We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate - but a bit run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Ranked #144 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Adequate - but a bit run down”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It's a good hotel and the location is excellent, but it is a bit run down.

I thought the rooms were tiny compared to other hotels I stayed in (in Barcelona), but they were clean and adequately furnished. Rooms on the back (the only ones I could find available) don't have the great view but it is quiet.
Bathrooms are good and adequately equipped. Amenities are good too.

Service is very efficient and pleasant, and people there are nice and helpful. I upgraded my room at a 15Euro supplement, but now I don't think it was really worth it.

Although the design of the hotel is nice, and it is clean throughout, I felt it is a bit run down and many things in the rooms, lobby area, restaurant, lifts, were in need of maintenance and renovation. Still i cannot say it ruined my time there. it is still a good hotel.

Didn't try much of their food offerings other than breakfast, which was decent, with a good selection. Overall I would say it good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSawalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    570
    146
    71
    29
See reviews for
220
592
43
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Pola, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

A good a quality 4 star hotel, on the gran via in the city less that a 10 minute walk to the ramblas and plaza catalunya. The hotel is a good 4 star, clean and comfortable rooms, good quality breakfast and a nice lobby bar area. You would return to this hotel once visited.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. Arrived very early on the Saturday morning and, as expected, there were no rooms available. Which was fine. We went for a stroll and came back a couple of hours later. We decided to upgrade to the Club for just €5 a night.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly all the time we were there.
Excellent location. 20 minutes south to Born and east to Sagradia Familia.
Room was good but the bathroom was a bit dated.
Club came with unlimited coffee and pastries. Although coffee machine was broken for 24 hours and at times there were no pastries. Would have been a bit disappointed if we'd paid the full €15 a night.
Overall, an ok hotel with a really good location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HppyTrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I spent there 4 nights for business and leisure.
The location is very good, with good access to public transports, close to shopping streets like Paseo de Gracia and to touristic places like Sagrada Familia or the cathedral (20 minutes walking distance)
The facade of the hotel is very nice. Inside, the decoration starts to be a bit outdated and the furnitures are getting old. The rooms are comfortable but basic, a bit noisy sometimes. I had a medium size room, but with a separate salon. This one had a "view" on the hotel patio, which is a bit strange. The roof top is really nice, with a huge terrasse, the swimming pool is very small.
The staff is very nice and kind.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredK1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. This is a beautiful hotel, re-finished inside, clean, modern and very tasteful. The location was perfect, within walking distance of many sights. Have a nice view of the city from its rooftop pool location. Breakfast buffet was amazing.

Would definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroyZulma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, in the gothic style of architecture, in the historic gothic area. Beautifully re-finished inside, clean, modern and very tasteful. Gorgeous finishes. Our floor had complimentary snacks and coffee 24hrs per day, which was very appreciated. The location was perfect, quiet area within walking distance of Las Ramblas and many other sights. Outdoor cafe across the street, serves breakfast. Pool is not very big, but that wasn't important to us. It does have a nice view of the city from its rooftop location. It was our first stay in Barcelona and we definitely got lucky picking this hotel. Would definitely stay here next time.

Room Tip: pick a room on the club floor with free snacks and coffee and exclusive elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The bed was comfy and the room very small but quiet. Walking distance to many sites- probably close to 1 mile to the La Rambla. We even walked to the Sagrada Familia from here. We didn't eat breakfast here as we enjoyed all the cafes and bakeries close by. Most of the time the staff was friendly and helpful. We loved the pastries and coffee put out fresh in the morning and afternoon. We enjoed the rooftop patio with the pool. What a nice surprise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#78 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#67 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Property: Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona
Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing