We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay despite the refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Ranked #144 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good stay despite the refurbishment”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel was of a very good standard. Rooms quite small but very clean and adequate, bathroom was a bit of a squeeze. Pool was closed but given the time of year not really a problem and works have to be carried out some time.

Ate meal first night and the food was excellent and very good value. We decided to have breakfast as we were offered a discount to 14Eu per day if we ate on all the three days that we were staying. Very good breakfast, varied and plentiful refills of coffee. Waiting staff were also very good as were all staff in the hotel, very friendly and helpful. They recommended and booked 6 of us into a restaurant, Costa Gallega, on Passeig de Gracia, which was only a 10 minute walk away and the food was amazing. Would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moomans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mr. Moomans,
We appreciate that you shared your experience with us on Trip Advisor, and we were very glad to have liked our facilities and our staff will be served as you expected.
We appreciate your comprehension regarding the improvement works made during Winter season in our Hotel.
We hope to see you again here, so you can enjoy all improvements made!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    570
    146
    71
    29
See reviews for
220
592
43
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked this hotel for its location and the fact it had a roof top pool. On arrival to the hotel we were told the pool was closed. Also there was extensive refurbishment happening in the lobby which we weren't advised about either.
Club floor has pastries and coffee, but they're are rarely fresh pastries there.
Other facilities were all ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Coral L,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to Barcelona. Even if there is information on our website about the possibility that our pool and pool bar may be closed at any time for maintenance or private events and notify to most web portals we work with, we have seen that this information is not duly came to all our customers, so we sincerely apologize for that.
We are very proud to know that all our customers enjoy the new facilities of chill out & swimming pool.
The pastries and coffee at the club floor, we replenis three times a day, so we are surprised about your comments on this subject.
We hope we can welcome you again so you can enjoy all improvements made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

After the hassles of Athens we were looking forward to the Spanish end of our euro trip. A late evening flight in and we arrived around 11pm. My impression of this place was that it is very business orientated. Seemed to have a very corporate look and feel, the room reflected this. Far from a negative, we really liked the staff and room!

The location was around 15-20 minute walk from the narrow streets of the city, it does wear you down after time. We didn't swim but I was impressed with the pool deck, if this had been the start of our trip I think we'd have got more out of this place but given it was the last week before we headed home we were kinda over it all.

Over all, great stay, great hotel and some where I'd stay again. Loved Barcelona and will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iac0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and we are glad to know we helped to make the memory of your trip positive.
We see that we have managed to convey our philosophy of providing a care service to our guests to feel at home and you enjoyed aswell the new outdoor facilities (Up pool bar, terrace, etc.)
We hope you return to us If when you think on traveling back to Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freigericht, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Located near Sagrada Familia, only 30 min from the Airport (by taxi) and close to the ancient city centre. Good value and nice rooms. Unfortunately the pool on the roof terrace was closed. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idefix_u_Obelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Mr Gmunden

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us because of the central location , facilities and breakfast .Very soon our pool, and new solarium area will be open and we hope to see you back very soon so you can enjoy the improvements made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH WALES
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Enjoyed a 3 night break here with 6 friends, the rooms were nice, clean & decent size, very impressed with the bathroom toiletries provided, rooms cleaned and fresh towels every day. We only had breakfast on 1 morning as it is very expensive 19E but you do get a buffet for that. The bar drinks were reasonable for a 4* hotel and what we expected to pay. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful in giving us advice & booking taxis. Our only disappointment was the roof terrace was closed for refurbishment, it just means we will have to go back to see it , definately recommmend this hotel. It was easy walking distance to the main sites also.

Room Tip: If you are a group or family the family room on floor 2 is ideal to share with interconnecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We are delighted to know you had a good experience during your stay with us and we thank you for sharing your comments with the other Trip Advisor members. Very soon our pool and new solarium area will be open and we hope to see you back very soon to enjoy the improvements made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here with muy mom on her specialholiday trip. Hotel is nice, front desk staff excellent and hotel's location good. Passeig Gracia is about 10 minutes walk away and there'sseveral buslines running front of the hotel.
We had room on second floor. The room was nice, clean and quiet, view weren't nice, our window was towards wall. But anyvay, we only slept ant took shower in room. Beds were good and tea/coffee making facilities nice plus.
Breakfast was expencive, 19,- / person, we ate breakfast outside, at local cafes, nice, different every morning and much cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlhaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Mr JlHaal,
Thank you for your nice review about your experience with us!. Our central location and facilities in the room are very appreciated by our hotel guests.
We suggest you to ask for our special discounts for breakfast and meals at your arrival, We usually have special discounts for our clients during the year that may fit to you. In case you are looking for a light breakfast, you can choose the Club floor rooms where you can find Nespresso coffee-machine and pastries free during the day.
Hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in a standard room on the 6th floor for 3 nights. The room was small, clean, comfortable and smart, though I'm not sure about the greeny colour scheme and the room was very dark and hot. We were asked if we wanted a street front or quiet room; we asked for quiet, and were pleased with the result. The staff were cool towards us at best, sometimes appearing quite snobbish; I was particularly cross about the attitude we were shown when we came back on our last night to report that my husband had been pickpocketed - the man behind the desk simply smirked in response and slapped a new room key-card on the desk. Prices within the hotel were extortionate - we did have the breakfast buffet each morning, the quality and quantity of which was amazing, but you can get a coffee and croissant for 2 euros just around the corner. The free wifi service was terrible and barely usable, and the TV's 2 English speaking stations both produced a hideous beeping noise, which meant we couldn't use the TV either. The water failed us altogether on our second morning. I've made it sound awful - but I would stay there again, as I think we were just unlucky on all the above counts. The location is exceptional - no more than a 15 min walk to anywhere worth going in Barcelona - and there's a handy taxi rank outside for return trips to the airport!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank classicmum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear madam,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor and your comments regarding your stay. All comments of our clients are very welcome, as it is very important for us in order to improve our service to futures guests.
We are improving all leisure area of 7th floor and during you weekend stay these affected to the water normal service during a short period. We are also working in the TV signals and WIFI service.
We would be delighted to welcome you again next time you come to Barcelona and enjoy the improvements made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#78 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#67 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Property: Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona
Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing