We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location poor service”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #108 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location poor service”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

The location is amazing and it's good value for the money. No service, we had a very bad room looking a hostel. Changing a room was a mission and had to wait a day as they were keen not to clean 2 rooms!! Air condition is stressful as they keep shutting it off every to
E they see you out of your room and it's a negotiating process to get it to work
After switching room, making friends the reception people and get the air condition situation under control then it was a good place to be in
With all the above fun I would go back to it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LumaBadran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
First of all, thank youy very much for taking the time to share with other visitors your experience in Hotel España.
I feel obliged to express that your comment "poor service" has strongly surprised me because We daily work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests. I am happy to know that the problem was solved but I will take care of your opinion although I believe it has been an isolated case.

In the meantime, I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel España in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    548
    128
    37
    24
See reviews for
185
946
39
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is superbly located just of La Rambla, the main tourist avenue of the city. The hotel is clean, smart and elegant in all areas from the lobby, restaurants, bar, roof terrace and rooms. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful (recommending restaurants, tours etc and also getting my TV going after a signal loss). Their free WiFi is hopeless, but I was provided with the code for their business WiFi which was, after the initial connection, very fast and consistent.
Our room was facing the rear, so was dark - not that we minded as it was away from the street noises and the bright sunlight. The room had no tea/coffee facilities but hey provided water and orange juice free from the minibar. The room decor was Gaudiesque - stylish and arty. Their breakfast buffet was good and could be supplemented with hot food quite cheaply. The restaurant Fonda Espana provided good food, good wine (a recomendation by the maitre de was a white at 15.50 euro a bottle before tax) and reasonably priced. The Fonda staff were pleasant and attentive. Overall - a brilliant hotel to spend a long week-end. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms are all good but ones to the rear are quiet and shady
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank tou very much for your nice comments. We are happy to know that you had a pleasent and endearing stay between us, enjoying our terrace, our restauarnt, ... and feeling warmly hosted by our staff.
We hope to see you again in a very near future ... nice moments have to be revive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay so much that I actually cannot wait to go back. Cant imagine staying anywhere else in Barcelona it is so perfectly located just off the Ramblas, right next to the beautiful Licue theatre and right across the road from the metro station. The interior is breathtakingly beautiful ( just like the rest of Barcelona). Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The only thing I missed was a coffee/tea station BUT using roomservice for this was fine. In fact the express breakfast in the downstairs bar was so perfect and inexpensive. I had the best cappuchino there as well with a stunning helpful barista/bartender helping us with all sorts of travel info and help with sorting out my mobile phone!!! We didnt use the restaurant purely because of pricing plus there as so many inexpensive places to eat within a stones throw from the hotel. The Mercat Bouceria ( not sure of spelling) was one of our best snack lunch stops. And the best part of the stunning hotel was the price! A pleasant surprise in Europe. I really liked the there were ATM's, a beautiful (probably most beautiful) Starbucks right round the corner. Oh and do throw away your map and explore every little side street off the Ramblas. Amazing shopping

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JolizeSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and that the hotel reached your expectations.
For the next time, I recommend you to have a lunch or dinner in La Fonda España. For 25 €, a three course menu and beverages are included.
In the meantime, I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel España in a very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The hotel is very good. not much of fatalities, but that's not really what impotent in Barcelona. the room are clean and nice. no much crew in the hotel but the reception is very kind and helpful. breakfast is fine, not something special, very regular.
and of course of strongest point of the hotel, and in my opinion in Barcelona, is the location. it's absolutely great. 2 min walk from main street and Metro station. all shops and food are near by. it's perfect for couples who only needs the hotel for rest and sleep time, and rest of the time to travel in the city. we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielM214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barretos, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Hotel located at the heart of the gotic hood in Barcelona. Distance walk from the sea shore, world heritages churchs, covents, an many more touristic attractions.
Large room, with a big and comfortable bed. Good shower too.
Really good breakfast - continental style plus some Catalan food.
The dinner itself in the hotel restaurant is a bite for Catalans and the different dishes may not be suitable for those not used to eat Catalan food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaoPauloLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and for sharing them with us and other visitors. I am happy to know taht you enjoyed your stay and our services such as breakfast and la Fonda España restaurant, with catalan and mediterranena dishes.
I also recommend you to taste our tapas in the beautiful terrace we have on the top roof, accompained with music and nice atmosphere at nights.
I hope to see you in the hotel in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is a wonderful restored modernista building in a good but noisy location 5 mins from Liceu metro and Ramblas. We stayed in a superb 5th floor terrace room - great private outside space decked terrace chairs and table. Room quite spacious, bathroom style over substance - wash hand basins too shallow and wc enslosure claustrophobic...and at this rate I expect a bath tub. Lovely roof top bar, jacuzzi, plunge pool BUT open and loud until late. Fab Nespresso machine - 'free' mini bar only extends to 2 small juices and 2 small water each day. Fonda Espana Restaurant superb one of the best spaces we have eaten in and superb food. Staff are superb. The public roooms are so well restored and have real wow factor. Noise is an issue, but to be expected in the location - if that is an issue earplugs will be useful if you have an early start. When we return to Barcelona we'll stay here and eat here.

Room Tip: 5th floor exec rooms have large private terrace, but noise from bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflyerSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
First of all thank you for sharing your nice experience in Hotel España. I am happy to know that you have enjoyed most of the services of hotel España: the swimming pool and jacuzzi, the bar at the terrace at nights, the restaurant Fonda España, ..... and above all, that our staff have made your stay better, being helpful and cordial. Thank you once again. We work very hard for the happiness of our guests.
I agree with you that the executive rooms are highly recommended!!
I hope you can enjoy one of them again in a very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at 2 hotels in Barca as part of our trip- the other was the ME hotel which is more expensive but further out. This hotel was preferable in every way. Great location, nicely designed hotel and room. The room we had was small but fine, I think you expect that for the price and the location. To be honest we didn't really want to stay just off Las Ramblas but it was a great location as you could pretty much walk everywhere.

The girl in the bar gave us a restuarant recommendation and booked a table for us- when we got there people were queuing up to get in- a really good tapas restaurant. All in all, very very good.

Room Tip: We got a deal from the website for staying 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you very much for giving us your opinion about your recent stay in Hotel España and for informing other visitants about the strategic situation of the Hotel, close to Las Ramblas and The Liceu Theatre and its beautiful and confortable style.
You have given a very good recommendation to other visitors!!
I hope to welcome you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
2,423 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
4,505 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#135 of 513 in Barcelona
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
881 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#69 of 513 in Barcelona
558 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Property: Hotel Espana
Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing