We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - best in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Ranked #150 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel - best in Barcelona”
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We just returned from a week at the Silken Gran hotel Havana, What a fantastic hotel, We payed £646 for 7 nights in a basic room, it was a lovely cool room with a nice view overlooking the street, I was a little skeptical about staying there as i heard the metro underneath was proving an issue for some guests but this seriously isn't bad as some people have made out, we were staying on the 3rd floor and you can barely here it.

The hotel itself is very impressive along with its rooftop pool which was bigger than first thought, there are also some impressive views which can be seen, every single member of staff we came across spoke English and couldn't help us more even if they tried, they made us feel very welcome , the gentleman on reception even lifted our bags up to the room even though we said it was OK,the location of the hotel is just right, its bang in the center, 10 minutes from Las Ramblas and 10 minutes on the metro to the beach/port.

If you are staying at the hotel on a friday/saturday you must attend the Live Jazz as it really adds to the atmosphere. We didn't eat at the hotel but had a few cocktails, Yes they were expensive but they really put there effort into them.

Overall this hotel is absolutely fantastic, the best i have stayed in, i would recommend this hotel to anyone. We loved it so much we are booking again for next summer.

Tip: If you want to head down to the beach, head to the "girona" metro station on the next street from the hotel, it costs 1.40 for 1 single on any route on the line, get off at barcelonetta and your there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    569
    146
    71
    29
See reviews for
220
587
42
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We just returned from a couple of nights at Silken Gran Havana. It's a nice hotel with a great and conveniennt location. It is a close enough walk to Ramblas (10 minute walk) and the two Gaudi Houses and just far enough away to avoid all of the noise. There is also a cab area right next to the hotel and taxis are fairly priced in Barcelona. I believe our cabs each way to both Magic Fountain and Parc Guell from the hotel were around 6-7 euros. The roof top pool is small but nice to cool off in. The internet is free (included in the rate) and works well. The lobby lounge area is nice and has live music early evenings. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. Some of the staff speak english well and can help you with where you want to go. The tv received only two english channels (CNN and CNBC). We enjoyed our stay as it was hassle free and are staying there again next summer when we bring our kids on the cruise.

We are also staying at this hotel next summer when we bring our kids. The reason actually surprised us. When we went to Barcelona this year, it was just the two of us. Another couple was staying at the Gran Havana and, to make things more simple, we decided to stay there as well. Barcelona is a tough hotel city when you have kids. We looked all around for a hotel next summer that would accommodate us and our two kids (will be 13 & 11). They have what they call a family havana room (appears to be a suite) for €210 per night. While this is a bit more than we paid per night for the two of us (€121 per night), it's still a better rate than the alternatives, especially those with a very good location like this one has.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBruins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

The hotel is centrally located to the gothic area and La Rambla with easy access to restaurants. The staff was helpful with directions and maps. They were attentive to our concern about a musty odor at our room entrance. The problem was handled quickly. The room was not as cool as we are used to but liveable. The room was modern with internet ports and flat screen wall TV. Our room included breakfast which was beautiful in variety and presentation. After a hot day walking the streets, the rooftop pool was quite refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We booked a basic room at Silken Gran Hotel Havana in the summer holidays (only 700Euros without breakfast) for 7 nights. It was a great hotel with short distanse from placa Cataluna and shopping.

The roofterrace was great and had a nice little swimmingpool.

The only think that was a bit anoying, was that the internett didn't work. The next day I asked the resepction why, and then he asked me: Don't you have the code? Nobody had given med the code, and everyday we had to get the code from the reseption. It's not a big thing, but they could told me that.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THESSALONIKI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

My husband and I decided to spend our holidays in Barcelona this summer. We spent really much time searching for a hotel to book since we were going to spend 8 whole days in the city and we didn't want to get disappointed. We checked almost all hotels in Barcelona through trip advisor and chose Silken Havana at the end. I must admit that we made the right choice. The hotel was very well located. Only 5 minutes walk from "Girona" metro station and 10 minutes walk from the "Passeig De Gracia" metro station & street which is the most popular shopping/ elegant street of the city (with Gaudi masterpieces). La Rambla was only 15 minutes walk as well as Plaza Catalunya. During our stay and our tour around the city we spotted the other hotels we were looking before booking, and Havana was the best by far (especially due to its location).
The neighbourhood of the hotel wasn't dangerous at all during the night.
As far as the room is concerned, we booked the "Solarium" room on the 6th floor (room Nr.605). Really clean & modern. It was also and excellent choice because in that height you avoid the traffic noise. Especially room 605 facing Carrer Del Bruc was pretty quiet. We also requested a king size bed just to be sure beforehand that we will have a good sleep.
It was perfect!
Something really nice was also the jazz nights they organise once in a month. If you are lucky you might attend one. Furthermore, once in a week they have great piano nights.
As for the terrace, it was really beautiful (with nice view at Tibidabo hill) although we hadn't time to spend there (there are so many other MUSTDO things in Barcelona than sitting in the hotel terrace). I went upstairs just to take some pictures. The only thing I didn't like was that the terrace closes at 9 - 10 o clock! It would be nice to have a late drink, up there after your Barcelona evening walks.
Regarding breakfast, I must admit that it was not the best I've ever had. Our reservation was made without including the breakfast by purpose and that was another good decision. It was very expensive. They were asking 20 euros per person, per day, so that meant 40 euros per day per couple for having just breakfast! We had everyday a nice "Starbucks" (2 in the area) breakfast for 15 euros both! I went only one morning alone to try the breakfast by curiosity and that's why I mentioned that it was not the greatest I have ever had. Regarding the reception customer service, well...it was not what you expect from a 4 star hotel but I didn't really bother. They just didn't spoke English very well and they didn’t provided us with any usefull suggestions for restaurants etc. I particularly asked them if a restaurant I have chosen (from a tourist guide list) was nice and they just respond: "Ιf you have planned to have dinner there, then do so".
All in all, Havana Hotel was a good hotel experience and it will be in my top list of hotels if I ever visit Barcelona again.

CRISTINA – GREECE

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRISTINAThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We have been to Barcelona five times now and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. It is comparable in style to the Majestic just round the corner, but it is a much better hotel and a much lower price.

There are several positives with this hotel. The location is ideal. It is just off the main road, close to the many Gaudi buildings and in the district where all the nice restaurants are. It is also a short distance to the Ramblas.

The room we stayed in was excellent. It overlooked the lobby area and consisted on a smaller sitting room attached to the main bedroom. It was comfortable and the bathroom was excellent. Everything was spotlessly clean. It was one of the better rooms we have stayed in anywhere.

Other smaller things. Breakfast is very good in a large comfortable room.. The staff are friendly though very occasionally a little disinterested (this is the only negative I can think of and it only happened once). The roof pool is also great, though we didn't really get the weather. There was no sign of anyone serving drinks there but that was possibly as the weather wasn't great.

Overall I think this is a great hotel which I will re-book next time I am in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkVikingWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The hotel was pretty basic and uninspiring. We choose based on reviews and for location, which was a mistake. It is 'central' but depends what you want to be central to. The Barri Gottic (my favorite) and beach area and great sites/museums are all a bit of a way. It is central only to the commercialized area and La Rambla, which is terrible anyhow. The service at the desk again, mediocre to pitiful. You'd expect a small hotel like that to go out of their way, but no such luck, the girl who met us, couldn't be bothered. We asked for directions to a restaurant we were told was excellent - but the man at the desk deterred us from going to there and instead referred us to La Fonda - What a horrible experience! (See my review on that restaurant). Almost ruined the trip. The staff was actually accosting customers to come through the door. AVOID IT! From asking around, it seems they have a very tight relationship with the place. Unacceptable really. When in a new city, I find it is very important to have knowledgeable staff to lead in you the right direction. Pool is small and so are rooms- Very overpriced for what you get! We paid for a really nice 4 star hotel in the heart of Valencia for $80/night! Also, it was quite noisy as it is a main drag.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#81 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#66 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Property: Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona
Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing