and clean rooms. I booked a special via the internet. and i thought it was a very good deal! also a nice view. i actually don't have sometihing negative to say. Only i thought the staff wasn't as friendly as one would expect from that kind of hotels in that price range. Anyway, good deal and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#59 of 515 in Barcelona
1,196 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#122 of 515 in Barcelona
2,049 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#95 of 515 in Barcelona
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#80 of 515 in Barcelona
2,166 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 515 in Barcelona
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Avenida Palace

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £63 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel El Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing