We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ginebra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ginebra
Ranked #145 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I liked too much . Localization , staff , price , room , everything . First of all i became confuse , because this hotel is on 3th floor of a building , and nobody could help with suitcases . However , it wasn't terrible for me . There are 3 line of subway next to the hotel , and also excelent restaurants and stores . ( macdonalds , burguer king , hard rock cafe , fnac , Apple , Corte Inglês ) . What else do you want ??

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandrelbcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Manager at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello Alexandre
We liked your company as well!
see you again one day
All the staff at Hotel Ginebra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    92
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
82
115
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

A small hotel with a perfect location directly facing Plaza Catalunya. While the hotel is rated a 1 star, the facilities in the room are modern and equivalent to what is found to a typical 3 star hotel. The staff are extremely kind and helpful and went out of their way to assist us in all ways they could to help us get out of an unfortunate event. They assisted us beyond their call of duty and we are very thankful to their staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IDOfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Manager at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello!
Sorry for the late answer. For some reason our first answer had not been published, so hopefully this will reach you.
Just a quick "thank you" and perhaps see you again in Barcelona

The staff and management of Hotel Ginebra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a lovely time staying at Hotel Ginebra, the central location is perfect to explore the city on foot. The staff were very friendly and polite and the building itself is wonderful. There were building works going on but it didn't affect our stay other than the view from our room, but we were out all day so it didn't really matter. Our room was very clean and comfortable and good value, we have friends in BCN and we will definately stay here again next time we come for a visit!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eden1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Manager at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
PROMOTION> book a room at Hotel Ginebra before the end of June with your PROMOCODE "ginebra10" and receive 10% discount every night.
This offer is valid only for reservations made on our own website.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Four of us stayed here for 3 nights in November 2013. Overall, it was a great stay with a fantastic central location for tourists, solid basic amenities, and a very helpful front desk. We paid a very good price, and I would stay here again if and when I return to Barcelona.

Location:

There was some construction being done on the outside of the building, so it was hard at first to discern where the hotel actually was - it’s on one floor of the building above a sports memorabilia store. The building is across the street from the Plaza de Catalunya, which is the starting and ending point for Barcelona’s Hop On Hop Off busses. It’s also about a 5 minute walk to Las Ramblas so you can easily experience Las Ramblas but avoid the noise when you want to sleep.

Room:

Our four-bed room looked fresh from recent hotel renovations and was clean and comfortable. Like most city hotels, the room was small and there was not much space to move around with our luggage inside, but we spent most our time outside of the room anyway. There were two beds, a couch, and a pull-out mattress that stood up to become a fourth bed. The two beds had very new mattresses and the couch was a good firm bed, but the pull-out mattress didn’t have much support and sank down a good amount in the middle (like a cheap sofa bed). The view was blocked by scaffolding on the outside because construction was being done on the building, but the construction only went on from late morning to late afternoon when we were not in the room. The bathroom was very new and had a modern look. The thin walls become apparent when you have noisy neighbors - we had some young people in the room next door who were loud going in and out of their room.

Front Desk:

The front desk was staffed 24 hours and was very helpful - we booked our Hop On Hop Off tickets through them and had a cab called when we had to catch our flight. The attendees all spoke good English and were able to give great restaurant recommendations to us. There is a public lounge area for guests with a TV, couches, and tables that has a great homely feel.

Accessibility:

While the hotel floor has recently been renovated, the elevator in the building has not - it was small and cramped, and there are a lot of stairs if you’re up for the climb.

Internet:

The Wi-Fi connection in the room was fast and reliable. There are computers available for public use in the lobby for a small fee.

Breakfast:

There is no formal breakfast offering - tea, coffee, and drinks were available at a small cafe bar in the lobby. We went to a nearby McDonalds and other bakery shops in the mornings for coffee and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Owner at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.
The location is indeed the most central in Barcelona, on a corner of Plaza Catalunya, the central square of the city.
Come and see for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
423 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for one night with my wife and friend while in transit to Vietnam. Booked hotel at airport tourist info kiosk and paid 5.50 Euros convenience charge. The hotel is right on the Plaza Catalunya so the location is great. Walk out the front door and you're on the Ramblas. Hotel is on 3rd floor of elevator equipped building. Aerobus runs from airport to Plaza Catalunya. 25 minute transit time.

Rooms are very clean and very modern. Flat screened TV. Great bathroom with shower. Comfortable, new mattresses. Some noise issues as building is set above a subway route but nothing that will keep you from sleeping. Hotel offers free WIFI. Also: hard wired desktop with printer, laundry, lending library, tv room, bar and cafe. Set price breakfast option available but local cafe competition make a walk downstairs more economical. Dutch fellow by the name of Alfred runs the show with a firm hand. Good guy. Very personable.

Minor issue with bathroom door lock not working. Staff is very helpful and friendly. We paid 55 Euro for the night. We would definitely stay here again as the location and price were a good fit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Manager at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi!!
Good to hear you made it to Vietnam safely!
Will be looking forward to bumping into you one day somewhere on the globe or else in Florida
Hope you are having a great time!
Alfred and everybody else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great Value for your money, renovated, clean rooms, Porch on the front of Plaza Catalunya.
vary close to most of tourist places.
Bus stop (direct line to/from the airport) and metro stations near by.

Note,
as of 13/01/14 there is a renovating screen in front of the rooms view. check it's status.
Our Room and porch were are very small. nearly enough to walk around bed.
Additional costs per breakfast (very fair rate)
Additional cost for luggage storage

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longjub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Manager at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review and our apologies for answering with delay.
We are happy you enjoyed yourselves and hopefully see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect to reach all the main attractions of Barcelona. Despite facing the Plaza Catalunya, the room was very quiet and provided for a good rest. Although the hotel is tiny, it is very cosy and makes one feel like home. The staff is very welcoming and friendly, willing to help. All in all, a great choice for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinySparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Manager at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you :=)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#72 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#135 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#61 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#37 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#99 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#153 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ginebra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ginebra

Property: Hotel Ginebra
Address: Rambla de Catalunya 1, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ginebra 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ginebra is a bouquet hotel of eighteen rooms. Newly renovated in 2013, we are located in the most central location of Barcelona, Plaza Catalunya. Affordable rates, best lcation, friendly, multilingual (7 languages) staff. Many of the room offer a view of the square. Because we are located on the central square of Barcelona, many of the tourist sites are within walking distance. All public transport is available on the square, directly in front of the hotel. We are looking forward to meeting you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ginebra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginebra Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Ginebra Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing