We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern basic tasteful and pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laumon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Laumon
Ranked #244 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Modern basic tasteful and pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a modern basic hotel fitted out tastefully. The rooms are not huge, but adequate and overall well designed. All what you need for a pleasant few days stay. No tea/coffee making in the room, but there is a little bar/cafe downstairs.
The staff were always pleasant and helpful. One lady was very helpful trying to help me connect to the free WiFi frustratingly without success. I found it was a setting on my phone later.
The breakfast is basic but adequate with a reasonable selection, mainly cold but with a toaster, so ham and cheese toasties were possible and enjoyed! Plenty of hot coffee and hot water to make tea with a selection of tea bags.
There have been complaints in reviews about noise especially from the lifts. Our room was next to the lift and apart from a slight wurring noise there was nothing to complain about. Pillows were a bit thin for us, but extra were soon provided on request.
The hotel is situated in the suburbs a pleasant 2-3 minutes walk from the Metro station. Slightly puzzling to find at first at it is located in a side street, until you realise that the 'street' it is off is the service street to the main street and only separated by a paved area.
It is conveniently serviced by a selection of nearby shops and restaurant/bars where food and drink is somewhat cheaper than in the main areas of the city.
Would we go back? Yes, as it is pleasant and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJ2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laumon-hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Laumon and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other fellow travellers in Tripadvisor.

We appreciate that you mention the modern design of our rooms and are glad to know that you were pleased by them. Additionally, your comments about the quality of the service are very rewarding for our staff who work very hard every day to provide an unforgettable experience to all our guests.

As you mention in your review, Hotel Laumon is located strategically, off from the busy and expensive city center, but still well-connected, making it easy to travel around the city and broadly enjoy your stay.

Furthermore, we are very pleased to hear that you would be glad to stay with us again. Comments like yours help us to continue improving.

We would like to welcome you again in the future. If you have any further comments or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us, we will be pleased to help you.

Kind regards,

Hotel Laumon, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    207
    48
    13
    8
See reviews for
120
210
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Rooms were new and fantastic. The customer service was fantastic as well. Very helpful in giving directions and maps to use. A metro map was provided as well. The two ladies working in the mornings were very nice and helpful. The evening staff was just as good as well. 2min walk from la sagrera metro station. Can get to city center within 20 mins or so. Located in a nice neighbourhood as well. Would highly recommend this hotel to those visiting Barcelona.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laumon-hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us at Hotel Laumon and for further sharing your thoughts with other fellow travelers in Tripadvisor.

We truly appreciate your kind comments about our Hotel and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your words are very rewarding for our staff who work very hard to provide all our guests the best possible experience.

We would love to welcome you again at Hotel Laumon the next time you visit Barcelona. If you have any further comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Hotel Laumon, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We liked the area this hotel is in, the local shops, bars and cafés were cheaper than the centre and it felt like more of a local suburb, laid back and relaxing. It is, as other reviewers have said very easy to get around using the metro. The hotel is easy to find - 5 mins walk from La Sagrera metro station - once you know where it is. If you exit the metro from the Hondures side that makes things slightly easier - you want to be at the cross roads at Carrer de Garcilaso and follow Garcilaso down hill. The hotel is tucked into a side street 3rd or 4th little street on the left. Rooms are very clean and you get free wifi, which was much appreciated. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Our room had two single beds pushed together rather than a double, and an extra bed for our daughter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliehwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laumon-hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience at Hotel Laumon during your stay in Barcelona. It is a pleasure for us to read such a nice review about our location, service and quality. As you mention in your comment, Hotel Laumon is placed in a strategic location, off from the busy center but still well-connected, making it easy to travel around the city and broadly enjoy your stay. We are delighted to know that you appreciate our efforts to make the experience at our hotel as pleasing as possible.
Additionally, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor, making it available for other fellow users to read and enjoy.
Lastly, we would love to welcome you at Hotel Laumon in your next trip to Barcelona. If you have any further comments, suggestions or concerns you wish to share with us, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Best regards,

Hotel Laumon Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel was good for our budget. The location is not the greatest, however, it was tough to find at first. It's located close to a metro stop (about a five minute walk), which made it easy to get around. The room was pretty small for two people. However, we weren't in it very much, so it wasn't too big of a deal. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. If you aren't as concerned as being involved in the city center, then this would be a good hotel for you. It was definitely a good hotel to stay at to be able to do all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JShelby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest,

Give us grate know that you enjoyed your stay and we are very grateful to you for spending your time sharing your experience in TripAdvisor.

We are strategically located in a residential area far off the noisy centre for the well-being and comfort of our guests. Although we are little out of the centre, Hotel Laumon, as you said, is well-connected with the main mean transport of the city making it easy to travel around.

We are glad to hear that you were able to visit all the tourist attractions. However, if you want to return, we would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,

Hotel Laumon, Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Despite the out of town location, due to the fact the nearby metro station is so well connected we found travelling to and from the city centre and tourist attractions mostly stress free (although this may be due to the fact the metro was quite and not as hot as it would be in July).

The room itself also has a modem feel about it, in tune with the rest of the hotel. We slept well and the bathroom was nicely fitted with a great shower. The room has pretty limited facilities, only a hair dryer, a kettle, and a TV, but due to the nature of out stay, this was not a problem.

For our short break, Hotel Laumon was perfect. Helpful and polite staff, simple room with no unnecessary frills all at a great price. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Laumon for a price conscious trip to Barcelona!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcd0well14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel, share your experience with other fellow travelers and for your positive assessment.

It is important for us that you know that we share with the rest of the team your experience. Your comments encourage us every day.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,

Hotel Laumon, Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

In a quiet neighbourhood in Barcelona in a pedestrian street lies this hotel, the staff are great so helpful nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is pretty good and well stocked. Location for the tube is perfect a short stroll. My only gripe is the noise if other guests whilst this is not directly the hotels fault, the walls are paper thin, alarms, morning ablutions coughs and sneezes nothing is missed, other than that it was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing our Hotel Laumon for your stay in Barcelona.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers.

We want you to know that we always try to have the hotel as quiet as possible; therefore, we regret any inconvenience in reference to the noise from the other rooms.

We will be satisfied to welcome you the next time you are in our city, for that reason, don't hesitate contacting us in advance, to offer you any particular request.

Best regards,

Hotel Laumon, Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

A very pleasant, clean, comfortable and welcoming hotel, in a side street, about ten minutes by Metro from the centre. I'd say its predominantly a student area, but with a few bars and local shops to meet your average travellers needs all on the doorstep. The staff are lovely and welcoming, the breakfast perfectly adequate, and the rooms very comfortable. One down side, I did point out that the gentleman in the adjoining room seemed unwell - the walls were not thick enough to drown out his incessant cough....but that was the only negative.

Room Tip: With its side street location, the only noise comes from within the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank city1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing our Hotel Laumon for your stay in Barcelona and for your positive assessment. Your comments about our location, service and quality, are the best reward and encouragement to continue making our guests' stay an unforgettable experience.

We regret any inconvenience in reference to the noise from the other rooms; we want you to know that we always try to have the hotel as quiet as we can.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,

Hotel Laumon, Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
SmartRoom Barcelona
#96 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#191 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#115 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#151 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Catalonia Albeniz
#201 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Hotel Via Augusta
#177 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laumon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laumon

Property: Hotel Laumon
Address: C/ Monlau 8 - 10, 08027 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#114 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laumon 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Laumon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laumon Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing