We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all-around value hotel we've stayed in (anywhere in Europe)”
Review of Hotel Laumon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laumon
Ranked #252 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best all-around value hotel we've stayed in (anywhere in Europe)”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a small, relatively new hotel which turned out to be absolutely perfect for our trip. Hotel staff were all friendly and spoke excellent English, were very knowledgeable about the area/giving advice, rooms were small but nicely arranged, good quality, well finished - it definitely didn't feel like a 3 start back home in the UK. Our room had a balcony for extra space and the opportunity to sit outside in the evenings; which we didn't pay extra for. Non-balcony rooms also have access to a roof area on the 6th floor. Bathroom was nicely finished too, with good water pressure, and hotel cleaning service was efficient, thorough. Air con was really quick and effective. Only downsides that could be noted for some guests might be the lack of a mini bar (which we didn't care about). Great hotel in a convenient location (less than a 5 minute walk to the red line Metro stop) for the price paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if they have one free for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wd4h6b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaumon, General Manager at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Laumon for your recent stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience with us and other travelers.

I'd like to thank you as well on behalf of our team, for your nice remarks about the service and the Hotels' facilities. This is the kind of recognition that allows us to keep on working hard in order to make our guest's holidays unforgettable.

Again, thank you very much!

Best regards,


General Manager - Hotel Laumon***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    211
    49
    13
    8
See reviews for
122
211
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Laumon, we arrived early and the lady on the reception desk was very helpfull. Although our room was not ready, we were checked in and our cases were locked away, this allowed us to have a walk round La Sagrera and have some lunch.
We went back and the room was ready, clean and tidy, the hotel is modern with a nice clean comfortable room and good size bathroom.
The Metro was close to the hotel, from which we got round most of Barccelona, even went to the beach by Metro. Got a T10 ticket great value.
There are plenty Bars and Resteraunts in the area, all well priced,also a nice little park garden to walk round.
The Hotel Laumon is great value, recomended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaumon, Director General at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending a few days with us at Hotel Laumon and for sharing your opinion and travel recommendations with other travellers.

As you know, an early check in is allways possible at Hotel Laumon but only if the room is available. We want our guests to start enjoying their holidas ASAP! We certainly appreciate your nice comments about the hotel's cleanliness and modernity.

Our entire Team is looking forward to receiving you again at Hote Laumon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bletchingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a fairly basic hotel, the rooms are not huge and the furnishings are a little basic, but the bathroom is a good size and is beautifully set out with really good bath and shower. The bed is comfortable and huge, though made up of two singles (which may part).
The hotel is in a residential area and is quite tough to find, but it is very close to the Metro and the mainline takes you straight to the main area of Barcelona. Trains are frequent and we were never waiting more than two minutes, so it was possible to be in the city centre within 20 minutes.
The staff here are really friendly and helpful, speaking both English and French, they are more than happy to assist and recommend activities and tours. We stayed in May, so air conditioning was not an issue, but unlike gopal4life - we found the air-conditioning in our room and it seemed to work fine. Perhaps he needs to look more carefully.
For us, it ticked most of the boxes, the area seemed safe and the restaurant opposite was quite good. If we wanted to go out in the evening we could easily get back and not have the noise of some of the hotels in the city.
Would I stay there again, YES certainly, would I recommend to others, yes certainly, if they too wanted somewhere fairly quiet.

Room Tip: rear rooms face out on to a students rest area and there can occasionally be a little noise, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burfordson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaumon, Director General at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with us and other fellow customers of Tripadvisor.

I must say I feel sorry for the comment about the room size but, on the other hand, I am glad you enjoyed the bathroom and the shower. We always try to provide our guests the maximal comfort and excellent service. After a tough day walking around Barcelona We thought our guests would much more appreciate a big shower and a huge bed, rather than a big room. We will do better next time!

I'm glad to see that other services and facilities were fine such as the Aircon, the Front Desk Team and the restaurants around the hotel.
Your comments have been very helpful and I will share the success with the rest of the Team, as they are a vital part of it.

It has been great having you with us while in Barcelona. Would I like to see you again? "YES certainly".


Sincerely,

Hotel General Manager - Hotel Laumon***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Very very small rooms. The bed is also not enough for two persons. No one seems to know the hotel, it's located near a quiet residential neighbourhood. Thanks to GPS we managed to find the way. No aircon in the hotel beat that and it was hot.
Overall a very average hotel but not worth the amount u paying for it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank gopal4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaumon, Director General at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Laumon*** with other fellow users of TripAdvisor.

I am very sorry to read your complaint regarding the size of the room you stayed at while in Barcelona. I have tracked down your reservation and found out that you actually booked a double room with a 1,35m double bed. All details are clearly discribed before booking any room. I am afraid the accomodation was not up to your expectations.

Hotel Laumon opened in march 2011. We are a very young hotel in Barcelona. This may have been the reason that people did not know where Hotel Laumon was located. Again. I'm sorry it took longer than expected to get to us but I'm glad you did in the end.

Regarding your comment about the not working air conditioning, the hotel staff may not have been clear enough. Due to environmental reasons our Aircon does only work if the room window is closed. I'm sure your stay could have been much more confortable if this had been made clear in the first place.

Please reach out to me to further discuss your stay at +34 93.243.52.79, as I am committed to making a great experience for all our guests my first priority.

Best Regards,


Hotel General Manager - Hotel Laumon***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

When searching for a hotel to stay in on my solo holiday, I less concerned with a hotel restaurant or pool, and more interested in an affordable, clean room situated in a good area. Hotel Laumon offered a very modern, stylish room in a hotel close to a metro line. Upon arrival u was greeted by the nicest reception I could have expected, and the following day the reception desk helped me enjoy my holiday by locating the tourist spots (including obscure ones) and providing me with pre-booked tickets. Would I stay at Hotel Laumon again? Yes. Absolutely. This would be the first hotel I would look at. Thank you to the reception and domestic staff for everything.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bazbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laumon-hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Laumon during your stay in Barcelona. Likewise, we appreciate that you shared your experience with other fellow travelers in Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy to hear that Hotel Laumon lived up to your expectations. Our main goal is that our guests enjoy their experience. Therefore, your pleasant words about the room’s design and the quality of the service are the best reward and encouragement to continue making our guests’ stay an unforgettable experience.

Further, we will transmit your feelings to our staff who will be delighted to hear you appreciated their efforts to make your stay an enjoyable one.

As you mention, we are placed in a strategic location that benefit our guests from being off the busy city center but very well connected to all the attractions and touristic spots in the city.

Lastly, we will be satisfied to welcome you again the next time you visit Barcelona. If you have any further comments or requests, please do not hesitate to contact us, we will do our best to please you.

Kind regards,

Hotel Laumon, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a modern basic hotel fitted out tastefully. The rooms are not huge, but adequate and overall well designed. All what you need for a pleasant few days stay. No tea/coffee making in the room, but there is a little bar/cafe downstairs.
The staff were always pleasant and helpful. One lady was very helpful trying to help me connect to the free WiFi frustratingly without success. I found it was a setting on my phone later.
The breakfast is basic but adequate with a reasonable selection, mainly cold but with a toaster, so ham and cheese toasties were possible and enjoyed! Plenty of hot coffee and hot water to make tea with a selection of tea bags.
There have been complaints in reviews about noise especially from the lifts. Our room was next to the lift and apart from a slight wurring noise there was nothing to complain about. Pillows were a bit thin for us, but extra were soon provided on request.
The hotel is situated in the suburbs a pleasant 2-3 minutes walk from the Metro station. Slightly puzzling to find at first at it is located in a side street, until you realise that the 'street' it is off is the service street to the main street and only separated by a paved area.
It is conveniently serviced by a selection of nearby shops and restaurant/bars where food and drink is somewhat cheaper than in the main areas of the city.
Would we go back? Yes, as it is pleasant and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJ2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laumon-hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Laumon and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other fellow travellers in Tripadvisor.

We appreciate that you mention the modern design of our rooms and are glad to know that you were pleased by them. Additionally, your comments about the quality of the service are very rewarding for our staff who work very hard every day to provide an unforgettable experience to all our guests.

As you mention in your review, Hotel Laumon is located strategically, off from the busy and expensive city center, but still well-connected, making it easy to travel around the city and broadly enjoy your stay.

Furthermore, we are very pleased to hear that you would be glad to stay with us again. Comments like yours help us to continue improving.

We would like to welcome you again in the future. If you have any further comments or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us, we will be pleased to help you.

Kind regards,

Hotel Laumon, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Rooms were new and fantastic. The customer service was fantastic as well. Very helpful in giving directions and maps to use. A metro map was provided as well. The two ladies working in the mornings were very nice and helpful. The evening staff was just as good as well. 2min walk from la sagrera metro station. Can get to city center within 20 mins or so. Located in a nice neighbourhood as well. Would highly recommend this hotel to those visiting Barcelona.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laumon-hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us at Hotel Laumon and for further sharing your thoughts with other fellow travelers in Tripadvisor.

We truly appreciate your kind comments about our Hotel and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your words are very rewarding for our staff who work very hard to provide all our guests the best possible experience.

We would love to welcome you again at Hotel Laumon the next time you visit Barcelona. If you have any further comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Hotel Laumon, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
SmartRoom Barcelona
#107 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#179 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#112 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalonia Albeniz
#205 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#232 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laumon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laumon

Property: Hotel Laumon
Address: C/ Monlau 8 - 10, 08027 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#114 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laumon 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laumon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laumon Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing