We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sized rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Ranked #145 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good sized rooms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a suite here as a family of 4. Very good size room & bathroom.
Pool area was lovely, nice verve cliquot look to it. Good location for las ramblas and easy access to bars, restaurants & shops. About 5-10 min walk. We wanted a hotel with a pool so that's why we stayed here. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieLaSalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Sadie, Thank you for your feedback, comments like these make all our efforts worthwhile. We're glad you were comfortable in the hotel and I can make the most of your time in the city. Thank you very much for recommending the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    564
    146
    71
    28
See reviews for
219
581
41
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for short trip (August 2014) and enjoyed this hotel. Our room was spotless with a really comfy bed. Helpful and friendly staff who speak reasonably good English.

There's a lovely roof top terrace with a pool where you can relax with a nice cocktail.

The only downside is breakfast wasn't included and to have access to the breakfast buffet would have cost €14 if paid in advance or €19 if you pay on the door which for us seemed a bit too expensive (we saw the selection on offer which appeared to be the bog standard breakfast buffet you see at many hotels).

The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to the main attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKA1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to see that both facilities & service have met your expectations and the hotel team welcomes your feedback. We look forward to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

3 friends and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in August.

The hotel was absolutely brilliant and great value for money. The front desk were really helpful on check in and offered us a connecting room as we were a group of four. We really appreciated this and it added to the holiday to be able to get ready for nights out all together etc.

The rooms were clean and they provided all the usual amenities that you would expect including a pretty good hairdryer which isn't always the case with hotels.

The pool was small but you don't need it to do laps! The pool area was very comfortable with sun beds and a dining area. Although the food wasn't great, the service was good and it was nice to have some drinks by the pool.

The hotel is situated close enough to the sites that it is easy to walk and far enough that you don't get bombarded by tourists when you walk out the door. There is a taxi rank right outside which always has plenty of taxis.

The breakfast wasn't fab so we only had it one day - I think some of the meats and fish had been sat out for a bit too long. But to be honest that really didn't matter as there were lots of places to grab a coffee and pastry around the hotel.

Most of all the hotel was very patient with a very over excited group of 30 year olds!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellergirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, comments like these make all our efforts worthwhile. We're glad you were comfortable in the hotel and I can make the most of your time in the city. Thank you very much for recommending the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was in Barcelona on a solo trip for 5 days and The Silken Gran Havana was the perfect choice of hotel.

The location is great, just 5 minutes walk to Gaudi's Casa Battlo and 15 minute walk to the Sagrada Familia. You've also got Catalunya Plaza and Las Ramblas just moments away.

The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. They offered me a map and were always able to provide information on directions and opening times for some attractions.

I stayed on the 5th floor, which is the Club Level. The rooms were clean and comfortable and everything worked the way it should. No problems whatsoever. I especially liked the fresh croissants and coffee available by the lifts!

Breakfast boasted an efficient service and the selection was broad - fresh bread, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, sausage n eggs. The only thing it lacked for me was large filter coffees. I think the cup sizes offered by the Nespresso machines, as nice as the coffee is, are too small.

The rooftop pool/bar area is superb! One of the reasons I decided to book here. Lots of sun loungers, a snug, a nice sized pool, sauna, and a well stocked bar. The suns hits the rooftop all day and to set the scene they play chill out music at a nice volume. It was lovely.

I'd definitely stay again. Not a bad word to say about the place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Silken Gran Hotel Havana for your stay in Barcelona and thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers. We work for the satisfaction of our guests and we are proud to know you've enjoyed our services, and you felt well cared by our staff. We hope to welcome you on your next visit to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Fantastic hotel in a great location close to bars/restaurants/attractions. The roof top terrace and bar were a bonus for a city centre hotel and the Club rooms were of a very high standard. Would strongly recommend this hotel to any one taking a trip to Barcelona !!!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and upgrade to a Club room, as free coffee and pasties available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Kevin M,

Want to thank you the great review that you have made of your stay at Gran Hotel Havana. We are glad you recommend us as a place to stay if you visit Barcelona as our rooms and location are high standard. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay.
We are happy to welcome you again on your next visit to Barcelona.
Yours faithfully
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights, 2 nights in regular room and 2 in a room w a terrace. Terrace room worth the extra money by far. Staff was pleasant to us and helpful. It's a 30 euro cab ride from airport and about 30 minutes. It is a 10 min walk to the top of la rambla, which is great to stroll from the hours of 7am-11pm. After that, avoid la rambla, it becomes sketchy( a feeling of unsafe) late night, and being from New York City, it takes a lot to make us feel uncomfortable. At night the best thing to do is take a 10-12 euro cab ride to port olimpic where there is 15 different restuRaunts, 15 different little disco techs, outdoor huka lounges, a casino, a mall, and 100 cabs at ur call. The most popular restaurant is la Fonda, pretty good and affordable. Next to that restaurant is a restaurant called La Barca. La Barca is better, and nicer. And the port is hopping w nightlife from 11pm til 4 am. This hotel was excellent by our standards and we have traveled quite a bit. We didn't get a chance to eat at hotel, because there are so many cafes nearby, we wanted to experience the city by eating all over. The pool is nice but small, but a nice luxury to have in a city hotel. There are always cabs parked next to the hotel all hours of the day and night. This hotel was a wonderful experience for us, and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mike u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mr Mike U,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Havana for your stay in Barcelona. We are especially grateful that your stay was wonderful and up to par with your expectations.
Thank you for haring your positive comments to the TirpAdvisor community
We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Experience was bad from the get go, not so friendly staff at the reception, followed by a broken elevator and having to que for the only other available one. Tiny rooms in a bad shape, my door lock was broken, informed front desk, was never fixed, fridge also broken as would not tightly close so it didn't cool. And to top it all there is continuous maintenance work on the elevator and roof pool that interfered with my sleep dramatically. And all my complaints went completely ignored. I strongly advise you to stay away from this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank docsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mr. Docs M,
We regret that you had experienced a bad stay in our hotel. During the month of May, we were finalizing all renovations that are currently enjoyed by our guests. The two elevators were completely replaced by new ones and we were in the final stages of setting up the second elevator. The Solarium area was improved with a relaxation area and the Gastro Pool Up Bar was expanded. All of these jobs started at 9:30 a.m. to not disturb our sleeping guests.
We apologize that you felt our staff was uninterested in your concerns, since our staff is always available for a pleasant stay and meet the requests of our customers.
If you contact us directly, we would be delighted to welcome you back so you could see all of the new improvements and receive special treatment in your booking upon your next travel to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#80 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#71 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#65 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Property: Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona
Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing