We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel with Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Ranked #150 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, USA
2 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel with Great Location”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, in the gothic style of architecture, in the historic gothic area. Beautifully re-finished inside, clean, modern and very tasteful. Gorgeous finishes. Our floor had complimentary snacks and coffee 24hrs per day, which was very appreciated. The location was perfect, quiet area within walking distance of Las Ramblas and many other sights. Outdoor cafe across the street, serves breakfast. Pool is not very big, but that wasn't important to us. It does have a nice view of the city from its rooftop location. It was our first stay in Barcelona and we definitely got lucky picking this hotel. Would definitely stay here next time.

Room Tip: pick a room on the club floor with free snacks and coffee and exclusive elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    569
    146
    71
    29
See reviews for
220
587
42
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The bed was comfy and the room very small but quiet. Walking distance to many sites- probably close to 1 mile to the La Rambla. We even walked to the Sagrada Familia from here. We didn't eat breakfast here as we enjoyed all the cafes and bakeries close by. Most of the time the staff was friendly and helpful. We loved the pastries and coffee put out fresh in the morning and afternoon. We enjoed the rooftop patio with the pool. What a nice surprise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

second time to barcelona and still love it, the hotel location was perfect, close to everything!!!! the staff at the reception was really helpfull (they lend us an adaptor without charging us as we forgat to buy one, same with keeping our suitcases after chacking out as flight was night time, so we had the chance to relax without worrying and carrying it with us)
The rooms were not small , dont know why some people complain about that as there was plenty of room!!!!!!!!very clean !!!
if anyone wants some good food and tasty cocktails Taller Tapas is the place!!!!its by via laietana, around the gotic area,....staff is really friendly and jolly, and we spotted Johnny Vegas one night there, so u never know who is next ?!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 173Mirela17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After booking this hotel through Late Rooms, I was a little unsure what to expect... But it was amazing!! The room was big, modern and pristine. The location was perfect for us, walking distance to many sites but just tucked away from the very touristy Ramblas area. Near to fab tapas and Barcelona's oldest wine bar. We thought the hotel drinks were very cheap, 3 euros for cava (!) and we enjoyed late nights on the rooftop bar. The pool was refreshing if a little chilly and the sauna eased our aching feet! The breakfast was worth every penny of the extra fee, the best breakfast ever, so much delicious choice. Would go back any day!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

From the outside and on their website this hotel looks pretty good. But in reality, the bedrooms are small, the difference from a normal one and a superior one is the access to a Nespresso machine and mini croissants! Oh, and normal bedrooms have big windows or a small balcony, while the superior has a little window... The overall state of the rooms is really poor, old and damaged.
After a night in a superior room we decided to upgrade for a Deluxe with a balcony. The state of the room was unbelievable. The corners and frames from the doors were completely damaged, the bed sheets had holes. The room was not really clean.
The bedroom was really not comfortable.
The personnel and service was fine.

Room Tip: If you know you will have your breakfast at the buffet then don't upgrade for a superior room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaHTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guests ,
The fifth floor is the Club floor, and offers free services such as Nespresso coffee , pastries , bed 2 x 3 meters , bathrobes and slippers . The sixth floor has the same services as the Club , but have private terraces , as the property is in a historic building whose facade had to be respected when reconstructed and rehabilitated .
In other floors , every room has a balcony or window along the facade of the original building , in any description of the property is specified this finish , except in the rooms corresponding to the higher category found on the 6th or first floor , which itself have terraces.
In the latest refurbishment performed at the hotel in 2009 was not considered necessary to change the woodwork ( baseboards, doors, etc. ) due to their good condition, but now we understand that this may be more evident in some rooms .
In your case , we have no record of any customer complaint. Whenever we receive any kind of incident, is recorded properly in order to make a correct track of it and avoid same failures in the future, especially in a case , completely unacceptable , bad state of sheets or cleaning .
Please send us your impressions and hope to have occasion to be at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very enjoyable hotel. The staff was very helpful and kind. The location is perfect to get around town. However as in all the hotels we stayed in in Europe the beds are hard. They pushed two twin beds together to make a queen. This seems to be the custom . We were happy to be here instead of on the Ramblas. They were having a festival and it was very loud.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This property is small, but very comfortable. Late in the week it's used by cruise lines, especially Royal Caribbean and Celebrity for pre-cruise and post-cruise customers. Desk personnel are very friendly and helpful. BUT, BEWARE! This hotel is a target for robbers and thieves and management refused to do anything to prevent the robberies that are happening in the hotel lobby. My wife and I were waiting in the lobby to catch the bus to the cruise ship. Our luggage was right next to us. I turned to say something to my wife and when I turned back, our back pack was gone. With it were our passports, a laptop, an iPad, credit cards and some cash. This happened right under a security camera. After the robbery, I asked the desk clerk if I could see the security tape. I was told I could not because the Hotel Director was out of town and it would take an order from a judge to look at the tape. This would probably take 2 or three months. I suspected another hotel guest, but of course without the tapes, no way to prove that. This has happened to other guests and there are reviews on Trip Advisor. Hotel management said they would take steps to prevent it, but have done nothing. They need lobby security. This hotel is busy on Sunday and Monday with returning cruise passengers and departing cruise passengers. I've addressed this issue with Celebrity and I'm encouraging them to not book cruise guests into this hotel. This theft cost us over $6,500 dollars in lost property, emergency passports, and tickets to catch the cruise ship in another port. The hotel decided to charge me for another night.
What a deal!!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are probably good, but don't stay here unless you want to get robbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Villages531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear guests ,
We would like to convince you the we regret your bad experience at the end of your holiday in Barcelona. Our city is a great destination and we are aware that an incident like the one you suffered can leave a bad memory.
Our establishment have different security plans to try to contribute as much as possible to protect our guests.
In this sense, we have security cameras recording the entire property, lifts giving access to the rooms can only be operated with the guest's room card , and have trained personnel to monitor public areas during the 24 hours a day . We also have the procedure to be performed to ensure that your insurance company bears all the expenses that the whole incident has inflicted. And in your particular case, also contacted the agency that made your reservation, to inform about the incident and how we should proceed if you needed to stay one more night.
We understand your displeasure but please understand that, both to get your insurance company meet the expenses or to be able to consult our cameras recording , it is imperative you complaint to the police , since the security camera recordings are subject to the Act data Protection 15/1999 .
We are unable to show your pictures to people outside the hotel management requirement except by police , among other reasons ( if the law is not enough ) , in no case would invade the privacy of other innocent people involved in the recording. For this reason, the Hotel only can facilitate filming to the police.
All these procedures are those that allow us to act with the determination that such unpleasant incidents require. We honestly wish you could go back to our city and have your presence in our Hotel at any time. Thank you for sharing your dissatisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#81 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#66 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Property: Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona
Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing